Wii Master Game List - 480p, 16x9 & Dolby PLII - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 217 Old 02-06-2007, 03:18 AM
Member
 
BoxInTheJack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have my Wii hooked up to my CRT monitor. I use the component cable and a component to VGA box, it really only rewires, so if you feed it a 480i signal the CRT will not be able to display it. On the monitor I can only play 480p games, which really sucks. I have to play anything 480i including my GC games on a small TV. ****s me up bad.
Thta's why I created a post looking for a TV, but seems there's not much in the way that I want.
BoxInTheJack is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 217 Old 02-08-2007, 10:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SpeedyHTPC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Milpitas, CA
Posts: 3,263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The president of Activision has said they will aggressively support the Nintendo Wii and will have some titles coming to it including Guitar Hero ..
SpeedyHTPC is offline  
post #93 of 217 Old 02-28-2007, 08:03 AM
Member
 
mrhoads43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Livonia, MI
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Where can I get some help on connecting my Wii to the internet?

Michael N Rhoads
mrhoads43 is offline  
post #94 of 217 Old 02-28-2007, 09:11 AM
Senior Member
 
JoshuaL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Not here. This thread is for discussion of what games support 480p, 16x9, and Dolby PLII. I'd recommend starting a new thread or, even better, searching the forum for other threads that discuss network connection problems.
JoshuaL is offline  
post #95 of 217 Old 02-28-2007, 03:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dagware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: So Cal
Posts: 1,238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
SSX Blur. Verified 480p and widescreen. After a quick look, I don't believe there are any black bars. If I see anything different after looking at it a while, I'll post again.

Edit: I take it back -- there are black vertical borders.

-Dan
dagware is offline  
post #96 of 217 Old 02-28-2007, 03:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
pacemaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
i am new to gaming but had a htpc for awhile
i have connected my wii to a z4 projector and a 110" screen and am very dissapointed with the PQ
wii sports looks ok as is cartoony but tried call of duty 3 and found it unplayable at this size
i am in pal land, the pj shows input as 575i 50hz for cod3
wii sports is 480p 60hz
is this because its a pal disk?
can i use an imported cod3 to get 480p? and will the pq be alot better?
cheers
pacemaker is offline  
post #97 of 217 Old 03-01-2007, 06:14 PM
Member
 
glewin73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone come up with any theories about what may be causing these underscan problems? Both of My EA games (Madden and SSX Blur) have it big time while my Nintendo games and the Sega game I got a week ago don't.

I was really hopeful after i picked up Sonic (it looks beautiful by the way) that it was a launch problem, but seeing it in SSX is really disappointing. I have a Toshiba 52hm95 DLP, so burn-in isn't an issue but it's really distracting to me and none of my picture modes seem to be any help.

Does anyone think that this is something that could be fixed with some sort of patch or are we HDTV owners just screwed on this issue?
glewin73 is offline  
post #98 of 217 Old 03-02-2007, 08:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dagware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: So Cal
Posts: 1,238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by glewin73 View Post

Does anyone think that this is something that could be fixed with some sort of patch or are we HDTV owners just screwed on this issue?

Well, screwed is kind of strong. Isn't 14x9 better than 4x3 (12x9)?

Yes, I think we're stuck with it.

-Dan
dagware is offline  
post #99 of 217 Old 03-03-2007, 09:59 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Naylia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,812
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Updated with SSX Blur and Tiger Woods Golf
Naylia is offline  
post #100 of 217 Old 03-03-2007, 01:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
FiveMillionWays's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 1,187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Pic quality is going to be bad as long as ur using an hd source. IMHO of course!
FiveMillionWays is offline  
post #101 of 217 Old 03-04-2007, 01:06 AM
Member
 
glewin73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dagware View Post

Well, screwed is kind of strong. Isn't 14x9 better than 4x3 (12x9)?

Usually I'd say yes, but I think the weird flag the Wii is sending my TV with that 14x9 signal is what's stopping me from stretching the image on my own, which is always what I did with my PS2 games. I can chose any of the four theater modes on my set and the bars are always there and the same exact size. It's the strangest thing I've seen on my TV. Thanks for answering though.
glewin73 is offline  
post #102 of 217 Old 03-08-2007, 02:19 PM
Member
 
ken007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My wife just got Trauma Center. It is 16X9. I cannot tell if it is 480p since my TV (Sony 70" XBR2) scales it to 1080p.
ken007 is offline  
post #103 of 217 Old 03-09-2007, 10:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
Tybee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Decatur, GA
Posts: 742
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ken007 View Post

My wife just got Trauma Center. It is 16X9. I cannot tell if it is 480p since my TV (Sony 70" XBR2) scales it to 1080p.

