Connect Gamecube to two TV's - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 02-09-2009, 04:25 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
nonoitall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, technically not two TV's, but one TV and one capture device. I have a USB capture card that I'd like to use to record some game play, but there is a slight lag between button presses and actually seeing the action on the monitor. So I'm wondering what a good (and cheap) way would be to hook up the Gamecube to the capture card (using S-Video) and to a TV (I don't care what connection is used for that). That way I can play on the TV while I record using the capture card.

I understand that using a 'Y' S-Video splitter is not an optimal solution and will result in signal loss. I was wondering if something like this would suffer from the same problem? (With me hooking up the S-Video output to the capture card and the composite output to the TV?) Or alternatively are there any other cheap (<$30 USD) ways to go about this?
nonoitall is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 02-10-2009, 05:56 PM
Newbie
 
Trigger_Happy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I suffered signal loss from hooking a Y adapter to all three of my cables, but I adjusted the brightness (I work all Composite though).

But that's with the Wii. For the Playstation/Xbox/Gamecube, I use that kind of adapter. I hook the S-Video to the TV (or capture device) and the composite to whatever is not being used, then I use the Y-adapter to split the audio for both the TV and the computer.

Just don't keep connecting and disconnecting, because eventually your stuff is gonna get ruined.
Trigger_Happy is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 02-11-2009, 04:01 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
nonoitall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So there won't be any deterioration of quality on the S-Video hookup if I hook up both the S-Video (to the capture card) and the composite (to a TV) at the same time? I didn't quite get what you meant by my stuff getting ruined though.
nonoitall is offline  
Reply General Gaming Help

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off