Gamecube fuzzy...Why? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 22 Old 12-17-2005, 05:54 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
spinksjinx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I hooked up a gamecube and a NES/SNES to my new lcd television...When I play the old school systems they look great but when I hook up the cube and play it is really fuzzy no ghosting is present it just looks like the picture is washed out...Very annoying anyone know whats up?
spinksjinx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 Old 12-17-2005, 06:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
CallMeJean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
how do you have it connected to your LCD? component? composite?
CallMeJean is offline  
post #3 of 22 Old 12-17-2005, 07:17 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
spinksjinx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
composite same with the older systems...I even tried my ps2/xbox via component and same result....I called a friend and asked about this and he says he is unsure but his set (different from mine) also has the same problem with this gens consoles....
spinksjinx is offline  
post #4 of 22 Old 12-17-2005, 07:32 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
spinksjinx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I fixed the problem with the ps2 I switched to 16:9 and it looks a lot better...Still a TON of jaggies though...The gamecube is still washed out :(...
spinksjinx is offline  
post #5 of 22 Old 12-17-2005, 09:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
CallMeJean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My only recommendation is to try the component cables for the GC. I've read many times that people who use composite that the picture quality isn't that good and colors are washed out and going to component really enhances the picture and colors are much more vivid.
CallMeJean is offline  
post #6 of 22 Old 12-17-2005, 09:06 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
spinksjinx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CallMeJean
My only recommendation is to try the component cables for the GC. I've read many times that people who use composite that the picture quality isn't that good and colors are washed out and going to component really enhances the picture and colors are much more vivid.

Will have to try that...A lot of the gamecube components are on back order from Nintendo...Would it be wise to pick up a cheap pair off of ebay???
spinksjinx is offline  
post #7 of 22 Old 12-17-2005, 02:09 PM
Senior Member
 
daschrier's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Some of the import stores are selling the cables.

Make sure you check to see if you have a component output though. Nintendo took it off of the newer production runs because not many people were buying the component cables. If you don't, get svideo, it'll still look much better than composite.
daschrier is offline  
post #8 of 22 Old 12-17-2005, 02:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CallMeJean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, make sure you GC supports it.
Even though Nintendo is backordered, you'll probably get them sooner than what they say. I've heard many people say that they got them a lot sooner than Nintendo estimated.

Check ebay if prices are decent, but don't pay more than $40 for them.
Also, import stores like lik-sang are good places to check.
CallMeJean is offline  
post #9 of 22 Old 12-17-2005, 06:39 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
spinksjinx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah my cube is compatible has the connection in the back so I am set...But jeez 40 bucks for cables is a bit ridiculous and that is the going price for about everywhere...
spinksjinx is offline  
post #10 of 22 Old 12-18-2005, 05:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
FrankJ.Cone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 7,960
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 59
If your PS2/Xbox have issues via component its not likely your GC will improve with them. It certainly sounds like its your display. I am shocked to hear your old school systems look good scaled to any LCD's native resoloution.

Frank J. Cone

XBox Live / Steam: FCONE

Please do not form any opinion of the content of this post, it is still in BETA.

FrankJ.Cone is offline  
post #11 of 22 Old 12-18-2005, 06:26 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
spinksjinx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrankJ.Cone
If your PS2/Xbox have issues via component its not likely your GC will improve with them. It certainly sounds like its your display. I am shocked to hear your old school systems look good scaled to any LCD's native resoloution.

I made some adjustments on my set and the ps2/Xbox look ok...To get rid of the jaggies on it I just turned down the sharpness...It is still noticeable but the games still look better on my previous standard television...My main peeve with it is that everything seems darker like the blues and red are really dark even when adjusting but if I put in Super Mario he is bright as hell...It might just be the game I dont know...But with the older consoles hooked up it looks awesome it fills the whole screen and is pretty crisp...I was surprised lol...But the 360 looks great on the set...I think it is just this gens consoles...The cube doesnt have any jagged edges it just looks a bit washed out...Which from my understanding is probably the composite cables...
spinksjinx is offline  
post #12 of 22 Old 12-18-2005, 06:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
CallMeJean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey spinks,

yeah, I would say the component cables might help liven up the colors. I can't guarantee it, but I've read several times that people who switched to the component cables on the GC were much more impressed with the picture quality and colors. I've always used my GC with component, so can't say what that transition will be like from personal experience.
CallMeJean is offline  
post #13 of 22 Old 12-18-2005, 06:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
FrankJ.Cone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 7,960
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 59
I would try some S-Video cables. I think they are $10 or so. Anything looks better than composite :)

I see no real difference between my component GC cables and s-video. My Z3 de-interlaces the 480i from the GC just fine and then I am not using a precious component connection.

Frank J. Cone

XBox Live / Steam: FCONE

Please do not form any opinion of the content of this post, it is still in BETA.

