Gamecube Master Game List - 480p, 16x9 & Dolby PLII - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 90 Old 10-31-2006, 03:36 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Naylia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,812
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Nintendo was my source:
http://www.nintendo.com/gamemini?gam...e-c31a8d1d0949
Naylia is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 90 Old 10-31-2006, 06:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GregLee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Waimanalo HI
Posts: 3,237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 159 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Thanks.

Edit: I bought and tried Prisoner of Azkaban for the GC. Despite what the Nintendo magazine says, it's not 480p. Not widescreen, either.

Greg Lee
GregLee is online now  
post #63 of 90 Old 11-14-2006, 11:06 AM
Member
 
ksiddique's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Milton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are you planning to create and maintain a similar list for the Wii? It might not be necessary since most games will be 480p widescreen. But it would be handy to some I think.

kev
ksiddique is offline  
post #64 of 90 Old 11-14-2006, 02:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tybee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Decatur, GA
Posts: 742
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ksiddique View Post

Are you planning to create and maintain a similar list for the Wii? It might not be necessary since most games will be 480p widescreen. But it would be handy to some I think.

Might actually be easier to track which games AREN'T 16:9/480p for the Wii. All first party titles will be. Of third party titles, I know Trauma Center: Second Opinion is 480p but not widescreen.
Tybee is offline  
post #65 of 90 Old 11-14-2006, 04:13 PM
Member
 
iGrooveLA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GregLee View Post

Also, to use the component cable you need an old Gamecube with a "Digital AV Out" port. Nintendo stopped making GCs with that port in 2004.

so for those of us who have a newer GC (got mine in Nov. '05), we're pretty much out of luck and are stuck w/composite, right? i just got a 46" LCD TV and tried Metroid Prime on it and it looked horrible!

they do have S-video cables available, will that help the situation any?
iGrooveLA is offline  
post #66 of 90 Old 11-14-2006, 06:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GregLee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Waimanalo HI
Posts: 3,237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 159 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by iGrooveLA View Post

so for those of us who have a newer GC (got mine in Nov. '05), we're pretty much out of luck and are stuck w/composite, right? i just got a 46" LCD TV and tried Metroid Prime on it and it looked horrible!

they do have S-video cables available, will that help the situation any?

Yes, you're pretty much out of luck. Nintendo once offered to replace GCs with older refurbished ones with the digital port, but even if that offer is still good, it still leaves you with the problem of getting a component cable.

I have compared component output to S-video, and component is lots better for games with 480p output. I didn't think S-video looked very good. I haven't compared composite with S-video, but I've seen several others comment that S-video is considerably better.

Greg Lee
GregLee is online now  
post #67 of 90 Old 11-15-2006, 12:10 AM
Member
 
iGrooveLA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i guess the work around would be to play GC games on the Wii w/component cables, right? that should improve how GC games look on my tv, right?
iGrooveLA is offline  
post #68 of 90 Old 11-15-2006, 10:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
Tybee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Decatur, GA
Posts: 742
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by iGrooveLA View Post

i guess the work around would be to play GC games on the Wii w/component cables, right? that should improve how GC games look on my tv, right?

Definitely. You'll get 480p and 16:9.
Tybee is offline  
post #69 of 90 Old 12-02-2006, 04:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jhoff80's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4,026
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 151
You know, not that it matters too much anymore, but I remember Metroid Prime 2 (I had the original Prime before my HD monitor so I'm not sure about that one) had an option to horizontally stretch and compress the screen. The default setting was 50, so if I set that down to 0, and then used the Fill mode on my TV to stretch the image to fill the screen, I think it was in the correct proportions.

