OC'ing the i7/x58 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 133 Old 12-03-2008, 09:29 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Tinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: guarding my retirement igloo...with a McMillan TAC-50 long range sniper rifle
Posts: 4,990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Moved from previous post since it does not really apply to the ASUS Rampage II topic line.

Did some initial OCing. Got the i7 920 2.67ghz up to 4.0ghz with really little effort. It was easy using the E-leet utility that comes with the eVGA x58 mobo. Just use it to set up and test OC until it fails (system will reboot with the last saved BIOS settings), then get the last safe settings and apply them in the BIOS. My settings are 192.5 QPI B Clock (~=FSB?) with a cpu multi of 21 (stock is 20) using the Intel turbo mode (192.5 x 21 = 4042.5). Voltage on CPU was bumped to 1.33 and the DIMMS (PATRIOT VIPER TRI 6G KIT DDR3-12800 instead of the OCZ 3x (2x1GB) Dual DDR3 1333 Gold XTC that I was planning to use) are set to 1.625v (to be stable with the OC). The temps on the CPU were 20-24c idle...still have not put a real stress test on it yet. But this is in my Top Deck test bench and not inside a case. No bench numbers yet since it only has a 8600GTS on the test bench. Initially had a 4870 vid card but it just runs TOO HOT (almost burns when touched) even at idle. Will move the system into my CoolerMaster HAF case later after I done some burn in tests. Pretty impress as how easy it was to OC a quad CPU (eight hyper threads) to 50% OC with very little effort on air. Using the TRUE 120 RT1366 cooler with two 120mm Noctua (1200rpm) fans in a push/pull setup for CPU cooling (couldnt use my thicker hi speed DELTAs in push/pull because of the mini tower power stage cooler on the mobo and the height of the ram heatsinks ). So much for the early fears of the i7's not being good OC'ers.

You do not stop playing because you get old...
You get old because you stop playing.
Tinker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 133 Old 12-03-2008, 10:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LEVESQUE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yep. My easiest OC ever. My i7 920 is at 3.6 Prime stable 24/24. Not a single crash or BSOD since day 1.

Took me 5 minutes to do. Idle temp CPU 22-23 celsius and Cores around 28-29 celsius and load temp (Cores) around 65 celsius.

Asus P6T Deluxe BIOS settings:

-BLCK 180 (multi x20, turbo= x21)
-V Core 1.22v
-QPIv up +0.02 to 1.22
-Loadline calibration ON
-DDR3-1600 8-8-8-24
-V DIMM 1.65v

Everything else at ''Auto''.
LEVESQUE is offline  
post #3 of 133 Old 12-03-2008, 10:50 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Tinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: guarding my retirement igloo...with a McMillan TAC-50 long range sniper rifle
Posts: 4,990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had to bump the DIMM to 1.65v (1.66) and CPU to 1.36v to get it to run 3DM06 tho. All other settings are on auto. Cores idle at 35-41c Max core temp was 68c. CPU score with 3dM06 was ~7690 (still running XP). Prob will (may) have to drop the OC a little to be 100% safe for 24/7 use tho. Mem ratio is 2:8 and timings are 7-7-7-20 1T.

You do not stop playing because you get old...
You get old because you stop playing.
Tinker is offline  
post #4 of 133 Old 12-03-2008, 12:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LEVESQUE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tinker View Post

Prob will (may) have to drop the OC a little to be 100% safe for 24/7 use tho.

Exactly. I can do 4.0 no problems, but I need to play and work on that computer, and not only do Prime and benchmarks... I don't ''play'' benchmarks like some others are doing...

So 3.6 is rock stable for me, and temps are good. 4.0 was a little bit to hot for my taste, since I had to bump the V core alot to be stable (1.35v). 3.6 is almost at stock v, but 4.0 needs a big boost in v to be stable.

