Wii Compatible Routers - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 30 Old 02-06-2007, 05:49 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mcarper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: South TX
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am looking for a good router for my little bro to use with the satellite internet my folks just ordered. I figured I would start the thread with the router I use and settings that I put it on to work with the Wii. I am especially interested to see the success with Linksys routers as that is the brand the internet company said works best with their service. Thanks for the input. Here is mine:

Router: Microsoft MN-700
Channel: 11
Mode: b/g
mcarper is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 30 Old 02-06-2007, 09:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
temeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I use a belkin wireless g router and it works fine with my wii. I just had to input the SSID into the Wii menu and it connected right away with all the other settings as default.
temeone is offline  
post #3 of 30 Old 02-07-2007, 06:14 AM
Senior Member
 
Caswell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I use a Netgear WGR614 802.11g router. Works great with the Wii despite a few challenges; SSID broadcast is turned off, MAC filtering is on, 128-bit WEP enabled (I know, I should be using WPA), and the signal in my living room is relatively weak.

I've heard reports of the Wii not liking some routers operating in mixed b/g mode. No problems with that here.

They're dirt cheap at any big box store, but I'd consider them a throwaway router based simply on the fact that the antenna isn't replaceable.
Caswell is offline  
post #4 of 30 Old 02-07-2007, 06:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
Todd Scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Posts: 770
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Linksys WRT54G works great too. Using WPA. The router is about 15' away from the Wii, on the same level.
Todd Scott is offline  
post #5 of 30 Old 02-07-2007, 10:53 AM
Member
 
eeebee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N gigabit wireless router, running on mixed mode. Works great with the Wii... had no trouble at all configuring the Wii to get it to connect to the router. Also had no problem at all connecting with my PS3. Using WPA,
eeebee is offline  
post #6 of 30 Old 02-07-2007, 11:00 AM
Member
 
spoooon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Like temeone, I'm using a Belkin Wireless G, I think in mixed mode, channel 11, WPA. I just entered the SSID and password and was good to go.
spoooon is offline  
post #7 of 30 Old 02-07-2007, 11:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
squidboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Aurora, CO
Posts: 833
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
D-Link DGL-4300. One of the best routers on the market, and works great with the Wii.
squidboy is offline  
post #8 of 30 Old 02-07-2007, 12:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
QuadESL63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,069
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Todd Scott View Post

Linksys WRT54G works great too. Using WPA. The router is about 15' away from the Wii, on the same level.

I have the same 802.11g router from Linksys. Works fine with the Wii (and PS3 60GB, iMac, PSP, DS, etc.)
QuadESL63 is offline  
post #9 of 30 Old 02-07-2007, 01:28 PM
Senior Member
 
aC39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 409
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by QuadESL63 View Post

I have the same 802.11g router from Linksys. Works fine with the Wii (and PS3 60GB, iMac, PSP, DS, etc.)

++ WRT54G in mixed mode works great
aC39 is offline  
post #10 of 30 Old 02-07-2007, 06:29 PM
Senior Member
 
Kil4Thril's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
D Link 624+

will work for sushi
Kil4Thril is offline  
post #11 of 30 Old 02-07-2007, 09:06 PM
Member
 
Revolution2006's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I hope it works on your satellite internet because I tried using my DS at my friend's house that had WiFi with a satellite internet and it was way too slow and kept having disconnection errors. Not to freak you out or anything......I hope it works!
Revolution2006 is offline  
post #12 of 30 Old 02-08-2007, 04:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
wokisan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Lynchburg, VA : Da LBC
Posts: 525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Linksys WRT54GS in mixed mode works great. The Wii would not connect to the network in 'g-only' mode.

Wokisan
AVS / AGE
wokisan is offline  
post #13 of 30 Old 02-08-2007, 04:43 AM
Senior Member
 
mcmushx15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 415
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wokisan View Post

Linksys WRT54GS in mixed mode works great. The Wii would not connect to the network in 'g-only' mode.


yup..must be in mixed
mcmushx15 is offline  
post #14 of 30 Old 02-08-2007, 04:59 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mcarper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: South TX
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Revolution2006 View Post

I hope it works on your satellite internet because I tried using my DS at my friend's house that had WiFi with a satellite internet and it was way too slow and kept having disconnection errors. Not to freak you out or anything......I hope it works!


