S-Video for Dreamcast Problems? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 42 Old 08-11-2008, 10:54 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
HMArndtGolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've bought two S-Video hook ups for my Dreamcast and neither of them work correctly. The L/R/V for each works right but when I plug in the S-Video feed the screen turns black and white and the picture is not clear.

Any idea what the problem might be? I've looked for a place where I have to specify S-Video inputs (both on the unit and in the games) but can't find one.

Thanks for any help.

HMAG
HMArndtGolf is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 42 Old 08-11-2008, 11:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
number1laing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5,993
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Does the picture show up with the regular composites? Because if not, your DC is busted.

If it does, then the cables are busted. The DC isn't a PS3 or a 360, you don't need to specify what cables you are using. It just works.
number1laing is offline  
post #3 of 42 Old 08-11-2008, 12:10 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
HMArndtGolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by number1laing View Post

Does the picture show up with the regular composites? Because if not, your DC is busted.

If it does, then the cables are busted. The DC isn't a PS3 or a 360, you don't need to specify what cables you are using. It just works.

Yes, the picture shows up correctly with the standard L/R/V connection that came with the DC and the L/R/V connection that came with the S-Video cable. The picture messes up when I plug the S-Video cable itself into the tv.

I was trying to use an S-Video cable with my DC in order to get a better pic on my 50" plasma.

HMAG
HMArndtGolf is offline  
post #4 of 42 Old 08-11-2008, 02:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
meany's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The S conector on the TV is bad. Give it a wiggle with the cable in and see if it works.
meany is offline  
post #5 of 42 Old 08-11-2008, 02:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
antwon412's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Leandro, CA
Posts: 1,134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
grab a vga conector off ebay if you can. that will be the bes PQ you can expect

Xbox360 / PS3 / Failed HDM Supporter
I have no idea what you are referring to
Gamertag: antwon412
(A/V)Ignorance is Bliss -------- sweet, cheap bliss
antwon412 is offline  
post #6 of 42 Old 08-11-2008, 07:22 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
HMArndtGolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by meany View Post

The S conector on the TV is bad. Give it a wiggle with the cable in and see if it works.

I just tried that, on the back of the tv and on the front, neither one works. Thanks.

HMAG
HMArndtGolf is offline  
post #7 of 42 Old 08-13-2008, 01:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sage11x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brighton, MI
Posts: 2,533
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 339 Post(s)
Liked: 565
Seems silly to ask but... Are you unpluging the composite before you plug in the s-video? They can't be both connected at the same time.

Other than that have you tried a different device thru s-video to make sure it's not the jack itself?

I'll agree with another poster that the vga box is the best way to go. Not all games are compatible with it, however.

"For small creatures such as we the vastness is bearable only through love."

--Carl Sagan
sage11x is online now  
post #8 of 42 Old 08-13-2008, 02:43 PM
Member
 
DarkZero24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Why would you even bother using S-video on a plasma instead of the far-superior VGA signal, unless one of your favorite games is one of the few that does not support it?

If you must use S-video, I'd say the cable is busted. What you could do is get a VGA box that also has outputs for audio, composite video, and S-video. That way, not only can you switch between VGA and S-video, but you'd be able to determine if indeed it is your cable (since any old S-video cable would work with this box) or the Dreamcast itself.
DarkZero24 is offline  
post #9 of 42 Old 08-13-2008, 04:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
HDgaming42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 633
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by HMArndtGolf View Post

I just tried that, on the back of the tv and on the front, neither one works. Thanks.

HMAG

Have you verified your s-video port works with another source? Another game system/svhs vcr, cable box etc?

The other posters have a point. You will cry when you see how bad your dreamcast looks over s-video on a plasma. I bought my VGA cable from racketboy
http://www.racketboy.com/store/dream...-cable-box.htm
currently in stock and cheap. Works. And you don't have to deal with fleabay.

Worth a try--just test your vga port first to see that it accepts 640x480 and doesn't look terrible! Not all sets' VGA ports are good...
HDgaming42 is offline  
post #10 of 42 Old 08-14-2008, 09:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mw182006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 666
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm about to pick up that VGA box as well. How do you have audio connections set up? I understand there's a little RCA out on the box, do you have a splitter going to RCAs then running to your AVR/TV? I'm finally upgrading to a HDMI receiver and wondering the best way of integrating the DC.

X360 games up for trade/$: GTA4, Top Spin 3, Jericho, Dark Sector, RB6: Vegas, Burnout Revenge, Gears of War -- PM me!
Mw182006 is offline  
post #11 of 42 Old 08-15-2008, 08:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
number1laing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5,993
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
I honestly have hooked up the DC to my 40" LCD via VGA and eh... its not that great. Honestly I am thinking about hooking it up to my 22" monitor, or even getting a cheap older TV for it (and SNES, and NES, etc.). These systems were just not designed for these TVs.
number1laing is offline  
post #12 of 42 Old 08-17-2008, 08:25 PM
Member
 
acampero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have my DC hooked up via VGA to my 56" Toshiba HD CRT and I must say it's amazing.