But I'm more then satisfied at 3.6. I'm doing alot of HD video editing/encoding and Blu-ray writing, and everything is now alot faster compared to my Q6600. I'm saving alot of time with the i7.
LEVESQUE is offline  
post #5 of 133 Old 12-03-2008, 12:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DrCrawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: under sniper fire, Seattle
Posts: 3,750
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tinker View Post

[b]... My settings are 192.5 QPI B Clock (~=FSB?) ...


cringes a bit...

QPI = Quick Path Interconnect.

There is no front side bus on that chipset.
DrCrawn is offline  
post #6 of 133 Old 12-03-2008, 01:19 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Tinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: guarding my retirement igloo...with a McMillan TAC-50 long range sniper rifle
Posts: 4,990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrCrawn View Post

cringes a bit...

QPI = Quick Path Interconnect.

There is no front side bus on that chipset.

I know its not FSB, but you can treat it like a FSB as before just to be on fam grounds for the older INTEL OC'ers . Others have gotten the QPI to over 200...




Did some fan set up testings. Was not happy with the Noctua's since they are not really hi flo fans, which the TRUE's prefer. Just grabbed a bunch of 120's from the bin that were handy that I norm use, for the tests.


All PUSH/PULL configuartion

Noctua's 120mm (old style) @~1200rpms max core temp 68c very quiet

Antec Tri cool 120mm @ ~2000rpms (hi) max core temp 62c noisy

Antec Tri cool 120mm @ ~1500-1600rpms (med) max core temps 63c med noise (droning)

Scythe Kaze 120mm @~1200rpms max core temp 63c decently quiet

Just for a lark, put one of the large 120mm 3000rpms DELTA's on in a push config, max core temp 63c , dust buster LOUD . I could just barely fit one, but still touching the tall ram heat speader . Def not for the long haul.

I finally decided on the Scythe Kaze combo for noise/perf.

You do not stop playing because you get old...
You get old because you stop playing.
Tinker is offline  
post #7 of 133 Old 12-03-2008, 04:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HeadRusch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 9,843
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Yeah but..hows it run crysis? And nobody cares if it encodes a DVD in 14 seconds either....

Xbox Live / PS3 / Steam: HeadRusch1
Keeping the world safe from the evil antics of Bernie Tanaka and Mel Fujitsu since 1986

HeadRusch is offline  
post #8 of 133 Old 12-03-2008, 04:41 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Tinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: guarding my retirement igloo...with a McMillan TAC-50 long range sniper rifle
Posts: 4,990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeadRusch View Post

Yeah but..hows it run crysis? And nobody cares if it encodes a DVD in 14 seconds either....

will have to wait till I can find a cheap GTX280 to go tri SLI. Talking about tri SLI, there are some great deals on tri SLI GTX260 c612 with the eVGA x58 mobo combo. eVGA site has the various venders offering this combo along with plain 260+x58 or SLI 260+x58 mobo. NCIX (CDN) has the tri SLI mobo combo for just over $1200cdn.

You do not stop playing because you get old...
You get old because you stop playing.
Tinker is offline  
post #9 of 133 Old 12-03-2008, 05:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HeadRusch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 9,843
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 41
So hows it perform clock for clock with a C2D? Whats the overall increase in operations..is it "on paper better" or "real world tangibly better"....?

Xbox Live / PS3 / Steam: HeadRusch1
Keeping the world safe from the evil antics of Bernie Tanaka and Mel Fujitsu since 1986

HeadRusch is offline  
post #10 of 133 Old 12-03-2008, 05:48 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Tinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: guarding my retirement igloo...with a McMillan TAC-50 long range sniper rifle
Posts: 4,990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeadRusch View Post

So hows it perform clock for clock with a C2D? Whats the overall increase in operations..is it "on paper better" or "real world tangibly better"....?

for current gen games, prob not much since they barely support dual cores. But for games like FC2 and to some minor extent Crysis which supports multi cores the i7's have shown to improve the frame rates to about 10-15%. Just rem that the i7 are hyper thread along with being quad cores. That 8 logical cores to play with.

also I don't know many C2Q that can be oc'd to ~4GHZ on air for ~$300US/~$370CDN. But then you will also have to add cost for mobo and mem (if needed).

