Wii and Sharp 55" HDTV - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-07-2010, 05:44 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
nickbaum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi folks,

I just received a new Sharp 52 inch LED TV (LC52LE700), and my Wii doesn't look right on it. Wii Sports displays interlacing glitches and has noticeable lag. I'm connected by the standard composite cable (so 480i).

The strange thing is that I tried out a Samsung 50 inch plasma last week (PN50C550) and it had none of these issues.

Questions:
* has anyone experienced this?
* what could this be due to? is the Sharp scaler that much worse?
* will getting a component cable and using 480p solve this?

Cheers,

-Nick
nickbaum is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-07-2010, 06:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ThisOneKidMongo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,646
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 62
It might not solve it completely, but going component/480p on the Wii will almost certainly be a vast improvement, both in terms of lag and PQ. Wii Sports was practically unplayable on my old Samsung DLP, but was much much better after hooking up the component cables. Some scalers are just laggier than others.
ThisOneKidMongo is offline  
Old 07-08-2010, 07:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
voodoozen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 869
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThisOneKidMongo View Post

It might not solve it completely, but going component/480p on the Wii will almost certainly be a vast improvement, both in terms of lag and PQ. Wii Sports was practically unplayable on my old Samsung DLP, but was much much better after hooking up the component cables. Some scalers are just laggier than others.

+1 for component cables. May not solve your problem entirely, but it can't hurt. And for <$10 shipped... you're not risking much to find out! Hit the link at the top of the forum here, search for product code 5689, spend $3.90 + shipping and let us know if you get any improvement.

Next: Is your Wii set to 480p in the settings menu? Your Aquos won't have to do as much work when upscaling/not deinterlacing 480p @ 60FPS.

Another: Did you run the Wii+Sammy in the same room and lighting conditions? You might be getting some stray reflections or interference depending on conditions in the room. If it's the same as previous setups, it's the TV. See input above.


last thought: A quick search of avs turned up [spoiler alert]the Sharp 700 series thread... try some setting tweaks.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...3#post18875573
Quote:
Originally Posted by Posted by Morning5 View Post


You will get less lag:

1) Using Game, User or Standard A/V Modes.
2) Using Input 7. (HDMI input, won't work with Wii)
3) Reducing the Contrast, Color.
4) Disabling Film Mode.
5) Disabling Noise Reduction
6) Updating to the latest firmware.

Settings:
Quote:


OPC - Off
Backlight +10
Contrast (White Level) +25
Brightness (Black Level) -3
Color 0
Tint +2
Sharpness +2

C.M.S. Hue 0
C.M.S. Saturation 0
C.M.S. Value 0

Color Temperature (Set the Low preset to the following numbers for 6500K)
Red Gain (Lo) -16
Green Gain (Lo) +3
Blue Gain (Lo) -20
Red Gain (Hi) -15
Green Gain (Hi) +6
Blue Gain (Hi) -21

Fine Motion - On
Gamma +2
Film Mode - Advanced High
Digital Noise Reduction - Auto

voodoozen is offline  
Old 07-08-2010, 08:08 AM
Senior Member
 
c-not-k's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Ellicott City, Maryland
Posts: 436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
FWIW I have a 52" 77U and a Wii connected via the optional component cables. So far, no issues. I recommend that solution also.
c-not-k is offline  
Old 07-08-2010, 12:18 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
nickbaum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Great, thanks to all, and particularly voodoozen for the super thorough response!

I've ordered the component cable (it was their daily deal yesterday, fancy that!). Once I get that I'll switch it to 480p and tweak the settings.

So am I correct that the difference could be attributed to a different quality scaler? Conditions were exactly the same when testing both TVs.

-Nick
nickbaum is offline  
Old 07-08-2010, 01:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ThisOneKidMongo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,646
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Correct me if I'm wrong, but doesn't LCD generally have more of a problem with lag than plasma?
ThisOneKidMongo is offline  
Old 07-08-2010, 01:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
KoRn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This day and age. Composite cable should be killed off. The worst cable you could use on a nice tv like that. Get some component cables and run it at 480p. Some tv's though actually look better running it at 480i though with component cables.
KoRn is offline  
Old 07-08-2010, 03:19 PM
 
darklordjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 93
"Correct me if I'm wrong, but doesn't LCD generally have more of a problem with lag than plasma?"

Given that the scalers inside of each are what cause lag issues, and the scalers are the same regardless of display type, you are wrong. For example, a Samsung plasma versus Samsung LCD of the same range will have the same scalers and the same lag, roughly.
darklordjames is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off