Dreamcast VGA + VGA-less HDTV. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 03-05-2014, 07:47 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
pheria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I want to get a Dreamcast VGA box, but my Sony W802A doesn't sport a VGA port and our second HDTV doesn't support 480 through its VGA port.

I'm seeking advice on a solution. It's my understanding that a VGA -> component conversion cannot be done with a passive converter in this case.

I've seen a lot of suggestions for this VGA -> HDMI box.
http://www.monoprice.com/Product?ab3=b&utm_expid=58369800-11.R-enhtUGRrSdHz5vzpVS2g.1&c_id=101&cp_id=10114&cs_id=1011404&p_id=6191&seq=1&format=2&ref=cj&utm_referrer=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.neogaf.com%2Fforum%2Fshowthread.php%3Ft%3D497358%26page%3D28

But I'm sensitive to input lag for games like Space Channel 5 and haven't been able to find anything measurable. Just people saying "I don't feel any lag".
Or "This adapter is probably faster than your TV's scaler anyway, which won't be used since the adapter scales it for the TV". Which I'm skeptical about for my TV, given its excellent input lag.

Finally, is something like this out of the question?
http://www.amazon.com/Video-Cable-Black-Support-Necessary/dp/B002TUC64W/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top

I can't find information about whether or not my Sony will handle an analog signal coming through HDMI. Dreamcast VGA still is analog 480p, right?

Thank you!
pheria is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 03-07-2014, 12:23 PM
Newbie
 
headlesshobbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I see that you're trying the same thing I did. Some advice, DON'T DO IT!

Reason I'm explaining this is I have the same monoprice adapter and while it works good, the board itself has an issue with high contrast, which causes a lot of video to be hit with "white crush". If you have another source that goes before this, you can turn the contrast levels down and it shouldn't be an issue. My alternative solution when I used mine was to run it through a cga/vga board as a pass-thru and it really cleaned the signal up, but as a warning, I ended up with some kind of pulsing effect that runs as signal interference.

Fudah suggested that due to how Dreamcast outputs it's signal, most of the scaling done on HDTV sets (VGA to HDMI scalers) is the screen gets crunched and I guess it's something to do with being 720 x 480 or something like that. What Fudah says as a solution is to instead go the VGA to Component YUV route as this will not screw with how the image gets scaled. I might know you from the shmups board, so go ask him more about it in the thread I have posted there.
headlesshobbs is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 03-09-2014, 10:39 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
pheria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, I'm not from the Shmup forums but I posted a few follow-up questions on your post. I hope he/she has a chance to share some insight.
http://shmups.system11.org/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=49272

Thanks again for the advice.
pheria is offline  
Reply General Gaming Help

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off