Measure your HDTV lag with Guitar Hero II - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 11-06-2006, 01:38 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
fubarduck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Red Octane has certainly been keeping up with the times and has heard our respective cries for help. In addition to supporting Widescreen and Progressive scan output, there is a feature in the video options which allows you to calibrate your HDTV Lag such that a delay will not affect your Guitar Hero experience.

So, for all those folks looking for an accurate way to measure the input lag on a new HDTV set or on the HDTV you already own, I highly recommend a purchase of Guitar Hero II. The game is released officially on Wednesday, but some retailers have already broken the street date (read: Wal-Mart) so a few lucky souls may be able to pick the game up already.

The game uses milliseconds to measure rather than frames. For reference,
1 frame is approximately 17ms (assuming the game runs at 60fps).

Please take my recommendation and purchase Guitar Hero II if not for this feature alone. It's also an awesome game, so it's win-win.
fubarduck is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 11-08-2006, 11:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
shunx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 548
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Sounds like a good idea, and these music games tend to be fun.

So fubarduck what lag are you getting if any?
shunx is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 11-08-2006, 09:12 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
fubarduck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by shunx
Sounds like a good idea, and these music games tend to be fun.

So fubarduck what lag are you getting if any?
Posted a short report/comparison of my numbers in the Video Processors forum here:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=747832
fubarduck is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 11-09-2006, 09:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
Cush1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 958
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you're still getting one of those XPloder things, I'd be curious to see how it stacks up. Good to hear that games are starting to account for this stuff. I hope it becomes the norm instead of the exception. It'd be even nicer as a system setting in the Wii or the PS3 in the future via firmware/OS upgrades.

Cush
Cush1978 is offline  
Closed Thread General Gaming Help

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off