2 screen display with component cables? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-29-2010, 04:42 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Hackfest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bought official Nintendo component cables and ran them into my Sony STR-DH810 receiver. I have an HDMI cable from the receiver to my LG 42 inch LCD. I know the cables are good because I hooked them directly to the TV and it was fine.

I know the HDMI cable is good because my satellite and Bluray run through it. I plugged the cables into the component 1 IN spot and the audio to the audio. I can hear it fine, but the screen looks like this. I have checked 4 or 5 times to make sure the cables are hooked up correctly. They are. Any ideas? Thank you.
LL
LL
Hackfest is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-31-2010, 12:36 AM
 
darklordjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 93
That's what it looks like when you run a 480p image in to a 480i display. Is the receiver expecting 480i in and receiving 480p? First thing I would do it toggle the Wii's 480i/480p setting to see if one behaves properly. Then dig through your receiver's video input menu options and see if there is some sort of "Force 480i" setting, or something.
darklordjames is offline  
Old 12-31-2010, 06:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
Ice Cold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 784
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
You are doing it wrong.

No just kidding my LCD HDTV has an option that only pops up when the Wii is in use and 480p cables. The option is SD color or HD color.

I had it in HD color and the colors were off and wrong liek your pic.

Since the Wii is only SD cable I switch to SD color and the colors are beautiful 480p rocks.

Also make sur eyou set Your Wii AND your LCD to 4:3 yu may have both set to Widescreen 16:9
Ice Cold is offline  
Old 12-31-2010, 11:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
thebard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Darklordjames has the correct answer.

See p. 31 and 83 in the manual:

"The resolution of signals that can be
converted by the receiver is 480i only. Refer
to the operating instructions of each
connected component for details on video
output setting."

If your receiver won't convert 480p over component, you could try getting a Wii2HDMI adapter or other converter and plugging directly into an hdmi input.
thebard is offline  
Old 01-08-2011, 04:11 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Hackfest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the input. I ended up plugging the component directly into the TV so I could have 480p and ran the RCA cables to the receiver so I could get sound through the speakers.

Odd that it only takes 480i input unless your input is HDMI.
Hackfest is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off