Wii in 1080p over HDMI - and not using the Dolphin emulator? - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Gaming & Content Streaming > Home Theater Gaming > Nintendo > Wii in 1080p over HDMI - and not using the Dolphin emulator?

Nintendo

jwebb1970's Avatar jwebb1970
10:56 AM Liked: 35
post #1 of 18
03-24-2010 | Posts: 8,352
Joined: Aug 2006
http://reviews.dcemu.co.uk/vdigi-rel...or-303442.html

The above link is via Go Nintendo - takes you to the e-retailer selling a new - and apparently Wii-specific - 3rd party video upscaler. Allows you to connect Wii video output (I assume component, NOT composite) & upscale it up to 1080p via DVI/HDMI.

How well does it work? Don't know - but the link has several screenshots of a Japanese Wii w/ the upscaling device inbetween it & a Samsung LCD HD display. Device sells for $75 USD.

Thoughts? For me, the screenshots do not look all that different, but a few closeups seem to illustrate that this device, if nothing else, reduces video jaggies and sends HD upscaled video. The Smash Bros shots look pretty good. Gotta say, though - would need to see this in person first.....
jhoff80's Avatar jhoff80
12:22 PM Liked: 201
post #2 of 18
03-24-2010 | Posts: 4,224
Joined: May 2005
Well, the reason that the Dolphin emulator looks so nice is that it's actually rendering at 1080p, which is a huge difference from upscaling to 1080p.

But anyway, yeah, any video upscaler should work, though often many add significant delay to the video. I'd assume since this is advertised specifically for the Wii that it probably doesn't have much of an issue like that, or maybe has a "Game Mode". The thing is though, the TV is already upscaling to 1080p anyway, which depending on the electronics in your TV, may or may not be just as good.

Personally, I've got the Wii connected via component to my Denon receiver which then upscales the video to 1080p and outputs it via HDMI. I don't notice much improved quality whatsoever, but do it for the convenience reasons myself. (This way, only one cable to the monitor.)
moothemagiccow's Avatar moothemagiccow
01:21 PM Liked: 17
post #3 of 18
03-24-2010 | Posts: 881
Joined: Oct 2009
The pictures look fine, but it would make a lot more sense to have comparison shots of the same screen at 480p.

I don't really have any issue with the way my games are scaled: Galaxy was a bit ugly when I first popped it in, but I've gotten used to it. It helps that my last screen was a 20" crt and the new one is a 42" plasma.
jwebb1970's Avatar jwebb1970
04:04 PM Liked: 35
post #4 of 18
03-25-2010 | Posts: 8,352
Joined: Aug 2006
After looking at the item more closely - I see that you don't plug your Wii cables into it. One end has the proprietary Wii AV connector & a USB cable - presumably to provide the upscaler power. You can run audio either thru the HDMI or via an analog output.

Waiting to see a legit website or publication review this.
moothemagiccow's Avatar moothemagiccow
12:03 AM Liked: 17
post #5 of 18
03-26-2010 | Posts: 881
Joined: Oct 2009
Well it looks like the DCEMU guys read my mind: 480p/1080p comparison pics are up at the original link.
jwebb1970's Avatar jwebb1970
09:58 AM Liked: 35
post #6 of 18
03-26-2010 | Posts: 8,352
Joined: Aug 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by moothemagiccow View Post

Well it looks like the DCEMU guys read my mind: 480p/1080p comparison pics are up at the original link.

The shots seem to show a very slight improvement in jaggies & what not - not exactly what the Dolphin emulator does, of course.

I do think one's mileage may vary depending on the display being used. Some HD sets do what this device seems to do rather well, others not so much.

Still waiting to see a website/publication that is not linked to the sale of these devices get their hands on one & give it a workout.

Until then, I find Wii @ 480p on a nicely calibrated CRT RPTV looks just fine to me (esp Red Steel 2!!)
dcemureviews's Avatar dcemureviews
10:37 AM Liked: 10
post #7 of 18
03-26-2010 | Posts: 9
Joined: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwebb1970 View Post

The shots seem to show a very slight improvement in jaggies & what not - not exactly what the Dolphin emulator does, of course.

I do think one's mileage may vary depending on the display being used. Some HD sets do what this device seems to do rather well, others not so much.

Still waiting to see a website/publication that is not linked to the sale of these devices get their hands on one & give it a workout.

Until then, I find Wii @ 480p on a nicely calibrated CRT RPTV looks just fine to me (esp Red Steel 2!!)

We're not associated with the manufacturer or any companies that provide samples to us. All we did was post the news of it and we were the first to do so. Our focus is to bring the latest reviews to consumers. Since they cant see or touch the product, we give a unbiased review before you decide to purchase. Thats what a review is. At the same time, small manufacturers want to get the product out there and seen by people and thats what we also do. Our review also helps manufacturers improve on their product. I was the first to review the Wii Boxing Gloves. After posting the review seen by thousands, the manufacturer updated the gloves and other manufacturers followed.