You do not stop playing because you get old...
You get old because you stop playing.
Tinker is offline  
post #11 of 133 Old 12-03-2008, 08:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DrCrawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: under sniper fire, Seattle
Posts: 3,750
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeadRusch View Post

So hows it perform clock for clock with a C2D? Whats the overall increase in operations..is it "on paper better" or "real world tangibly better"....?

Not even close especially if you run SLI.

This is a great read from Hilbert at Guru3d.

http://www.guru3d.com/article/core-i...mance-review/1
DrCrawn is offline  
post #12 of 133 Old 12-04-2008, 05:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LEVESQUE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
'' All PUSH/PULL configuartion
Just for a lark, put one of the large 120mm 3000rpms DELTA's on in a push config, max core temp 63c ''

63 celsius? Men you really have a problem with your air circulation in there. With the new TRUE RT1366 and the new fan coming with it (only 1, no push/pull here...), and after re-doing my wire mangaement yesterday evening, I never go over 53-54 celsius on full Prime load at 4.0.

BTW, the upcoming 8.12 ATI drivers are coming in 6 days and will be optimized for x58/i7 CF scaling...

Since with 8.11, a lone 4870x2 can already gives better min then a pair of GTX 280 SLI in 80% of the games out there (1900X1200 and 2560X1600), ATi will again take the lead.
LEVESQUE is offline  
post #13 of 133 Old 12-04-2008, 07:04 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Tinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: guarding my retirement igloo...with a McMillan TAC-50 long range sniper rifle
Posts: 4,990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by LEVESQUE View Post

'' All PUSH/PULL configuartion
Just for a lark, put one of the large 120mm 3000rpms DELTA's on in a push config, max core temp 63c ''

63 celsius? Men you really have a problem with your air circulation in there. With the new TRUE RT1366 and the new fan coming with it (only 1, no push/pull here...), and after re-doing my wire mangaement yesterday evening, I never go over 53-54 celsius on full Prime load at 4.0.

BTW, the upcoming 8.12 ATI drivers are coming in 6 days and will be optimized for x58/i7 CF scaling...

Since with 8.11, a lone 4870x2 can already gives better min then a pair of GTX 280 SLI in 80% of the games out there (1900X1200 and 2560X1600), ATi will again take the lead.


As stated this is in an open air test bench...no air flow, there is a non cooled HDD underneath the mobo that can be influ the temps, the amb temp is 22c. Temps will change (-/+?) when its put inside a case.

The 3000 Delta was only one fan...deminishing returns in an open air bench. I do run a pair inside my gaming rig with a TRUE also, the e8400@4.28 max core temp is 55c.


Yeah...another CCC release...and another set of probms....


Boy I want some of the med's you are selling/using if you think one(1) 4870x2 can beat SLI GTX280's...

ADD: bottom line...any vid card(s) that play all games at min of 30fps and gets 60fps at 2560x1600 with max'd game settings would be just fine by me regardless if its RED or GREEN .

You do not stop playing because you get old...
You get old because you stop playing.
Tinker is offline  
post #14 of 133 Old 12-04-2008, 08:28 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Tinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: guarding my retirement igloo...with a McMillan TAC-50 long range sniper rifle
Posts: 4,990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i7 @ 5.5. Here is extreme OCing just because he could...

http://www.engadget.com/2008/12/03/i...ked-to-5-5ghz/

Note that the Core i7 Extreme Edition 965 has an unlocked multiplier. QPI is only set at 190 with the ASUS Ramp II mobo. Didn't see what the cooling was used.