Trauma Center (alas) is not 16:9. You must be stretching it.
Tybee is offline  
post #104 of 217 Old 03-17-2007, 03:17 PM
LiK
Member
 
LiK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tybee View Post

Trauma Center (alas) is not 16:9. You must be stretching it.

agreed, it's 4:3 only and confirmed by many reviews from gaming sites. when your TV has the game in 16:9, all the characters are stretched and look blurrier. play it in 4:3 and you'll see how crisp the 2D characters look.
LiK is offline  
post #105 of 217 Old 04-06-2007, 08:38 PM
Member
 
natebomb503's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had a thought about adding whether or not the game needs a nunchuck to play on to the speadsheet. I know some games say you do but you really don't actually end up needing one. Just my 2 cents.

Nathan J. Bloch
natebomb503 is offline  
post #106 of 217 Old 04-11-2007, 09:44 AM
Senior Member
 
Caswell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Super Paper Mario:

DPLII, 480p, 16x9 w/ underscan.
Caswell is offline  
post #107 of 217 Old 04-11-2007, 10:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mkoesel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Canton, MI
Posts: 2,343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Caswell View Post

Super Paper Mario:

DPLII, 480p, 16x9 w/ underscan.

Yikes - first party titles with underscan now too

How much underscan are we talking about? Just a couple columns of pixels?
mkoesel is offline  
post #108 of 217 Old 04-13-2007, 07:20 PM
Newbie
 
darthpibe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by maniefrizzle View Post

nice data sheet. but two games that you have as widesceen does not fill up the screen on my lcd tv. madden 07and elebits is in 480p but have black side bars. but i find it strange that when i go to screen menu on madden it's locked in at 16:9.

zelda and wii sports is fine so i know it's not my tv. and i have super swing golf and it doesnt support widescreen but has 480p. i tried everything it wont fill up leaving with the black side boarders.


i have the same problem with super paper mario, the game is 16:9 and shows 2 side bars on the left & right, my tv is a samsung lcd 32", zelda & wii sports are fine also they dont have issues with sidebars
darthpibe is offline  
post #109 of 217 Old 04-14-2007, 02:49 PM
Newbie
 
CaptainDingBat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow I'm sad to hear that there is underscan on the Super Paper Mario. I have a couple of underscan games to add to the list.

Farcry
Avatar

Both of small vertical bars on the side.

Need for Speed Carbon does NOT have underscan.
CaptainDingBat is offline  
post #110 of 217 Old 04-15-2007, 12:18 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Naylia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,812
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Updated, both with information from here and elsewhere. Keep it coming.... Soon I'll go through the Nintendo website again and do an update. I'll probably give it another month of two of games coming out before I do that though.
Naylia is offline  
post #111 of 217 Old 04-15-2007, 12:42 PM
Newbie
 
darthpibe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptainDingBat View Post

Wow I'm sad to hear that there is underscan on the Super Paper Mario. I have a couple of underscan games to add to the list.

Farcry
Avatar

Both of small vertical bars on the side.

Need for Speed Carbon does NOT have underscan.

i hope resident evil 4 wii edition is not underscan
darthpibe is offline  
post #112 of 217 Old 04-15-2007, 01:29 PM
Newbie
 
CaptainDingBat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone play underscan wii games on a plasma? I'm thinking of selling my plasma just for this reason. Maybe I'm too paranoid.
CaptainDingBat is offline  
post #113 of 217 Old 04-16-2007, 09:38 AM
Senior Member
 
Caswell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkoesel View Post

Yikes - first party titles with underscan now too

How much underscan are we talking about? Just a couple columns of pixels?

I know, I was surprised (and disappointed) as well.

It's less than the 3rd party titles I've played like Red Steel. I'd say about half as much. It's noticable - this wasn't me with my nose to my display checking for it specifically, this was me about eight feet from my 42" plasma.
Caswell is offline  
post #114 of 217 Old 04-16-2007, 12:14 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Naylia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,812
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptainDingBat View Post

Does anyone play underscan wii games on a plasma? I'm thinking of selling my plasma just for this reason. Maybe I'm too paranoid.

