No audio out on tv? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 06-19-2013, 07:28 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Chris Hill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm not even ssure if thiss is the right section but here goes...

I've just set up my xbox/ps3 in my spare room for some 'me time'. To make it better, I thought I'd bring up the 5.1 amp from downstairs that we don't use anymore, but to my surprise, my samsung tv doesn't have any sort of audio out connection! Seeing as my consoles are connected to my tv through hdmi, I get sound from the tv but how can I use the amp? Is there a splitter of some sort for hdmi cables that includes an audio out port to connect to my amp?
Chris Hill is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 06-19-2013, 12:15 PM
 
darklordjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 93
If you are using a 360 S, then you can hook up optical from the back of it to the receiver for surround audio. The same holds true for all of the PS3 versions.

If you are on an original 360 with HDMI, then you need the audio dongle.

http://www.amazon.com/Optical-Audio-Adapter-Xbox-360-Cable/dp/B0042UQLM0/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1371669291&sr=8-4&keywords=360+audio+adapter
Chris Hill likes this.
darklordjames is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 06-19-2013, 01:57 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Chris Hill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OMG What a clown! I can't believe I didn't take a look at the back of the ps3!

Ok so that's the ps3 sorted, and I'll need the dongle for the xbox. I just assumed when the xbox had a hdmi plugged in, it would disable the other port, never thought it could be used for just sound!

Thanks a lot buddy
Chris Hill is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply General Gaming Help

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off