ZombiU: How long will you survive? (Answer: Not very bloody long) - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 46 Old 01-07-2013, 08:11 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Given that ZombiU is arguably the best launch game for the Wii U I thought it deserved its own thread. I just started playing it myself last week and was wondering if any other AVSers were giving it a go (besides TroyHD, whose shambling corpse I've had to murder twice now!).

My relationship with the game is somewhat...complicated. I think the game is exciting, inventive, intense, and very well made, but on the other hand, I find myself not wanting to play it much. It's not really addicting in the way that many of the best games are. To be clear, this is not a knock, it's just a statement on the nature of the game. This isn't a game I want to kick back and relax with at the end of a long day like Mario, or something I want to aimlessly play for hours on end like Xenoblade. Due to the level of focus and intensity of the game, I actually find it somewhat exhausting to play for more than an hour or two at a time. I find myself desperately hoping for the next save point to be around the next corner just so I can have an excuse to put the game back down for the day. What I'm saying is -- and admittedly at least part of this is due to my being kind of a wiener -- this game is stressful.