1080p VGA vs HDMI / DVI Gaming on HDTV LCD - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 Old 12-13-2008, 04:22 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
shingdaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 531
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Looking for more opinions on inputing a 1080p VGA signal into my HDTV versus utilizing it's HDMI ports.

More interested in picture quality not technical differences or ease of use.

Is a 1080p VGA signal / resolution consistent with 1080p signals for gaming?
shingdaz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 Old 12-13-2008, 04:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kylebisme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,084
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, they are both 1920x1080 pixels with 32-bit color precision, there is no inherent difference in quality. Digital is less susceptible to loss or interference, but a solid analog connection can look just as good. Of course it also depends on how well the particular display handles each input, some displays do better with one or the other.
kylebisme is offline  
post #3 of 17 Old 12-17-2008, 10:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
SAVholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Porta del Sol, PR
Posts: 803
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
to me colors look more vivrant and "clean" with DVI vs VGA in my 1080p LCD (Westy LVM-37W3)

"My English is not very good looking" - Celia Cruz

SAVholic is offline  
post #4 of 17 Old 12-19-2008, 10:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jrwalte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
VGA requires the digital source to convert to analog and then your TV has to reconvert it to digital. It is always better to use the digital source through DVI if you can.
jrwalte is offline  
post #5 of 17 Old 12-26-2008, 01:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
getme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In most cases you'll see no discernable difference, but you should be aware that some HDTVs limit the display resolution when using a VGA input. My brother's LG for example would limit itself to 1024x768.

the arrogance of officialdom should be tempered and controlled... People must again learn to work, instead of living on public assistance. Cicero , 55 BC
getme is offline  
post #6 of 17 Old 12-26-2008, 02:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kylebisme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,084
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
On the other hand, my Panasonic plasma only accepts up to 1366x768 progressive or 1080i though dgital ports, but accepts at least up to 2560x1600 progressive over VGA.
kylebisme is offline  
post #7 of 17 Old 12-27-2008, 03:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jules343's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 926
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My understanding is it will come down to the hardware used. CNET was disappointed when hooking up a PC to the 32" Samsung A450 via HDMI. They stated:
Quote:


C: With analog sources delivered via the VGA input the Samsung performed very well, resolving every detail of the 1,360x768 signal according to DisplayMate and delivering crisp, sharp text and other on-screen details. Surprisingly, HDMI tested far worse. The set didn't handle all of the detail of the source, and edges looked blockier and softer as a result.

and in a larger Samsung display they noticed no difference between VGA and HDMI.

PSN ID: Ass
Jules343 is offline  
post #8 of 17 Old 12-28-2008, 10:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gunbunnysoulja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Inverness, FL
Posts: 2,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
On my Sammy HL-S6187w, I very much prefer VGA over HDMI for my HTPC.

I wanted to use HDMI to keep it simple, but now I have to use VGA for video and HDMI for audio

I compared many times, and VGA was superior every time, particularly with text, both getting 1:1 with overscan off.
gunbunnysoulja is offline  
post #9 of 17 Old 12-31-2008, 08:15 AM
Member
 
CubicleDrone's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm using DVI/HDMI on mine. I thought about using the VGA but prefer using a digital, versus analog, feed. It seems that VGA is being phased out on newer video cards. You can use converters buy why? Ultimately, it depends upon the quality of picture too. I haven't tried the VGA on mine so I don't know.
CubicleDrone is offline  
post #10 of 17 Old 01-01-2009, 09:20 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
shingdaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 531
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I know VGA will outperform HDMI is the display does not do 1:1 pixel mapping which introduces artifacts otherwise when the TV scales the image to 16:9 etc. Thus producing blurred characters and other artifacts etc
shingdaz is offline  
post #11 of 17 Old 01-02-2009, 11:06 AM
Member
 
HTPC101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: California
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HDMI is better!
HTPC101 is offline  
post #12 of 17 Old 01-04-2009, 02:58 PM
Member
 
wigywild's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My LG TV absolutely refuses to accept a signal over DVI->HDMI. Although my motherboard has an HDMI out, there would be no point to run it especially for gamin.

I'm forced to run DVI->VGA and it works perfect. I get a clean 1080p signal that is probably better than my cable box.

Plus if you have an HDMI port you can use it to send HD audio to your receiver!
wigywild is offline  
post #13 of 17 Old 01-05-2009, 04:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rr6966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 1,211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by gunbunnysoulja View Post

On my Sammy HL-S6187w, I very much prefer VGA over HDMI for my HTPC.

I wanted to use HDMI to keep it simple, but now I have to use VGA for video and HDMI for audio

I compared many times, and VGA was superior every time, particularly with text, both getting 1:1 with overscan off.

I have to agree! I have the 56" version of this TV, and the vga is the way to go.
rr6966 is offline  
post #14 of 17 Old 09-23-2010, 06:03 PM
Member
 
RAJOD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In theory a pure digital signal should be the best.

With VGA the signal must be convert twice. Digital to analog then back to digital again. That conversion can be good or poor quality.

I'm not familiar with all the digital tricks used by HDTVs but it may be that once the digital signal is in the TV it attempts to manipulate the image via software.

An analogy is using DVI on a LCD and finding the VGA looks better.
People often run a LCD in non native rez. Even though the LCD is digital it uses algorithms to display images that are run in non native rez. This introduces lag, artifacts etc. This is why some people will run the display in 1:1, that way the display is still in native rez (Where its fastest) and have to deal with black bars around the image.

VGA can look smoother than DVI, again just using computer LCD here. DVI can only handle 60hz while VGA can do more. Now we have dual link DVI than can handle 120hz.

Anytime you get worse image using pure digital vs analog I would suspect some kind of post processing going on in the TV or LCD.



Quote:
Originally Posted by gunbunnysoulja View Post

On my Sammy HL-S6187w, I very much prefer VGA over HDMI for my HTPC.

I wanted to use HDMI to keep it simple, but now I have to use VGA for video and HDMI for audio

I compared many times, and VGA was superior every time, particularly with text, both getting 1:1 with overscan off.

RAJOD is offline  
post #15 of 17 Old 09-23-2010, 11:11 PM
 
darklordjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Did you seriously just sign up in order to answer a question that was asked two years ago? I smell a sophisticated spam account incoming...
darklordjames is offline  
post #16 of 17 Old 09-23-2010, 11:34 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by kylebisme View Post

On the other hand, my Panasonic plasma only accepts up to 1366x768 progressive or 1080i though dgital ports, but accepts at least up to 2560x1600 progressive over VGA.

It might be able to display 2560x1600 over VGA but your display definitely is not 2560x1600, all it's doing is downscaling your picture. As stated earlier, your best bet is going through the HDMI/DVI ports. I bet your display's native res is 1366x768.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #17 of 17 Old 09-24-2010, 12:11 AM
 
darklordjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Dude. Two years ago.
darklordjames is offline  
Reply HTPC Gaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off