SD Card Channel Announced - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 99 Old 04-06-2009, 01:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
NV5655's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 608
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This may be stupid...but..

Has anyone tried copying Virtual Console titles to SD card and try to play them on their DSi?

Packing Protons - Freelance Videography

www.youtube.com/WPLJTV for 95.5 contests and concerts

www.youtube.com/NTV1978 for Geek stuff :)
NV5655 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 99 Old 04-06-2009, 02:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ThisOneKidMongo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,612
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Yeah, that seems...unlikely to work.
ThisOneKidMongo is offline  
post #93 of 99 Old 04-06-2009, 02:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
onund's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhoff80 View Post

Yeah, I know you can manually organize it, but if I was to manually alphabetize it for example, I'd have to move every single game one to the right each time I bought a new game. And I'm not saying it should be mandatory, but a sort button would be nice, that's all.

I've been saying we need some sort of filtering or sorting system also. Even if they just give you the exact same menu layout used for the store that would be a huge enhancement.

New Samsung LNTxx71f owner? Read the FAQ!
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...4#post12429454
LNTxx71f owners FW list
onund is offline  
post #94 of 99 Old 04-06-2009, 02:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
onund's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by NV5655 View Post

This may be stupid...but..

Has anyone tried copying Virtual Console titles to SD card and try to play them on their DSi?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThisOneKidMongo View Post

Yeah, that seems...unlikely to work.

Considering you can't even do that between two Wii consoles I'd have to agree with Mongo. The VC games are tied to the console.

Will the DSi even emulate set top consoles?

New Samsung LNTxx71f owner? Read the FAQ!
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...4#post12429454
LNTxx71f owners FW list
onund is offline  
post #95 of 99 Old 04-06-2009, 03:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
CRT Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Hanover, PA
Posts: 887
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Might be able to emulate an NES on a 133MHZ ARM9 but we'll have to wait for homebrew to find out.
CRT Dude is offline  
post #96 of 99 Old 04-06-2009, 03:19 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jhoff80's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,926
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by CRT Dude View Post

Might be able to emulate an NES on a 133MHZ ARM9 but we'll have to wait for homebrew to find out.

Considering that the 67MHz ARM9 and 33MHz ARM7 on the original DS were able to emulate NES with no issues, I'd doubt the more powerful 133MHz ARM9 in the DSi will have any issue with it. SNES was iffy on the DS, so who knows with the DSi, but NES will almost certainly work.

(I mean, for backwards compatibility purposes with preexisting DS games, the ARM9 has to be at least as powerful as the combination of the two older chips, so the possibility of NES emulation should be a given.)

XBL/Steam: JHoff80
jhoff80 is offline  
post #97 of 99 Old 04-06-2009, 03:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jwebb1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Visalia, CA
Posts: 8,336
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhoff80 View Post

Yeah, I know you can manually organize it, but if I was to manually alphabetize it for example, I'd have to move every single game one to the right each time I bought a new game. And I'm not saying it should be mandatory, but a sort button would be nice, that's all.

You are asking way too much of the big N, sir!

Agree that a method of sorting would be good for those with lots of stuff. But hey, at least we finally got a place to put all this crap (now if I can find a way to sort all those plastic instruments cluttering up the living room......)

Money does not buy happiness. It can, however, buy you a giant boat that you can pull up alongside happiness. - David Lee Roth

jwebb1970 is offline  
post #98 of 99 Old 04-07-2009, 12:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Leo_Ames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 197
Quote:
Originally Posted by CRT Dude View Post

Might be able to emulate an NES on a 133MHZ ARM9 but we'll have to wait for homebrew to find out.

Considering that the GBA could emulate the NES just fine (Capcom Classics MiniMix, the NES Classics line, homebrew emulators like PocketNes, etc.), its a safe bet it can.
Leo_Ames is online now  
post #99 of 99 Old 04-07-2009, 07:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
CRT Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Hanover, PA
Posts: 887
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
SNES9x on a Pentium 166 is all the (bad) experience I have with emulation on slow CPUs so forgive my lack knowledge on the subject. With accurate emulation being all the rage these days I forgot you can use hacks to run on slow CPUs.
CRT Dude is offline  
Reply Nintendo

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off