I wouldn't expect the impact on the plasma to be much different from watching a 2.35:1 dvd. You may be too paranoid.
Naylia is offline  
post #115 of 217 Old 05-13-2007, 11:42 AM
Newbie
 
civlcivl388a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Great thread, thanks. I can confirm Medal of Honor: Vanguard as running in 480p and 16:9.
civlcivl388a is offline  
post #116 of 217 Old 05-29-2007, 07:19 AM
Senior Member
 
barb1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rakesh.S View Post

Man...the fact that this thread exists is a disappointment in itself

I couldn't agree more. I never thought Nintendo would allow a single game on the Wii to not support progressive or, at the very least, be in widescreen. Now they're even publishing them that way! Super Paper Mario is pillar-boxed. Does anyone know about upcoming games like Metroid and Mario and if they'll be full widescreen? I hate Nintendo for this.
barb1978 is offline  
post #117 of 217 Old 05-29-2007, 10:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
Tybee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Decatur, GA
Posts: 742
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I think referring to it as "pillarboxing" is taking things a bit far. It's not like you're watching 4:3 for Pete's sake. It's just a bit of underscan. Yes, it's annoying, but I have to actively make myself look for it to really notice it. It's still widescreen.
Tybee is offline  
post #118 of 217 Old 05-29-2007, 10:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mkoesel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Canton, MI
Posts: 2,343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tybee View Post

I think referring to it as "pillarboxing" is taking things a bit far. It's not like you're watching 4:3 for Pete's sake. It's just a bit of underscan. Yes, it's annoying, but I have to actively make myself look for it to really notice it. It's still widescreen.

It is, by definition, pillarboxing. Black bars at sides of screen = pillarboxing. The OAR of the content is not a factor in the definition.

But I do agree that it needn't be a major annoyance. The main thing is if you have a plasma or CRT then you have those nagging concerns about burn in. With games that fill the screen, you don't have to worry. In my case I have size/position controls so I just stretch the picture a little to get rid of the underscan.
mkoesel is offline  
post #119 of 217 Old 05-30-2007, 01:53 AM
Senior Member
 
barb1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tybee View Post

I think referring to it as "pillarboxing" is taking things a bit far. It's not like you're watching 4:3 for Pete's sake. It's just a bit of underscan. Yes, it's annoying, but I have to actively make myself look for it to really notice it. It's still widescreen.

If it doesn't fill the screen, it isn't "widescreen" so quit justifying this garbage. PS2 games do the same "semi-widescreen" thing. But the PS2 is nearly a decade old. There's no excuse for the "next-gen" Wii to pull this crap. And I have a plasma screen and don't care for uneven aging or burn-in because Nintendo is too CHEAP to make their "next-gen" games work appropriately for ALL gamers. This wasn't a cheap console. It was $250. I paid only $50 more for my 360 which is all widescreen and, as far as I'm concerned, a much better console because MS doesn't live in the distant past. I don't make exceptions for companies that want to antiquate themselves, like Nintendo apparently does. And if this doesn't change, the Wii is a thing of the past. I'd stick with this console at 480p. I'd stick with it with last-gen graphics. But if it can't fill my screen? That's where I pack it up and return it to the store.
barb1978 is offline  
post #120 of 217 Old 05-31-2007, 09:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
Tybee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Decatur, GA
Posts: 742
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by barb1978 View Post

If it doesn't fill the screen, it isn't "widescreen" so quit justifying this garbage. PS2 games do the same "semi-widescreen" thing. But the PS2 is nearly a decade old. There's no excuse for the "next-gen" Wii to pull this crap. And I have a plasma screen and don't care for uneven aging or burn-in because Nintendo is too CHEAP to make their "next-gen" games work appropriately for ALL gamers. This wasn't a cheap console. It was $250. I paid only $50 more for my 360 which is all widescreen and, as far as I'm concerned, a much better console because MS doesn't live in the distant past. I don't make exceptions for companies that want to antiquate themselves, like Nintendo apparently does. And if this doesn't change, the Wii is a thing of the past. I'd stick with this console at 480p. I'd stick with it with last-gen graphics. But if it can't fill my screen? That's where I pack it up and return it to the store.

And the 50 people waiting there for one will be very happy to see you.
Tybee is offline  
Reply Nintendo

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off