XBL/Steam: JHoff80
jhoff80 is online now  
post #70 of 90 Old 01-11-2007, 03:57 PM
Member
 
BoxInTheJack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I registered just to say thank you for this thread.
May be a little note would help that points oout that you need to hold the "B" button to bring up the mode change question...
Otherwise I hope a Wii list gets made. Here's the first entry:
CoD3 does not support 480p
BoxInTheJack is offline  
post #71 of 90 Old 01-11-2007, 08:09 PM
Member
 
ksiddique's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Milton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BoxInTheJack View Post

Otherwise I hope a Wii list gets made. Here's the first entry:
CoD3 does not support 480p

Hi BoxInTheJack. Here's the Wii list.

kev
ksiddique is offline  
post #72 of 90 Old 01-12-2007, 03:36 PM
Member
 
BoxInTheJack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Another note. I have PAL versions and Metroid Prime only supports 480i(60Hz) and not 480p, neither does number 2
BoxInTheJack is offline  
post #73 of 90 Old 01-16-2007, 08:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
TreyS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 859
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got a component cable off eBay and 480p looks awesome.

One problem though, I have been in the game menu/ options area and changed the settings to 16x9 or widescreen but the ratio is still 4x3 on my TV uless I switch it to full screen vs normal. I have a Sony GWIII 60' LCD.

Any suggestions on what to do to get the games to fill the screen? I tried FZero and Soul Caliber II.

Thanks!
TreyS is offline  
post #74 of 90 Old 01-17-2007, 05:26 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Naylia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,812
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
You have to change the tv to Full mode. None of the video games systems seem to flag the 480p 16x9 output as widescreen, so you have to do it manually.
Naylia is offline  
post #75 of 90 Old 01-18-2007, 04:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
TreyS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 859
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, that's what it was.
TreyS is offline  
post #76 of 90 Old 01-29-2007, 10:08 AM
Senior Member
 
Panic 66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 306
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Gamecube w/component cables on the way from an Ebay purchase that will be hooked up to a 4:3 1080i set. Do I need to do something (hold B button) each time I power on the GC to enable 480P or is this a one time requirement? I would appreciate any advice on this subject. I will continue to do some searching in old threads in the meantime. Thanks.
Panic 66 is offline  
post #77 of 90 Old 01-29-2007, 10:12 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Naylia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,812
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I believe it's the first time you play a game, and then it remembers it for that game.
Naylia is offline  
post #78 of 90 Old 02-01-2007, 02:34 PM
Member
 
13th shadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Brownsville, TX
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was going through the list and noticed you have Double Dash as being 480p but not 16 x 9. I've been playing it quite a bit lately and I'm pretty sure it is widescreen, although it does have slight underscan.

Wii: 8785 0924 5010 3059
PSN: dshadow1369
13th shadow is offline  
post #79 of 90 Old 02-01-2007, 07:58 PM
Member
 
ksiddique's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Milton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't see any options for widescreen in Double Dash and it's clearly stretched on my TV.

kev
ksiddique is offline  
post #80 of 90 Old 02-02-2007, 07:18 AM
Member
 
13th shadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Brownsville, TX
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Don't some games automatically switch to widescreen if you're playing them on progressive scan? I know I had Madden 04 on 4:3 and once I got a hold of component cables and played it in progressive it switched. I thought the same thing happened with Double Dash. All my icons are perfectly proportioned and I've played the game "stretched" before and it seriously affected my gameplay (and my gf's too, and she's better at it than me), particularly when drifting. That doesn't happen anymore. My apologies if I'm mistaken.


Update: Hit info on my tv while running Double Dash and displayed source as 720 x 480p @ 60 mghz.

Wii: 8785 0924 5010 3059
PSN: dshadow1369
13th shadow is offline  
post #81 of 90 Old 02-22-2007, 04:00 PM
Member
 
afarber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have my gamecube set up with s-video, so I understand I can't get 480p out of it. Can I still switch it to 16:9?

Thanks!
afarber is offline  
post #82 of 90 Old 03-26-2007, 09:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mpjohnst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for assembling all this info Naylia. I'm new to the Cube (another Wii owner) and am anxious to catch up on some of the titles I missed. Before I found your thread, I had ripped the rankings/review links from IGN and Gamespot to get a better idea of what was worth owning or not. I decided to combine your spreadsheet with mine so people can get an idea of how well reviewed a game is, not just whether it is wide/480p or not. I hope you don't mind... And please feel free to link to this spreadsheet in your original post to build off. I didn't get rid of any information you had, I only added. Thanks again.

