CRT or Plasma for playing the Wii? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 10 Old 11-09-2010, 04:10 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Let me just get this out of the Way, I'm a huge Nintendo nut. My first system was the Nes back in the 80's and I've loved and adored Nintendo's franchises ever since. And for me the Wii has been the greatest thing since the SNES, when motion controls are done right(like in Metroid Pime 3 for ex.) they're simply put amazing. Anyways, blah blah this isn't what this topic is about haha.

Anyways, I've been gaming on my Sony Wega 32" SDTV CRT for almost 6 years now. I have my Wii hooked up to it using component cables. And of course the Color is wonderful and because it's CRT i get perfect motion, and there's zero lag to worry about. Yet My CRT doesn't produce perfect blacks, while they're good they're not that good. Yet my gripes with my CRT is that I don't get progressive scan or Widescreen. I'd LOVE to have both those things, not to mention I can't stand that the fact that my TV is silver. I was thinking about getting a Samsung 42" PN42C430 720p Plasma, but at the same time I know I'll be getting more cons with the TV. The motion won't be quite as good as my CRT, there's bound to be some slight green trailing, then there's the upscaled image since it will be 480p upscaled to the Plasma's fixed 720p resolution, and worst of all there will be minor lag...