Wii HDMI? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 98 Old 01-27-2007, 03:42 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sirtiger55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know Ps3 and Xbox360 can be connected through HDMI for better quality. Can the Wii too?
sirtiger55 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 98 Old 01-27-2007, 03:54 PM
Senior Member
 
Bgnome's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
nope. the wii does not have any digital outputs available.
Bgnome is offline  
post #3 of 98 Old 01-27-2007, 04:19 PM
Senior Member
 
DLPORLCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sirtiger55 View Post

I know Ps3 and Xbox360 can be connected through HDMI for better quality. Can the Wii too?

That is not true. The 360 does not have a HDMI output. There are rumors that Microsoft will come out with a new 360 that has HDMI output, but there is no proof that they will yet.

Format Neutral. Living in HD bliss with the A1, A30and PS3.
DLPORLCD is offline  
post #4 of 98 Old 01-27-2007, 07:36 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
ogbuehi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 4,044
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Won't happen just because it's really not necessary for 480p.
ogbuehi is offline  
post #5 of 98 Old 01-27-2007, 11:43 PM
Member
 
claf-43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Exactly, theirs no reason whatsoever for it
claf-43 is offline  
post #6 of 98 Old 01-28-2007, 02:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BASHERS33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Eh, maybe it could still support even 480P a little better though? But probably wouldn't be worth their time.

Got Talk (general discussion forum - someone add product reviews)

Got Zelda
BASHERS33 is offline  
post #7 of 98 Old 01-28-2007, 06:45 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
ogbuehi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 4,044
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Digital connections were designed to allow a "secure" method of transmitting HD signals among some other things. 480p isn't HD so there's no need for it.
ogbuehi is offline  
post #8 of 98 Old 01-28-2007, 03:27 PM
Senior Member
 
Gnafu the Great's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Wisconsin Rapids, WI, USA
Posts: 404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you do want HDMI to your display, you could purchase one of the many component-to-HDMI upconverting A/V receivers that are hitting the market. But like everyone's said, it's not really necessary for a clean transmission of 480p.
Gnafu the Great is offline  
post #9 of 98 Old 01-30-2007, 10:41 AM
Member
 
Caliko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was thinking of getting a new receiver because I need a new one, with HDMI upconversion(whatever that really means) as an added bonus. If Wii only outputs to 480p would it really be worth it?? Would there be a difference in quality??

From what i read here it seems like it wouldn't, I just wanna make sure before I buy it...
Caliko is offline  
post #10 of 98 Old 01-30-2007, 10:59 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
ogbuehi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 4,044
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You may or may not notice a difference based on what receiver you choose. You would have to check in the receivers forums to see if anybody notices the upconverting capabilities of a particular reciever. You may be shelling out some dough for it though.
ogbuehi is offline  
post #11 of 98 Old 01-30-2007, 11:10 AM
Member
 
Caliko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ogbuehi View Post

You may or may not notice a difference based on what receiver you choose. You would have to check in the receivers forums to see if anybody notices the upconverting capabilities of a particular reciever. You may be shelling out some dough for it though.

thanx for replying. Yeah my current receiver isn't too great so I was thinking of getting a $700 (clearance) receiver with "HDMI Upconversion"(whatever that REALLY means). I'm just wondering if its worth it, if not, I can still upgrade my receiver with a 300 dollar one.
Caliko is offline  
post #12 of 98 Old 01-30-2007, 02:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
toneman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Northern California
Posts: 772
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Caliko View Post

thanx for replying. Yeah my current receiver isn't too great so I was thinking of getting a $700 (clearance) receiver with "HDMI Upconversion"(whatever that REALLY means). I'm just wondering if its worth it, if not, I can still upgrade my receiver with a 300 dollar one.

I'm pretty sure it means that your receiver can accept the various different kinds of video input connectors (e.g., composite RCA, S-video, component, HDMI) from multiple sources, and have those signals output from the receiver via HDMI out. IOW--no need for all those matching video cables for whatever corresponding output you need for your input sources...one HDMI output on your receiver will take care of your video source switching needs!

Tony
toneman is offline  
post #13 of 98 Old 01-31-2007, 01:12 PM
Senior Member
 
Gnafu the Great's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Wisconsin Rapids, WI, USA
Posts: 404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Also, there are two kinds of upconverting receivers. Cheaper ones (under $1,000) just transcode the signal to the HDMI output, keeping the original resolution (usually done as 480i for composite/S-video and anywhere from 480i-1080i on component), whereas slightly more expensive ones (getting up above $1,000) will actually upconvert the input signals to 720p, 1080i, or even 1080p. If you get a good receiver, this can make DVD and other standard resolution sources look better than if you just let your high definition TV do the upconverting. So if you can afford it, maybe look into one that can actually upconvert to 720p or 1080i (or even 1080p on the newest ones), as it might offer better quality than just feeding a 480i/p signal to your TV and letting it do the conversion.
Gnafu the Great is offline  
post #14 of 98 Old 01-31-2007, 01:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Megalith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,658
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Ahahaha. You'll likely have to wait for Nintendo's 10th generation console before they incorporate HDMI.

The damn thing doesn't even have optical out.
Megalith is online now  
post #15 of 98 Old 01-31-2007, 02:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NewNameGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: 1060 W Addison, Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any reason to believe that the upconverting circuitry in the receiver would be better than in the TV?
NewNameGuy is offline  
post #16 of 98 Old 01-31-2007, 06:02 PM
Member
 
mthird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Over in the audio forum there are quite a few threads that talk about the scalars and deinterlacers in the newest AVR's. Aside from the Anthem, they are all rather poor scalars when compared to dedicated video processors. Of course you are asking for $2000 VP from a $1200 AVR.

