HELP! - Can't get PS3 to output 5.1 on Blu-rays or DVDs - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 05-28-2011, 12:38 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
SamRadar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, here's my setup:

PS3, XBOX 360, DirectTV HD-DVR all plugged into a Bravia KDL-55NX810 with HDMI. Digital Audio out from TV to Sony HTIB (HT-SS360).

I have each component going to the TV with HDMI so that the 3d video signal can make it to the TV since my HTIB doesn't support pass-through, otherwise I'd have it all hooked up through the receiver first (like I used to before I got this TV).

On my Xbox, when I load a DVD or a game, my receiver displays that I'm getting 5.1 channel sound and it works fine (Dolby Digital 5.1, in case that's important).

On my PS3, I get 5.1 channel sound when I play a game, no problem.

HOWEVER, when I try to play a DVD, Blu-Ray, or 3d Blu-Ray on the PS3, I can only get 2.1 channel sound (no matter which audio output formats I have selected on the Audio Setup menu). I used to have no problems getting 5.1 from anything on the PS3 when I ran it directly to the receiver with HDMI. But since the Xbox does it, I know the setup is capable of handling it, so it's got to be a PS3 issue (right?).

This seriously bothers me, since this means that I can either have BD/3DBD video and no surround sound, or hook the PS3 directly to the receiver and get surround sound, but no 3d.

Any suggestions on how I can get my PS3 to output 5.1 sound on my DVD/BD/3DBD discs? I'm at the end of my rope and any help is appreciated.
SamRadar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 05-28-2011, 02:52 AM
 
darklordjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Why not just run optical from the back of the PS3 to your receiver?
darklordjames is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 05-28-2011, 09:00 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
SamRadar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I suppose I forgot to mention this in the original post:

My receiver only has 1 optical in port, so I can't run the audio from each of the 3 components directly to the receiver, nor can I run the other 2 to the TV and then to the receiver with the optical and then also connect the PS3 to the optical as well.

I do have an optical splitter/joiner, but that won't work because as long as the TV is on, it sends signal through the optical cable and the 2 will interfere even if i go that route.

I looked into a manual switcher, but that would pretty much defeat the purpose of the all-in-one remote I just bought. Thanks for the suggestion though!
SamRadar is offline  
Reply General Gaming Help

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off