The company is sending me a review sample (thats what my site is all about..reviewing products before people decide to buy or not), so I will have it shortly.

All pictures are from manufacturer. I dont have it so I dont have pics of my own.
asseenontv's Avatar asseenontv
05:05 PM Liked: 10
post #8 of 18
03-26-2010 | Posts: 33
Joined: Feb 2010
There appears to be a slight improvement from the screen shots but for those that already have a decent upscaling receiver this probably isn't necessary.
jwebb1970's Avatar jwebb1970
11:25 AM Liked: 35
post #9 of 18
03-29-2010 | Posts: 8,352
Joined: Aug 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by asseenontv View Post

There appears to be a slight improvement from the screen shots but for those that already have a decent upscaling receiver this probably isn't necessary.

Or display, for that matter
jwebb1970's Avatar jwebb1970
09:41 AM Liked: 35
post #10 of 18
03-30-2010 | Posts: 8,352
Joined: Aug 2006
http://kotaku.com/5505034/wii-hd-com...hots/gallery/1

Kotaku reviewed this device....save your $$.
DavidEC's Avatar DavidEC
08:54 PM Liked: 10
post #11 of 18
03-30-2010 | Posts: 817
Joined: Mar 2003
I just wish I could connect my Wii via the VGA port on my Plasma to free up the component input!!
jwebb1970's Avatar jwebb1970
08:30 AM Liked: 35
post #12 of 18
03-31-2010 | Posts: 8,352
Joined: Aug 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidEC View Post

I just wish I could connect my Wii via the VGA port on my Plasma to free up the component input!!


I'm no genie - but how's this for wish fulfillment?

http://www.amazon.com/Wii-PS3-VGA-HD.../dp/B0015MISAG
jhoff80's Avatar jhoff80
11:14 AM Liked: 201
post #13 of 18
03-31-2010 | Posts: 4,224
Joined: May 2005
The only problem with that is that I believe the VGA cables only work at 480p. While that's not too much of a problem on the Wii, since probably 95% of the Wii games are 480p (though there are some exceptions, MadWorld for instance), it's more like the other way around on GameCube games. That might not matter to you if you don't really utilize the backwards compatibility but it's something to keep in mind.
jwebb1970's Avatar jwebb1970
11:38 AM Liked: 35
post #14 of 18
03-31-2010 | Posts: 8,352
Joined: Aug 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhoff80 View Post

The only problem with that is that I believe the VGA cables only work at 480p. While that's not too much of a problem on the Wii, since probably 95% of the Wii games are 480p (though there are some exceptions, MadWorld for instance), it's more like the other way around on GameCube games. That might not matter to you if you don't really utilize the backwards compatibility but it's something to keep in mind.


Wouldn't Virtual Console titles also be an issue if this is the case?


I'd think for the guy w/ the plasma & 1 component input, it'd be easier/maybe cheaper to just get an inexpensive video switch that handles component.
jhoff80's Avatar jhoff80
11:57 AM Liked: 201
post #15 of 18
03-31-2010 | Posts: 4,224
Joined: May 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwebb1970 View Post

Wouldn't Virtual Console titles also be an issue if this is the case?

I can't remember, but I think it depends on which console.
jwebb1970's Avatar jwebb1970
01:18 PM Liked: 35
post #16 of 18
03-31-2010 | Posts: 8,352
Joined: Aug 2006
But yeah - as you mentioned, Madworld forces 480i output regardless of cable set or setting. Might be an issue if trying to use VGA. Should work w/ the HDMI thingie in this thread, however.
DavidEC's Avatar DavidEC
02:57 AM Liked: 10
post #17 of 18
04-01-2010 | Posts: 817
Joined: Mar 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwebb1970 View Post

I'm no genie - but how's this for wish fulfillment?

http://www.amazon.com/Wii-PS3-VGA-HD.../dp/B0015MISAG

Thanks for the link.. but it seems that the cables have some very bad reviews when used with the "Wii".
avid
DavidEC's Avatar DavidEC
03:01 AM Liked: 10
post #18 of 18
04-01-2010 | Posts: 817
Joined: Mar 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwebb1970 View Post

Wouldn't Virtual Console titles also be an issue if this is the case?


I'd think for the guy w/ the plasma & 1 component input, it'd be easier/maybe cheaper to just get an inexpensive video switch that handles component.

Already have one each: HDMI, Component, & Composite/SVGA switch boxes due to the number of A/V devices in my 'Information Room', and since I have an open input on the set I was wishing to put it to use!

avid
Reply Nintendo

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3