The HDMI upconversion feature works well for eliminating cables from your AVR to your display. The scalar in most displays is a check-off item that most manufacturers don't seem to put much effort into (witness how poor SD signals look on HD displays). There is good news though, the Realta chip is gaining traction in the CE space so we may see inexpensive VP's, HD displays, and AVR's incorporate quality scaling in the next 18 months.

In the meantime I bought a Marantz SR-7100. It only does upconversion, but it does it well.
mthird is offline  
post #17 of 98 Old 02-04-2007, 04:09 PM
Senior Member
 
paddlefoot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ogbuehi View Post

Digital connections were designed to allow a "secure" method of transmitting HD signals among some other things. 480p isn't HD so there's no need for it.

This is the only reason why I think its possible for Nintendo to do something with HDMI. Nintendo has always been big on cracking down on piracy.
paddlefoot is offline  
post #18 of 98 Old 02-04-2007, 04:20 PM
Member
 
jaask's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No need for HDMI imo when not outputting HD.
jaask is offline  
post #19 of 98 Old 02-04-2007, 07:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kylebisme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,084
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
.
kylebisme is offline  
post #20 of 98 Old 02-04-2007, 08:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SirDrexl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 4,133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by paddlefoot View Post

This is the only reason why I think its possible for Nintendo to do something with HDMI. Nintendo has always been big on cracking down on piracy.

Yeah, but that kind of "piracy" is a completely different thing. What Nintendo would be concerned about is copies of the data on the discs, not capturing the video stream from the console.
SirDrexl is offline  
post #21 of 98 Old 02-11-2007, 08:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
wired1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
My best friend just got back from Japan with an HDMI cable for the wii. It was $20 US over there. He bought it at some HUGE store (like the equivalent of Nintendo store in NYC) and he says it works great!

I will ask him the name of the place (if he remembers) so that if they have a website or mail order, people can get a hold of them.


Play nice. It's just an online forum :)
wired1 is offline  
post #22 of 98 Old 02-11-2007, 01:10 PM
Senior Member
 
Bgnome's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thats really funny since there has been no indication of the av out on the wii even outputting digital. i think someone is pulling your leg..
Bgnome is offline  
post #23 of 98 Old 02-12-2007, 08:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
dark1x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 869
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wired1 View Post

My best friend just got back from Japan with an HDMI cable for the wii. It was $20 US over there. He bought it at some HUGE store (like the equivalent of Nintendo store in NYC) and he says it works great!

I will ask him the name of the place (if he remembers) so that if they have a website or mail order, people can get a hold of them.


That doesn't exist.

Perhaps he is talking about a D-Terminal cable? Japanese televisions often use a d-terminal connection rather than component (different cable, same quality). Having lived in Japan myself, I've had to deal with these cables quite a bit.

The only possible method to achieve HDMI output on a Wii would be through the usage of a 3rd party converter device/scaler of some sort. This would function with any device, however, and certainly wouldn't be a Wii specific product. There would be absolutely no NEED for HDMI on the Wii either as it is limited to 480p and the typical video output is already fairly poor (completely unrelated to the quality of the cables).
dark1x is offline  
post #24 of 98 Old 01-05-2008, 11:18 PM
Senior Member
 
tingshen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
is 480p the maximum video output from Wii? not even 720p?

how's the output on a 1080p panel?
tingshen is offline  
post #25 of 98 Old 01-07-2008, 11:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bbexperience's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Jackson, MI
Posts: 2,667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by tingshen View Post

is 480p the maximum video output from Wii? not even 720p?

how's the output on a 1080p panel?

Yes, 480p is the best it will do. As to how it looks on a 1080p screen, that depends on the scaling of the device you've got the Wii going in to (TV, receiver, etc.). Generally it looks decent, with a few titles looking not so great.

Read. Think. Post. In that order, preferably

"If the Playstation and Xbox are like the Bloods and the Crips, then the Wii is whatever gang Sha Na Na was in" - Christian Finnegan
bbexperience is offline  
post #26 of 98 Old 01-08-2008, 03:11 AM
Senior Member
 
tingshen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
is the 480p based on 4:3 ratio or 16:9?
tingshen is offline  
post #27 of 98 Old 01-08-2008, 09:36 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 117
My sony vw200 plays the wii nicely. No complaints here. Same with my 360. Oh wait that uses HDMI and sends it out already at 1080p... Anyway, the wii looks fine on my 120.5" screen...

For my latest Reviews and Stuff google -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com
Check out my Dolby Atmos/Surround first take:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1409517748063
joerod is offline  
post #28 of 98 Old 01-08-2008, 10:02 AM
Member
 
natebomb503's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tingshen View Post

is the 480p based on 4:3 ratio or 16:9?

Correct me if I'm wrong but I think it's based on the 16:9 ratio.

Nathan J. Bloch
natebomb503 is offline  
post #29 of 98 Old 01-08-2008, 11:01 AM
D96
Senior Member
 
D96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I love and own a Wii, but this is my only real gripe with it, I really wish Nintendo would have made this thing 720p capable. All the more reason to own the Wii along with another console I suppose.
D96 is offline  
post #30 of 98 Old 01-08-2008, 11:14 AM
Member
 
wickedmpulse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Once you start cramming more technology into the Wii (HDMI outputs), it starts to the drive the price up. One of the biggest reasons that it's been such a big seller is that it's much cheaper than other consoles.
wickedmpulse is offline  
Reply Nintendo

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off