You do not stop playing because you get old...
You get old because you stop playing.
Tinker is offline  
post #15 of 133 Old 12-04-2008, 08:35 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Tinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: guarding my retirement igloo...with a McMillan TAC-50 long range sniper rifle
Posts: 4,990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Intresting read on SLI with i7/x58

http://www.bjorn3d.com/read.php?cID=1403

You do not stop playing because you get old...
You get old because you stop playing.
Tinker is offline  
post #16 of 133 Old 12-05-2008, 01:03 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Tinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: guarding my retirement igloo...with a McMillan TAC-50 long range sniper rifle
Posts: 4,990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Still tweaking the i7/920 and eVGA x58. Here are some pics of the i7/920@4.1ghz and the Top Deck test bench used. Waiting for some Scythe Kaze 1900rpm fans to replace the 1200rpm ones (since the final setup would be using a fan controller). Prob still can go higher...but that would be really pushing it . Forget the 3dM06 total score since this was only using a 8600GTS. But the CPU score is ~7700+, with the e8400@4.28/4.5 (SLI GTX280's) the cpu score was ~4500. Don't rem what the cpu score was for the Q6600@3.2/3.6. So the i7/920 can OC like crazy. One of the cores peaked at 66c.






You do not stop playing because you get old...
You get old because you stop playing.
Tinker is offline  
post #17 of 133 Old 12-05-2008, 04:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HeadRusch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 9,843
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 41
brag, brag, brag....

Xbox Live / PS3 / Steam: HeadRusch1
Keeping the world safe from the evil antics of Bernie Tanaka and Mel Fujitsu since 1986

HeadRusch is offline  
post #18 of 133 Old 12-05-2008, 05:43 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Tinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: guarding my retirement igloo...with a McMillan TAC-50 long range sniper rifle
Posts: 4,990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeadRusch View Post

brag, brag, brag....

Just proving that I am not BS'ing....

Still tweaking and to finalize setup before I build for some others.

You do not stop playing because you get old...
You get old because you stop playing.
Tinker is offline  
post #19 of 133 Old 12-05-2008, 05:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HeadRusch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 9,843
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Rub it in, Rub it in...Brag Brag...

I can take comfort in knowing that with the addition of your 3rd videocard, the electric company will be installing a second meter on your house

Xbox Live / PS3 / Steam: HeadRusch1
Keeping the world safe from the evil antics of Bernie Tanaka and Mel Fujitsu since 1986

HeadRusch is offline  
post #20 of 133 Old 12-05-2008, 05:53 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Tinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: guarding my retirement igloo...with a McMillan TAC-50 long range sniper rifle
Posts: 4,990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeadRusch View Post

Rub it in, Rub it in...Brag Brag...

I can take comfort in knowing that with the addition of your 3rd videocard, the electric company will be installing a second meter on your house

Na...more worry about the RCMP knocking at the door thinking I have grow farm in the basement .

Elect bill is getting high with 11 computers (three servers running 24/7 with 1600w useage) in the house now...thank god for my low power netbook for all my internet stuff.

You do not stop playing because you get old...
You get old because you stop playing.
Tinker is offline  
post #21 of 133 Old 12-05-2008, 05:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HeadRusch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 9,843
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Lol

Xbox Live / PS3 / Steam: HeadRusch1
Keeping the world safe from the evil antics of Bernie Tanaka and Mel Fujitsu since 1986

HeadRusch is offline  
post #22 of 133 Old 12-06-2008, 10:12 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Tinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: guarding my retirement igloo...with a McMillan TAC-50 long range sniper rifle
Posts: 4,990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Doing some more tweaking. I notice that the supplied thermal compound that I used was older stuff from Thermalright and not their new Chill Factor 2 paste. So I decided to replace the paste with some Artic Cooling MX-2 paste that I wanted to test. Taking the TRUE off I notice that the cpu heat spreader had little or no paste in the middle. This is common with the TRUE HS since they tend to have a slight convex base. Since I was lazy when I initially set up the system, I just used one of my old TRUEs but with the new 1366 bracket. So just for fun, I replaced that TRUE with the TRUE RT1366. After a test mount, the paste is now even over the the cpu heat spreader, so it seems the newer TRUE's may have a flatter base then some of the older ones (maybe it was just my sample of the RT1366). With the new paste and new TRUE RT1366 installed the max/peak core temps dropped 2-3c.

