Wii Hookup to a TV with Coax Only - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 12-05-2007, 09:05 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
3Aims's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am looking to hook up a Wii to a 32inch tv that only has a coax input. No composite video, no s-video, no component, no audio inputs either.

I'm lost. Can anyone help?
3Aims is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 12-05-2007, 09:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
Rhoq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 717
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You can buy an RF Modulator from Radio Shack.
Rhoq is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 12-05-2007, 11:24 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
3Aims's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you thik the picture quality will suffer a bunch?
3Aims is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 12-05-2007, 11:28 AM
Senior Member
 
Lighting Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Berea, OH
Posts: 346
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Since the tv isn't HD anyway, it probably won't suffer a lot.
Lighting Guy is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 12-05-2007, 11:49 AM
 
bkchurch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,801
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 40xbr700_Owner View Post

Do you thik the picture quality will suffer a bunch?

On a TV that doesn't even have composite inputs I don't think PQ should be a huge concern for you.
bkchurch is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 12-05-2007, 12:32 PM
Member
 
RyokoYaksa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The picture quality will be noticeably worse than composite, but I wouldn't sweat it.
RyokoYaksa is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 12-05-2007, 06:37 PM
 
darklordjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 93
If the TV has no input aside from coax, that means one fo two things. It is either of such low quality that you have far larger image quality issues than how the Wii signal is getting to it, or that the TV is so old that no matter how good it used to be it is so far out of whack calibration-wise that it's degraded performance is the main issue.
darklordjames is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 12-06-2007, 06:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
getme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Uh go to Wal-Mart and spend $100 on a TV, if you can't do that then you probably should have bought groceries or paid your utility bill bill BEFORE you bought a Wii.

the arrogance of officialdom should be tempered and controlled... People must again learn to work, instead of living on public assistance. Cicero , 55 BC
getme is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 12-06-2007, 07:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Leo_Ames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,396
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 201
"If the TV has no input aside from coax, that means one fo two things. It is either of such low quality that you have far larger image quality issues than how the Wii signal is getting to it, or that the TV is so old that no matter how good it used to be it is so far out of whack calibration-wise that it's degraded performance is the main issue."

Stop being a idiot, not everyone has to game on a 50" $5000 hdtv thats replaced biannually like some of the people here. I've seen plenty of CRT's dating back to the 70s that are used even now by people that offer pretty good picture quality if you don't mind hooking up something by coaxial connections.

Its only been fairly recently where low end CRT's even had composite inputs as standard, it wasn't very long ago that coaxial was basically the standard.

I've never noticed a huge leap between RF boxes and composite when the RF box is in good working order, sadly they always seemed prone to interfance and degradation pretty quickly for me which is why I'd suggest you avoid it if you could, even if it means hooking up a 2$ thrift store VCR to this tv so you could hook the Wii up to the VCR via composite, then coaxial to the tv. Would help a little bit.

"Uh go to Wal-Mart and spend $100 on a TV, if you can't do that then you probably should have bought groceries or paid your utility bill bill BEFORE you bought a Wii."

Buying a new tv because some AVS user things people should be executed at dawn the day after buying a new console without a new tv to go along with it is stupid, leave the guy alone.
Leo_Ames is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 12-06-2007, 07:44 AM
Senior Member
 
crownvic96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 276
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Maybe its for a 2nd or 3rd tv or its going to someone else's house for a weekend. If i'm watching football or playing the 360 my g/f brings the wii into her spare room in the house which just has an old 19" tv with coax and a rf modulator.

I think some people are just jumping to conclucions too quickly.
crownvic96 is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 12-06-2007, 11:35 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
3Aims's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the help. I bought a RF from newegg a few days ago. As it relates to the tv, it works fine and is in our gameroom which is used by my two young boys. The tv is big and can take a beating, which it does everyday. That's why I want to use it. A LCD or plasma would not last two days in that room.

I have a full time media room that cost me more than the cars most people drive so I'm not poor, just practical. I can only imagine what the Wii would look like on my 134 inch screen.

Thanks again.
3Aims is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 12-06-2007, 07:02 PM
Member
 
fookes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3Aims View Post

Thanks for the help. I bought a RF from newegg a few days ago. As it relates to the tv, it works fine and is in our gameroom which is used by my two young boys. The tv is big and can take a beating, which it does everyday. That's why I want to use it. A LCD or plasma would not last two days in that room.

I have a full time media room that cost me more than the cars most people drive so I'm not poor, just practical. I can only imagine what the Wii would look like on my 134 inch screen.

Thanks again.

WII + Virtual Console + RF Connection = 1985 gaming nirvana
fookes is offline  
Reply Nintendo

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off