Classic Controller and GC games - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 01-30-2007, 03:23 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Stryker412's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ocean County, NJ
Posts: 4,517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I bought Rogue Leader and the classic controller. When starting the game I get no response from the CC. Do I need to do anything to initialize the controller?
Stryker412 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 Old 01-30-2007, 03:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
FrankJ.Cone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 7,969
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Its a travesty to make people use the GC contoller but you cannot use the classic. The Wii is in "GC mode" when you use GC games.

Frank J. Cone

XBox Live / Steam: FCONE

Please do not form any opinion of the content of this post, it is still in BETA.

FrankJ.Cone is offline  
post #3 of 15 Old 01-30-2007, 03:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
rlundy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Petersburg FL
Posts: 509
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
To Play GC games you have to have a GC controller (live a wavebird wireless) and a memory card for your saves.

All these controllers are my big gripe-ends up costing almost as much as a 360-and I have a 360 already too! Lots of controllers lying around-4 X360, 4 wiimotes, 2 nunchucks, one classic controller, 2 wavebirds. May get two more wavebirds, I really enjoy some of the GC games (never had a GC and the games are cheap on ebay!).

DirecTV + Antenna + 3 Locations = 325 feet of quad shield RG6. AARRGGHH!
rlundy is offline  
post #4 of 15 Old 01-30-2007, 04:15 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Stryker412's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ocean County, NJ
Posts: 4,517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Are you serious!? I just wasted money on the classic controller?
Stryker412 is offline  
post #5 of 15 Old 01-31-2007, 04:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
rcavictor1956's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio/Aguadilla, Puerto Rico
Posts: 867
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stryker412 View Post

Are you serious!? I just wasted money on the classic controller?


You do not plan on downloading any classic games?

"You know Andy....I never thought our town would come to this....Mayberry....Gateway to danger.

Barney Fife
rcavictor1956 is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 01-31-2007, 05:50 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Stryker412's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ocean County, NJ
Posts: 4,517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcavictor1956 View Post

You do not plan on downloading any classic games?

Not right now no, there's nothing on there that would make me want to pay the prices they're asking.
Stryker412 is offline  
post #7 of 15 Old 01-31-2007, 06:10 AM
Member
 
KristByrne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You should have read the manual.
KristByrne is offline  
post #8 of 15 Old 01-31-2007, 06:11 AM
Senior Member
 
Bgnome's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
return the classic controller and put it towards a wavebird. you can use the wavebird for gc and vc games.
Bgnome is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 01-31-2007, 07:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jamis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I actually like the GC controller for the VC games (at least MK64.. )
jamis is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 01-31-2007, 07:09 AM
Member
 
appaws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Kalamazoo, MI.
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wait, I have not bought a cube game yet...

are you telling me that you have to have a gamecube memory card, and that the internal memory and SD cards won't work? What a lot of crap!
appaws is offline  
post #11 of 15 Old 01-31-2007, 09:24 AM
Senior Member
 
GI JELLO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 341
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by appaws View Post

Wait, I have not bought a cube game yet...

are you telling me that you have to have a gamecube memory card, and that the internal memory and SD cards won't work? What a lot of crap!

You need a GC memory card to save GC games. The internal memory & SD cards can only be used for Wii and VC games.
GI JELLO is offline  
post #12 of 15 Old 01-31-2007, 09:33 AM
Senior Member
 
Caswell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by appaws View Post

Wait, I have not bought a cube game yet...

are you telling me that you have to have a gamecube memory card, and that the internal memory and SD cards won't work? What a lot of crap!

Yup. I completely agree with you as well, despite having plenty of GameCube memory cards (2x 251 block, 1x 1019 block). It'd be nice to be able to save to internal memory or SD.

As far as the classic controller goes, I bought my first one last night and only plan on using it for 16-bit titles or as a 4th controller for N64 games (have three GCN controllers). My wife and I both played MK64 with it for a bit last night, and both of us preferred the Wavebird.
Caswell is offline  
post #13 of 15 Old 01-31-2007, 10:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SpeedyHTPC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Milpitas, CA
Posts: 3,263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think big N hired some ex-Commodore engineers. God how this Wii can play GC games remind me of how they sold the C-128 as C-64 compatible and I quote "what a lot of crap!".
SpeedyHTPC is offline  
post #14 of 15 Old 01-31-2007, 10:18 AM
Senior Member
 
Caswell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I guess for those of you who skipped the GCN it's a pain. I've noticed Wavebirds and memory cards have been virtually non-existant on the used accessory pegs at my local GameStop since the Wii launched.

For those of us who owned a GCN it's just a small inconveinence to keep our Wavebirds and cards around. I've been thrilled with the perfect BC aspect of the Wii. Yes, being able to ditch the GCN cards for internal memory / SD cards would have been nice, but I'd rather have flawless BC.
Caswell is offline  
post #15 of 15 Old 01-31-2007, 07:27 PM
Member
 
Qualitysnob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Richwood, OH, USA
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I never had a GCN, so this has been a nice bonus for me. Right now, we play more Gamecube titles than Wii. I embraced this functionality from the beginning, buying a Wavebird controller and memory card on eBay, along with a few Gamecube titles. There are tons of great GCN games and can be had for cheap (cheaper than VC games in some cases). Forget about using the crippled Classic Controller; go buy a Wavebird at Target or WalMart or Best Buy or one of many game shops. They're only $24 ~ $30 and work perfectly with the Wii.

We can stage a runaway golf cart marathon!
Qualitysnob is offline  
Reply Nintendo

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off