Is this lag what I have...? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 18 Old 12-30-2010, 11:13 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Okay the thread title I chose was meant to make a person smile while thinking about a certain pop culture tuna fish consumer...Now on to the good stuff!

I have been chasing an issue recently and have been informed of this wonderful and informative site where I may seek advice from those whom are much smarter than I am.

I started playing video games online about a year ago. I have a PS3 connected via HDMI to a Samsung PN58A650(T1F) plasma tv. The PS3 is set up at 1080p. I have centurytel(centurylink) internet and use a Linksys E3000 router. My PS3 is wired.
In certain games (Call Of Duty specifically) they provide a "kill-cam" that allows me to see who just slaughtered me. I like to watch these kill-cams for a few reasons but what I am concerned with is this...
When I turn a corner and start walking through a door (just an example) and an enemy pops around a corner, I take aim and pop a few shots to his torso, about that time, he has done the same and I die. Then I watch the kill cam and it appears that the enemy actually popped around the corner, threw a grenade, reloaded his weapon, took a 8ms nap, then shot me before I ever pulled up my iron sights to take aim at him. Obviously this is an exaggeration but I hope my point was made.
I have "re-done" my internet/network, I have purchased shorter cords/cables, I have increased my internet speed, I have spent countless hours on the phone with Linksys making sure that my router settings are correct, I have gone through 2 routers, I have messed with any settings on any component that could possibly make this happen and I am lost.