But to keep a stable 4.1 oc I had to raise some of the other voltages other then the CPU and DIMMs. I wasnt comfortable in doing so since I am still trying to figure what all the various settings do and didnt want to fry the CPU or mobo just yet.... But the system so far has been rock stable at 4.0 with just a cpu and safe DIMM voltage boost above default.

You do not stop playing because you get old...
You get old because you stop playing.
Tinker is offline  
post #23 of 133 Old 12-06-2008, 10:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HeadRusch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 9,843
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 41
My XFX 260 Black will also overclock quite nicely beyond its already factory overclock..I can't get to the cherry-picked temps that some review sites are claiming to achieve, but its still a good bump (725 on the GPU, whatever that translates to on the shaders and 75Mhz higher on the ram)......good for another frame or two I imagine, 3dmark tells me I'm at 14579 or something like that.

This puts it above a 280 at 1080p for just about all the benchs I've seen, so I am happy.

Now the next question....do I swap out my C2D 2.4 for a faster chip and go for 4.0ghz on air....Hmmmmm.....Tinker what do you recommend...think it will make any real-world difference at this point? I run a Scythe Ninja and a Scythe low RPM fan to keep the system at hush-mode, my 3.25ghz is about as fast as this C2D will go before it gets unstable, although I haven't messed with voltages...at 3.25 TAT will hit in the mid to upper 60's.

Xbox Live / PS3 / Steam: HeadRusch1
Keeping the world safe from the evil antics of Bernie Tanaka and Mel Fujitsu since 1986

HeadRusch is offline  
post #24 of 133 Old 12-06-2008, 10:56 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Tinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: guarding my retirement igloo...with a McMillan TAC-50 long range sniper rifle
Posts: 4,990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeadRusch View Post

My XFX 260 Black will also overclock quite nicely beyond its already factory overclock..I can't get to the cherry-picked temps that some review sites are claiming to achieve, but its still a good bump (725 on the GPU, whatever that translates to on the shaders and 75Mhz higher on the ram)......good for another frame or two I imagine, 3dmark tells me I'm at 14579 or something like that.

This puts it above a 280 at 1080p for just about all the benchs I've seen, so I am happy.

Now the next question....do I swap out my C2D 2.4 for a faster chip and go for 4.0ghz on air....Hmmmmm.....Tinker what do you recommend...think it will make any real-world difference at this point? I run a Scythe Ninja and a Scythe low RPM fan to keep the system at hush-mode, my 3.25ghz is about as fast as this C2D will go before it gets unstable, although I haven't messed with voltages...at 3.25 TAT will hit in the mid to upper 60's.


I notice some improvement when I went from a Q6600@3.2 to a E8400@4.28 (how much?????). I am using a hi air flow case (Coolermaster HAF) for the OC'd gaming system tho. Noise is acceptable for a hi end gaming system , but def would not be accepatble for HT use IMO tho. Also I don't think you will get to 4.0 using a low power fan since your current temps are already 60c+. I don't have any exp with the Ninja coolers since I do not like push pin mounting systems which I think most of the Scythe coolers use. I just standardize on Thermalright coolers, TRUEs for most gaming systems and Si-128 for HTPCs. You will prob need at least a fan that can do 60+ CFM like the newer 1200rpm Scythe Kaze JYUNI that out 68.54CFM. But I am using two 3000rpm deltas (panaflo) hi pressure fans in my E8400 system. Use a fan controller to run them at 1200-1300rpms for almost 100% of the time. So prob a slower fan would work just as well, but too lazy to replace them, also I will be taking that system out and replacing with the i7/x58 one soon.

The E8400/E8500 are decent buys right now. For ~$159-$180 you can get a CPU that in most case can OC to 4.0. But OC is alway a gamble, case , other components and setup and luck of th draw with the CPU will play a factor as to what can b done. Since your current set up is already at 60c+, I don't think you can OC a cpu in that system without getting some new items...I know your fruggle.

ADD: I would say right now, @3.25 be happy, unless you want to spend a lot more money upgrading. In most cases for gaming, the GPU will be more important then the CPU at 1080. You are prob at the sweet spot with the GTX260 c612 and a CPU @ 3.25. But thats just IMHO stuff.