Even though some of the Capcom games have sprites that are low res, it still looks incredible and games like Jet Grind Radio, Alien Front Online and Marvel Vs. Capcom 2 just blow me away.

So much better resolution and color than the S-Video cable.

Only bummer is a few games don't support it, but thats the tradeoff.

Definitely worth it if you are a DC fan
acampero is offline  
post #13 of 42 Old 08-21-2008, 09:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mw182006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 666
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How are you running audio?

X360 games up for trade/$: GTA4, Top Spin 3, Jericho, Dark Sector, RB6: Vegas, Burnout Revenge, Gears of War -- PM me!
Mw182006 is offline  
post #14 of 42 Old 08-21-2008, 10:11 PM
Member
 
acampero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Stereo mini out of the VGA box to L/R inputs on my receiver.
acampero is offline  
post #15 of 42 Old 08-24-2008, 09:35 PM
Member
 
Slydragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the same issue as the op, It did this on my 2 LCD tvs and I tried the cable with 2 different DC's. I know the S videos work because I tested them out with my camcorder. I only get it to work with R/L/V cable.
Slydragon is offline  
post #16 of 42 Old 10-27-2008, 11:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pcweber111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: In a van, down by the river.
Posts: 3,568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by sage11x View Post

Seems silly to ask but... Are you unpluging the composite before you plug in the s-video? They can't be both connected at the same time.

Other than that have you tried a different device thru s-video to make sure it's not the jack itself?

I'll agree with another poster that the vga box is the best way to go. Not all games are compatible with it, however.

Nah it's not silly to ask and more people forget to disconnect the composite video before pluggin in S-video than I care to remember (assuming we're talking about the same input here).

As for the VGA adaptor it's great and all but to me the s-video produces a damn good looking image that is hard to beat with older 2d games.
pcweber111 is online now  
post #17 of 42 Old 10-28-2008, 01:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Shin CZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 3,734
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
VGA'd Dreamcast looks better than a Wii via Component. Their 480p is far superior despite the lak of widescreen.
Shin CZ is offline  
post #18 of 42 Old 10-28-2008, 01:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Shin CZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 3,734
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by number1laing View Post

I honestly have hooked up the DC to my 40" LCD via VGA and eh... its not that great. Honestly I am thinking about hooking it up to my 22" monitor, or even getting a cheap older TV for it (and SNES, and NES, etc.). These systems were just not designed for these TVs.

On my (now sold) 1080p LCD, Dreamcast via VGA looks BETTER than a Wii via Component. I know I'm repeating myself, but seriously, my Dreamcast came back to life JUST because of the VGA.
Shin CZ is offline  
post #19 of 42 Old 10-28-2008, 12:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mw182006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 666
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've yet to pick up the VGA adapter, is it worth it if I have upscaling in my AVR (Denon 1909) and TV (Samsung 5087)?

X360 games up for trade/$: GTA4, Top Spin 3, Jericho, Dark Sector, RB6: Vegas, Burnout Revenge, Gears of War -- PM me!
Mw182006 is offline  
post #20 of 42 Old 10-31-2008, 05:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Shin CZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 3,734
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Regardless of what upscalers you may have, VGA gives the best possible PQ your Dreamcast can have.

Yesterday I played Marvel vs Capcom 2 on my new 67" 1080p set and it looked GREAT.
Shin CZ is offline  
post #21 of 42 Old 01-10-2009, 03:34 PM
Member
 
HDTVblues3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm having the same issue with a s video/av I bought off ebay. I get b & w picture on each input i tried.

I tried the DC with S video on my lil bro's tv and it worked/looked great.

MY set: Sony Wega 30" Widescreen hs420
Tried in full and Normal

Bros: Magnavox 20" Flat-screen

Shop I bought from:

vpgames.com (I purchased through ebay/paypal, tho)
gift card: "vpgvd3" for $3.00 off
HDTVblues3 is offline  
post #22 of 42 Old 03-25-2009, 02:23 PM
 
kmlm13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: west of chicago
Posts: 771
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Was this ever solved because I'm having the same problem?
kmlm13 is offline  
post #23 of 42 Old 03-26-2009, 06:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
SlaughterX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Alsip, IL
Posts: 839
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah my Dreamcast S-video cable that I bought off ebay years ago just stopped working for some reason last year. When it did work however, it looked great on the CRT HDTV in my bedroom. I also have a Dreamcast hooked up to my 22" LCD PC monitor and it also looks great, but s-video does give VGA a run for its money on the Dreamcast from my experience, though VGA is obviously better when supported properly (for most games).
SlaughterX is offline  
post #24 of 42 Old 03-27-2009, 08:24 AM
 
kmlm13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: west of chicago
Posts: 771
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlaughterX View Post