I think it is due to the lag time that comes with satelitte internet. All he wants it for is to download games and such, not for online gameplay. We already know this is a no go.
mcarper is offline  
post #15 of 30 Old 02-08-2007, 10:08 AM
Newbie
 
blusky75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm using a Linksys WRT300N Wireless Draft N router (streaming videos to my 360's Media Center Extender interface is a bandwidth hog - couldn't wait for the N draft to finalize any longer). Got 802.11b and g backwards compat turned on. Router is configured with WPA2 encryption. The wii talks to the router without any problems
blusky75 is offline  
post #16 of 30 Old 02-08-2007, 06:41 PM
Member
 
nevets72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've got a Wildblue sat connection along with a Wii. The weather channel, news channel, and Internet channel work fine, but the shop channel only connects about 1 in 3 tries. I think the shop channel may use a variation of the Https protocol and that is what causes the problem, Wildblue messed with there mojo in November, and since then Https sites tend to timeout more then Http sites.

As far as a router, I use a Belkin pre-N one, but I don't think they make it any more.

Hope that helps,

John
nevets72 is offline  
post #17 of 30 Old 02-08-2007, 07:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
epsilon72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: AZ
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by squidboy View Post

D-Link DGL-4300. One of the best routers on the market, and works great with the Wii.

I second that.
epsilon72 is offline  
post #18 of 30 Old 02-14-2007, 09:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
jmystikcfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 526
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I use a Linksys WRTSL54GS in mixed mode. WPA-TKIP w/SSID broadcast turned on and a really long network key. Aside from having to type in that really long network key, it worked like a charm. Found the network without me having to type in the SSID or anything! I'll be changing it soon to WEP so I can use my DS WiFi too.
jmystikcfl is offline  
post #19 of 30 Old 02-16-2007, 12:18 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mcarper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: South TX
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevets72 View Post

I've got a Wildblue sat connection along with a Wii. The weather channel, news channel, and Internet channel work fine, but the shop channel only connects about 1 in 3 tries. I think the shop channel may use a variation of the Https protocol and that is what causes the problem, Wildblue messed with there mojo in November, and since then Https sites tend to timeout more then Http sites.

As far as a router, I use a Belkin pre-N one, but I don't think they make it any more.

Hope that helps,

John


Thanks for the input. I hope we can get the shop channel working for him with wildblue. I will be setting it up for him at the end of March when I go visit.
mcarper is offline  
post #20 of 30 Old 02-16-2007, 06:34 PM
Member
 
nevets72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Your welcome,

I will tell you that it has gotten better, I did switch the router to channel 11 (as apposed to 1) and now I can get on the shop channel about 1 in 2, or maybe even 2 out of 3 tries. When you try and connect, wait 5-8 minutes, and if it doesn't go just shut it off (at the Wii, the remote won't work) wait 30 sec. and try again.

As you well know, the fun of the Wii is not in downloading games, but playing them after you have. Hope your brother enjoys.

John
nevets72 is offline  
post #21 of 30 Old 02-16-2007, 07:28 PM
Member
 
Mini123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
BEFW11S4 doesn't really work for me. It connects during the test, but the update always fails with the 32002 error.

