Newbie here - need your help to buy my first console. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 15 Old 10-16-2007, 11:35 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

I want to buy a game console for my nephew who will be 6 years old in december. I have been told to get the Wii, as this has the best games for a six years old kid. Play Station is the other I am considering, but games seem to be best suited for older boys (too much violence for the youngest)

The game consoles (PS, 360 and Wii) are expensive in my country, but a friend of mine could buy in Panama and bring it to me. As this would be a "one time opportunity", I need to know what to buy, which extras/accesories and games, so that I can buy them all to take fully adventage of this opportunity.

I appreciate your advise to help me choose what I need.

My questions:

1. I would like your confirmation/comments about Wii being the best option for a 6yr kid.

2. The Wii can be connected to the TV via component, composite or S-video. Is there any clear adventage of component over the other two?

3. Would it be much better to use the Wii with a 26-32" LCD tv, compared with a "normal" 27 tv? Is there a big difference?

4. I believe the Wii includes one Remote and one Nunchuk - please confirm if this is so.
Do I need to buy one extra Remote and one extra Nunchuck for multi player games? Or this will be a waste of money? Appreciate your comments.

5. Should I buy extra battery and/or battery charger for the remote? Which ones to buy?

6. Any other accesory that I should buy?

7. Last: which are the better games for young kids (6-7 yrs) ?

Thanks for your help.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 Old 10-16-2007, 11:51 AM
AVS Special Member

1. I would like your confirmation/comments about Wii being the best option for a 6yr kid.