ADD2: Head, guess you never thght that I could be reasonable when it comes to HW upgrades hey???. Do as I say rather then as I do....just doesn't sit right with me tho...LOL . So go out and get a new case/system, an i7/x58 and another GTX260 or two , a 30" 25x16 monitor and stimulate the economy. Now I feel better....

You do not stop playing because you get old...
You get old because you stop playing.
Tinker is offline  
post #25 of 133 Old 12-08-2008, 06:57 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Tinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: guarding my retirement igloo...with a McMillan TAC-50 long range sniper rifle
Posts: 4,990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow...over at the eVGA forum, the eVGA tech Jacob show how to OC an i7/920 and eVGA x58 SLI mobo to 4.5 on air. Looks real simple. Thats the grail now...well maybe...

You do not stop playing because you get old...
You get old because you stop playing.
Tinker is offline  
post #26 of 133 Old 12-08-2008, 07:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Tenkaipalm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hmmmm... might be upgrade time. My QX6700 sits at 4 even stable on phase... It sounds like I could push waaaaaay past that with the i7 on phase.
Tenkaipalm is offline  
post #27 of 133 Old 12-08-2008, 08:11 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Tinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: guarding my retirement igloo...with a McMillan TAC-50 long range sniper rifle
Posts: 4,990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tenkaipalm View Post

Hmmmm... might be upgrade time. My QX6700 sits at 4 even stable on phase... It sounds like I could push waaaaaay past that with the i7 on phase.

The probm right now is finding 1366 cooling HW . Most hi end (air) coolers and mounting adapters for the 1366 are very scarce right now.

I just have an update order for a clone of my system from a person I built for. I can not even find the TRUE RT1366 anymore in Canada. They were available last week, but all out off stock now, no eta on new ones yet. Can not even get the 1366 adatpter for the TRUE either.

BTW: the eVGA x58 has an option in th BIOS that allows two settings for extreme cooling solutions. One for below zero and the other for below -50c boots.

You do not stop playing because you get old...
You get old because you stop playing.
Tinker is offline  
post #28 of 133 Old 12-08-2008, 09:09 PM
Senior Member
 
guy80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Hearing about mobo/bios issues has me scared to dip my toes in. Has your build been stable?

That cooler in your pic is the one I've been eye-balling. Hard to imagine it wouldn't work well.
guy80 is offline  
post #29 of 133 Old 12-08-2008, 10:02 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Tinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: guarding my retirement igloo...with a McMillan TAC-50 long range sniper rifle
Posts: 4,990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by guy80 View Post

Hearing about mobo/bios issues has me scared to dip my toes in. Has your build been stable?

That cooler in your pic is the one I've been eye-balling. Hard to imagine it wouldn't work well.

Still on the test bench for now. It been running stable @ 4.0 for a few days (8-12 hrs on). Ran CPU1 test from 3dm06 multiple times for 1/2 hour loops and the peak temp on one core was 65c. That is with the new fans set at 1400RPM rather the 1900 since it only drop maybe 2c but with a lot more noise. It nice to have that in reserve if require tho. That was with all 4 cores and eight threads running almost at 100%. Will install in case on Tues/Wed if I have the time.

Just using the BIOS that came with the mobo, have not done any upgrades. BIOS date 11/19/2008.

You do not stop playing because you get old...
You get old because you stop playing.
Tinker is offline  
post #30 of 133 Old 12-09-2008, 12:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
MikeRich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: East Bay, Northern Cali.
Posts: 524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tinker View Post

Wow...over at the eVGA forum, the eVGA tech Jacob show how to OC an i7/920 and eVGA x58 SLI mobo to 4.5 on air. Looks real simple. Thats the grail now...well maybe...

Can you post a link to that thread? I tried to find it but can't seem to locate it. I did not even know eVGA made MB's!!

XBL: BigMikeRich
PSN: BigMikeRich
MikeRich is offline  
Reply HTPC Gaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off