For those using this, the first sheet is the stats while the second sheet is the actual list. And just click on the IGN/GameSpot score to be taken to their review. Enjoy.
-Matt

The fields are as follows:
1. Title
2. Genre
3. 480p
4. 16:9
5. Both 480p & 16:9
6. DPL/II
7. THX
8. Players
9. IGN Score (w/link to review)
10. IGN Ranking
11. GameSpot Score (w/link to review)
12. GameSpot Ranking
13. Release Date
14. IGN & GameSpot ave. Score
15. IGN & GameSpot ave. Ranking

Here are the stats I came up with...

Description_______________Score____Percent
Total Games Nintendo.com__539______N/A
Total Games in List_______427______79%

Characteristics\t\t

Total 480p________________176______33%
Total 16:9________________66_______12%
Total Both 480p & 16:9____48_______9%
Total Dolby_______________134______25%
Total THX_________________5________1%

IGN Scores\t
\t
>= 9.0____________________19_______4%
>= 8.0____________________136______25%
>= 7.0____________________240______45%

GameSpot Scores\t\t
>= 9.0____________________19_______4%
>= 8.0____________________130______24%
>= 7.0____________________255______47%

IGN & GS ave. Scores\t\t
>= 9.0____________________13_______2%
>= 8.0____________________106______20%
>= 7.0____________________174______32%

 

GamecubeMasterList.zip 65.5068359375k . file
mpjohnst is offline  
post #83 of 90 Old 04-04-2007, 05:51 PM
Member
 
metaleggman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just wanted to remind people that Star Wars Rogue Squadron 3: Rebel Stirke actually has Dobly Pro Logic IIx. 7.1 surround. Not sure if this matters, just thought it might be important to note.
metaleggman is offline  
post #84 of 90 Old 04-28-2007, 05:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GregLee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Waimanalo HI
Posts: 3,237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 159 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by GregLee View Post

I bought and tried Prisoner of Azkaban for the GC. Despite what the Nintendo magazine says, it's not 480p. Not widescreen, either.

I see in the database that Prisoner of Azkaban is still listed as 480p and 16:9.

Greg Lee
GregLee is online now  
post #85 of 90 Old 04-28-2007, 06:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GregLee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Waimanalo HI
Posts: 3,237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 159 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpjohnst View Post

I decided to combine your spreadsheet with mine so people can get an idea of how well reviewed a game is, not just whether it is wide/480p or not.

This is neat. Thanks. By the way, for those without MS Excel, like me, MS has a free viewer for Excel spreadsheets for XP.

Greg Lee
GregLee is online now  
post #86 of 90 Old 05-02-2007, 08:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mpjohnst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Happy to help.
mpjohnst is offline  
post #87 of 90 Old 11-08-2007, 01:51 PM
Newbie
 
RexIsGod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Awesome List. Seriously

I've got 5 corrections to the master list:
The following five games support progressive scan:
Fight Night Round 2
Prince of Persia: The Two Thrones
Naruto: Clash of Ninja
Naruto: Clash of Ninja 2
Spartan: Total Warrior

I have these games and have played them in pro-scan regularly.
Thanks again!
RexIsGod is offline  
post #88 of 90 Old 10-07-2008, 11:08 PM
Newbie
 
jumpmansbro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
the download link is broken. could you post another one please?
jumpmansbro is offline  
post #89 of 90 Old 10-08-2008, 08:47 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Naylia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,812
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Download link has been repaired, sorry about that guys. Tomorrow I'll go through and make sure it's up to date with the last dozen or so posts of info.
Naylia is offline  
post #90 of 90 Old 01-19-2009, 02:56 PM
Member
 
panzeroceania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was wondering if we could add a FPS (frames per second) column to the list as the difference between 15, 30, and 60 fps is very important to me.
panzeroceania is offline  
Reply Nintendo

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off