Yeah my Dreamcast S-video cable that I bought off ebay years ago just stopped working for some reason last year. When it did work however, it looked great on the CRT HDTV in my bedroom. I also have a Dreamcast hooked up to my 22" LCD PC monitor and it also looks great, but s-video does give VGA a run for its money on the Dreamcast from my experience, though VGA is obviously better when supported properly (for most games).

What VGA box do you have?
kmlm13 is offline  
post #25 of 42 Old 03-31-2009, 11:32 AM
Member
 
bleedingthru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
this happend to me as well tried 2 s video cables thye dont work tried all my tv's in house nothing worked , i took my cables back to play n trade where i got them the clerk said this happend to 3 other guys saying the same thing (black and white picture with s video)
bleedingthru is offline  
post #26 of 42 Old 04-01-2009, 11:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
number1laing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5,993
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
I have a working S-video cable for DC, but actually I can't get my monitor (Dell 2005FPW) to work with my VGA Box.
number1laing is offline  
post #27 of 42 Old 05-23-2009, 02:23 PM
Member
 
implant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Green Bay, WI
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have tried using an s-video cable as well as using the s-video out on my VGA box/adapter and have the same problems. I have tested 3 Dreamcasts on 2 HDTVs (LCD and CRT) and have the same problem as the original poster. I'm starting to think the Dreamcast puts out some non-standard s-video that modern s-video components don't display correctly? I am going to run over to my parents house and test on their standard def TV to see what happens.

I wish my LCD TV had VGA inputs... (not about to shell at $200 for a VGA -> component adapter)

(my Saturn and Jaguar with S-Video work great on both TVs)

Could be a bad cable, check out this thread from Digit Press http://www.digitpress.com/forum/showthread.php?t=123024
implant is offline  
post #28 of 42 Old 01-17-2011, 09:57 PM
Senior Member
 
Super XP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, ON. Canada
Posts: 452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I too am having the same issue with S-Video cable connected to my Dreamcast. I tried two of them with the same black & white problem. I've confirmed that my S-Video connections on my DVD Recorder, my 2 x HDTV's and on my Digital Receiver all work great, so it must be the Dreamcast somehow blocking us from using S-Video or something...

Though I've tried something interesting if anybody wants to try it, I hooked up my Dreamcast via RCA Composite to my Toshiba DR7 DVD Recorder and up-converted my Dreamcast to full 1080p. It looks "A LOT" better than when I had it running at 480i. The picture looks a lot cleaner. Resident Evil: Code V looks fabulous along with Crazy Taxi 1 & 2.

I did order the VGA box because I am willing to go down to 480p if it provided me with better image quality seeing how the Dreamcast's Picture was originaly designed for 480p...

Did anybody find a FIX in regards to Dreamcast cennected via S-Video and producing B&W images?.

Thanks,
Super XP is offline  
post #29 of 42 Old 01-18-2011, 01:08 AM
 
darklordjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 93
A grayscale image on s-video means you are getting luma (light) but not chroma (color) through the connection, which are two distinct wires in the s-video standard. This would imply that one of the connectors is not making contact somewhere. On one of my Dreamcasts that used to live in my bedroom, the s-video cable was a little wonky. It would go gray, until you gave it a little downward pressure, at which point color would snap right back in. I ended up just replacing the cable, but I would suspect that the video port on the DC is just a little poorly designed for s-video out, plus the cable probably has an ever so slightly bent pin.

http://pinouts.ru/Game/dreamcast_pinout.shtml

Pin 11 looks to be your culprit. Look at the cable and see if it's possible to just bed the pin a little further up, helping it make contact.

Also, if you have VGA on the display, then holy hell just get the VGA box. VGA out of a Dreamcast is fantastic. It looks better than a PS2 or Xbox, and rivals a component Gamecube in video quality.
darklordjames is offline  
post #30 of 42 Old 01-19-2011, 07:17 AM
Senior Member
 
Super XP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, ON. Canada
Posts: 452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Would VGA at 480i look better than composite via my DVD Recorder up-scaled to 1080p? I mean without up-scaling the picture looks kind of crapy but once up-scaled, it does make a big difference.

I have a VGA box on the way because I am fed up with the S-Video connection. I am getting my money back for the S-Video.

Though I will try wiggling the cable where it meets the Dreamcast.
Thanks,
Super XP is offline  
Reply General Gaming Help

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off