"Although I am already in my pyjamas."
Mini123 is offline  
post #22 of 30 Old 06-26-2008, 08:17 PM
Newbie
 
caible's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not sure where this post needs to be, but I noticed there was a closed forum about hacking the wii sensor bar. There is now a wireless sensor bar available that runs on 4 AA's. It connects the same way the remotes do to the wii. I set mine near my center channel and it works perfectly with my projector. Just wanted to let everyone know.
caible is offline  
post #23 of 30 Old 06-27-2008, 07:18 AM
Newbie
 
bearybear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i went to best buy, spent $45 and got the DYNEX. its wi-fi compatible so picked it up. i did it also cause my son loves mario kart.
bearybear is offline  
post #24 of 30 Old 06-28-2008, 06:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GregLee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Waimanalo HI
Posts: 3,237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 159 Post(s)
Liked: 77
My phone company supplies a wireless router-modem, a Westell 327W, with my DSL subscription (3000kbps down). I have it set up to broadcast its SSID, use 64-bit WEP encoding, and to use MAC address filtering. The Wii detected the SSID, and as soon as I supplied the WEP key to the Wii and added its MAC address to the table in the router, it worked fine. No problem with the Internet or Shopping channels.

Greg Lee
GregLee is offline  
post #25 of 30 Old 06-28-2008, 08:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dp70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 1,231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a D-Link DIR-655 pre-N router, set to WPA2 and non-broadcasting SSID, and it's working fine with the Wii (at G rates, of course).

By the way, that "wireless" Wii sensor bar is only wireless in that it runs on batteries. It doesn't transmit anything. "Sensor bar" is kind of a misnomer, since all a Wii 'sensor' bar provides is two points of infrared light for little cameras in the Wii-motes to see. The cost of parts on the wireless sensor bar is under $3, so it sold at a huge profit to both Nyko and the retailers. With that said, it IS a pretty handy product.
dp70 is offline  
post #26 of 30 Old 06-30-2008, 03:42 PM
Member
 
Wagon Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: WA
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have Linksys WRT54GL, but unlike other who use WRT54GS, I use G-Only mode, and I can connects to the web without any issue
Wagon Man is offline  
post #27 of 30 Old 02-25-2011, 07:49 AM
Newbie
 
panda349's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by eeebee View Post

I have the D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N gigabit wireless router, running on mixed mode. Works great with the Wii... had no trouble at all configuring the Wii to get it to connect to the router. Also had no problem at all connecting with my PS3. Using WPA,

i have a dlink dir 655 router and i am having problems getting internet connection to my wii. i went to dlink forums for help and i did everything everyone told me to do but still cant get connected to the internet through the wii. i changed settings on the router to mixed, wpa2 only and aes. i dont have a wep security key which the wii keeps asking for. is there something else i should change on router settings. any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
panda349 is offline  
post #28 of 30 Old 03-01-2011, 07:43 PM
Newbie
 
Dan Bernet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have Linksys WRT54GL, but unlike other who use WRT54GS, I use G-Only mode, and I can connects to the web without any issue


ps3 controller
ps3 dualshock 3 controller
ps3 wireless controller
Dan Bernet is offline  
post #29 of 30 Old 03-02-2011, 07:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jwebb1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Visalia, CA
Posts: 8,338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 35
http://www.netgear.com/home/products...y/WNR2000.aspx

Netgear WNR2000 has worked well with everything in the house, incl 3 WiFi products (Wii, iPod Touch & Kindle) utilizing the wireless @ the same time

Money does not buy happiness. It can, however, buy you a giant boat that you can pull up alongside happiness. - David Lee Roth

jwebb1970 is offline  
post #30 of 30 Old 03-17-2011, 06:23 PM
Member
 
Photokid1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Bernet View Post

I have Linksys WRT54GL, but unlike other who use WRT54GS, I use G-Only mode, and I can connects to the web without any issue


ps3 controller
ps3 dualshock 3 controller
ps3 wireless controller

G-only? I can't get my Wii to see my Linksys E-3000 unless I put the 2.4 channel in mixed mode. The Nintendo channel shows were stuttering really bad when I did that. So I connected a D-Link 655 and set that at B-only. The E3000 has a 5 Ghz N-only channel and a 2.4 Ghz G-only channel.

Now my 5 Ghz N-only channel is great, but my 2.4 Ghz channel suffers really bad with slow speeds. Charter came and said I shouldn't connect two wireless routers together and I should stick with just the Linksys. I wish the DS/Wii/PSP would accept G speeds so I could stop this madness!
Photokid1970 is offline  
Reply Nintendo

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off