Thinking of getting an Xbox 360. Now which one? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 5 Old 01-19-2008, 10:26 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So, I won some money recently and I'm thinking of getting a 360. I'm just confused about some of the accessories and options available through an Xbox. And, some of the stories I've read about the 360 are a little concerning. I'm new to online gaming and have several questions about the nature of the 360 and Xbox live.

I also just bought a Panasonic Plasma TH-42PZ77u that plays 1080p and an Yamaha audio receiver that passes video and audio through HDMI. The receiver does not accept audio through HDMI. I have to connect audio through 5.1 channel analog jacks, digitial optical input, or digital coaxial input.

Based on that equipment, I have a few questions:

1) Does the 360 have a way to connect video to the TV through HDMI but audio to the receiver via digital optical cable?

2) If not, then do the Xbox 360 component cables have a jack to plug a digital optical cable to the receiver like the original Xbox had?

3) Is there much difference in video quality between component cables and HDMI?

4) Besides the 120gb hard drive, what is the difference between the Pro and Elite versions?

5) Is the Elite version a good deal for what it comes with? How

6) Can the Pro version have an HDMI interface? If not, which 360 have HDMI interface?

7) Which ones come with an HDMI cable? Does the 360 use 1.3 HDMI cables? If not, then when?

8) Can the Xbox use any HDMI cable or is it a special propietary cable that plugs onlyinto the Xbox?

9) Why would I need 120gb of storage space on an Xbox? What purpose would it serve?

10) Do the new Xbox systems still have the "ring of death" or any other issues I should be made aware of? Please list them?

11) What is the difference between the 360 pro and the Halo limited edition version?

12) Can you plug in an Ipod to get music off of the 360?