Need to Connect a Wii to HDMI - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 05-30-2010, 08:26 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
RedSwirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My brother bought a house where the living room entertainment center was already set up so that you could only hook up stuff through an HDMI setup in a nearby closet. He's trying to figure out how to rig a Wii up to this thing (it really is probably the best console for him).

What's the best converter he could use to get both his video and audio running through an HDMI cable? Also, he'll need a wireless sensor bar.
RedSwirl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 05-30-2010, 08:48 AM
Senior Member
 
Shadowboricua's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedSwirl View Post

My brother bought a house where the living room entertainment center was already set up so that you could only hook up stuff through an HDMI setup in a nearby closet. He's trying to figure out how to rig a Wii up to this thing (it really is probably the best console for him).

What's the best converter he could use to get both his video and audio running through an HDMI cable? Also, he'll need a wireless sensor bar.

http://hd.engadget.com/2010/05/28/wi...-more-no-less/
Shadowboricua is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 05-30-2010, 08:51 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
RedSwirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:

Saw that, does it really work? If so, I can't seem to find anywhere else to buy it.
RedSwirl is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 05-30-2010, 02:10 PM
 
darklordjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 93
It looks like a "good enough" device. At $40 it isn't going to be the greatest thing ever made, but for getting good enough 480p out of a Wii over HDMI, it should get the job done. No one here has tried it out though. I can't imagine that the quality would be too noticeably different from HDMI, plus it will let him hook up the Wii as his system requires.

Also, Neoya sells it directly. Why would you need anywhere to buy it from?
darklordjames is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 07-09-2010, 03:54 PM
Member
 
PAUL250268's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi

Has anybody tried this set-up yet?

I have the same issue.

Just to be clear, I need to go from Wii into the receiver, Onkyo TX-SR507.

Or, how about a converter box, anyone tried that?

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B003ABST3G/...SIN=B003ABST3G

Thanks


Paul
PAUL250268 is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 07-09-2010, 09:24 PM
 
darklordjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 93
It's quite probable that the component to HDMI ADC inside of each unit is the same. Again, at $40, both are more than likely "good enough" considering the Wii's 480p output.

So Paul, you have the Wii and the receiver in different rooms with only an HDMI cable run between them? Why? Why not have them in the same room and just hook the Wii up component?

EDIT: Now I see. The receiver doesn't do HDMI upconversion. Is it new enough that you can still return the receiver? I fail to see the logic in buying an HDMI receiver that doesn't have HDMI upconversion, but then having non-HDMI devices that you want to hook up to it.
darklordjames is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 07-10-2010, 05:22 AM
Senior Member
 
mcmushx15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 415
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No a direct answer however this is why when you wire your receiver, home etc..., you wire every cable. heck, even Composite and S-Video if you have it. You never know what you want to hook. Of course, all this is not needed if you have a scaleing receiver or something else to convert your signal. Cables are not that expensive these days.
mcmushx15 is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 07-10-2010, 05:30 AM
Member
 
PAUL250268's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi

Cannot return the receiver, 18 months old. Wii was in game room upstairs but now the wife wants it in the family room. ALL other equipment is HDMI, FiOS, XBox 360, Blu Ray. I do not want to take the TV off the wall and run component cables behind the wall to the receiver about 12 feet.

So, do I have any options? I can't understand why Wii isn't HDMI.

Paul
PAUL250268 is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 07-11-2010, 12:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Leo_Ames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 200
Quote:
Originally Posted by PAUL250268 View Post

So, do I have any options? I can't understand why Wii isn't HDMI.

It doesn't have any HD capabilities so there wouldn't be much gained by including a HDMI port besides increasing Nintendo's cost per unit. Your situation is fairly unusual I would think.
Leo_Ames is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 07-11-2010, 07:10 AM
Member
 
PAUL250268's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Doesn't everyone want just one feed into the TV via HDMI?
PAUL250268 is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 07-11-2010, 08:51 AM
Member
 
GTarrant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I picked upt this unit a few months ago to make all my components HDMI into my scaler. It has scaling capabilities that I do not use. It might be something to consider.
http://www.vdigi.com/index.php?page=...hk=1&Itemid=53
GTarrant is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 07-12-2010, 10:51 AM
Senior Member
 
AceStallion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i hear wii has no HDMI connection and that 480p is the max...i hope i heard wrong...

--Ace
--PSN: AceStallion
----Wavee baby!
AceStallion is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 07-23-2010, 09:51 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
RedSwirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AceStallion View Post

i hear wii has no HDMI connection and that 480p is the max...i hope i heard wrong...

That is the truth. The Wii isn't an HD-capable machine.

When Nintendo released this thing in 2006 the HD penetration rate was still pretty low, and their objective was to release a console that was cheap both for consumers and developers who wanted to make games for it. Sales-wise I think that paid off, as a lot of people out there still don't give a crap about HD.
RedSwirl is offline  
Reply Nintendo

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off