FrankJ.Cone is offline  
post #14 of 22 Old 12-18-2005, 07:43 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
spinksjinx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrankJ.Cone
I would try some S-Video cables. I think they are $10 or so. Anything looks better than composite :)

I see no real difference between my component GC cables and s-video. My Z3 de-interlaces the 480i from the GC just fine and then I am not using a precious component connection.

Can you even purchase an S-video cable for the cube...All I have ever seen was composite or components...
spinksjinx is offline  
post #15 of 22 Old 12-18-2005, 07:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
FrankJ.Cone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 7,960
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by spinksjinx
Can you even purchase an S-video cable for the cube...All I have ever seen was composite or components...
I bought one at EB Games.

Frank J. Cone

XBox Live / Steam: FCONE

Please do not form any opinion of the content of this post, it is still in BETA.

FrankJ.Cone is offline  
post #16 of 22 Old 12-18-2005, 08:07 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
spinksjinx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrankJ.Cone
I bought one at EB Games.

Just checked guess they do...Might have to give that a try 40 bucks on components isnt at the top of my list...
spinksjinx is offline  
post #17 of 22 Old 12-18-2005, 09:28 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Q of BanditZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: blurayoasis.com
Posts: 15,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by spinksjinx
Just checked guess they do...Might have to give that a try 40 bucks on components isnt at the top of my list...

No offense, but: You've probably spent at least 2 grand or so on a nice display right?

"All for the want of a horse shoe nail." Why not spend the last $40 to finish it and do right by yourself?

I'm not sure where you even got that figure from. It's $30.

http://store.nintendo.com/webapp/wcs...rderTotal=null



It amazes me how often I see sentiments like these, even on a forum like this. Some guy spends thousands of bucks on a nice display and then he settles on a $100 DVD player or balks at $30-$40 cables to do a job right. I can understand not wanting to be ripped and buying $100 Monster cables, but c'mon!

Trust me: Get the component cables for your GC. You won't regret it. Put yourself over the top and finish it off right. You're so close to the finish line.

It's the final touch that you NEED to do.

Great ISF Job by Chad B.
Q of BanditZ is offline  
post #18 of 22 Old 12-18-2005, 10:07 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
spinksjinx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Q of BanditZ
No offense, but: You've probably spent at least 2 grand or so on a nice display right?

"All for the want of a horse shoe nail." Why not spend the last $40 to finish it and do right by yourself?

I'm not sure where you even got that figure from. It's $30.

http://store.nintendo.com/webapp/wcs...rderTotal=null



It amazes me how often I see sentiments like these, even on a forum like this. Some guy spends thousands of bucks on a nice display and then he settles on a $100 DVD player or balks at $30-$40 cables to do a job right. I can understand not wanting to be ripped and buying $100 Monster cables, but c'mon!

Trust me: Get the component cables for your GC. You won't regret it. Put yourself over the top and finish it off right. You're so close to the finish line.

It's the final touch that you NEED to do.

Nintendo is on backorder and the going price everywhere else is $39.99 so that is where I got those numbers...The only games I play on the cube are Double Dash and Melee. If they look that much better than I should pick them up but none the less I dont even think the games I play on the cube are progressive scan supported...I might dig down deeper and get them but the component cables for my xbox/ps2 looks worst than on my original television...

I will get them eventually but probably not anytime soon...I am going to start getting some serious sound flowing throughout my room now though...On a side note, Monster is overpriced and I've seen cheaper cables do a better job...
spinksjinx is offline  
post #19 of 22 Old 12-18-2005, 10:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
FrankJ.Cone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 7,960
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 59
The games you play are PS. I belive so anyway.

The Revoloution is supposed to be 100% compatible with GC games, so you will probably end up with component cables for that :)

Frank J. Cone

XBox Live / Steam: FCONE

Please do not form any opinion of the content of this post, it is still in BETA.

FrankJ.Cone is offline  
post #20 of 22 Old 12-18-2005, 10:27 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
spinksjinx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Actually neither of them is supported by that feature...LAME...

I am hyped up for the Revolution and cant wait...It is a shame it wont even support 720p...Nintendo games would look great because of the colors they tend to use in the games...
spinksjinx is offline  
post #21 of 22 Old 12-18-2005, 07:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CallMeJean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All Nintendo first party games are progressive scan on the Gamecube.
CallMeJean is offline  
post #22 of 22 Old 12-18-2005, 07:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
ShawnPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 839
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by spinksjinx
Actually neither of them is supported by that feature...LAME...

I am hyped up for the Revolution and cant wait...It is a shame it wont even support 720p...Nintendo games would look great because of the colors they tend to use in the games...
Interestingly, that's exactly why I think Nintendo games WILL still look great, even at only 480p, since their colour pallettes will likely still be fantastic. Higher resolution won't change that. I just hope ATI's chip will put the same high quality a signal it did on the Gamecube (with component cable adapter, of course).
ShawnPeters is offline  
Closed Thread Nintendo

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off