Burnout Paradise for PC - Controller Config Problems - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 26 Old 02-05-2009, 01:03 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ProSpud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone tried out Burnout Paradise for PC and tried to setup a PS3/360 type controller on it (like a logitech dual action or something similar)? I'm having the most difficult time trying to map all the controls to the buttons, but it seems there are not enough buttons for the controls. I don't know why they made it so difficult though as the game was out for PS3 and 360 first before the PC, so I thought they would have made a default config for controllers. Anyone else have success?
ProSpud is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 26 Old 02-05-2009, 01:07 PM
Senior Member
 
Quidam67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Was planning on getting this for the PC. But not after reading this post...
Quidam67 is offline  
post #3 of 26 Old 02-05-2009, 01:10 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ProSpud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quidam67 View Post

Was planning on getting this for the PC. But not after reading this post...

Well...maybe I'm just a dunce on this one and can't figure it out, but I've tried at least 20 config combinations and all of them seem to fall short.
ProSpud is offline  
post #4 of 26 Old 02-05-2009, 04:57 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
IMO: Any racing game that doesn't come pre-configed for a wheel or a 360 controller at this point isn't worth buying.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #5 of 26 Old 02-05-2009, 08:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
WiseGuy2k7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 533
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveFi View Post

IMO: Any racing game that doesn't come pre-configed for a wheel or a 360 controller at this point isn't worth buying.

I agree with your statement. Especially coming from a big publisher like EA, theres no excuse.

PSN:The_Wise_Guy
XBL:DirtySanWiseGuy
Steam:The_Wise_Guy
BF4 PC:The_Wise_Guy

WiseGuy2k7 is offline  
post #6 of 26 Old 02-05-2009, 08:51 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Actually I meant to say "any game", (with the exception of FPS) that could use a controller should have mandatory XBOX controller setups as that is the most popular controller for the PC by far. What I don't understand is why they need to have the "Games for Windows" brand attached in order for this to be possible?

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #7 of 26 Old 02-05-2009, 11:15 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ProSpud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well for now I've settled on a config that at least is nearly fully functional. I had to cheat a little bit (such as the F1/F2 controls for the menu, I decided to just assign a button to the F1 control and leave F2 blank, which forces me to settle with having to cycle through options only one way). It isn't perfect, but at least it works.
ProSpud is offline  
post #8 of 26 Old 02-06-2009, 02:35 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ProSpud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Finally figured out that you can combine buttons to make one control, so it is possible to map all the controls. It helped looking at the PS3 version of the game's button configs. Anyway, I was a dunce, but got it figured out. Hope they make a default profile in the future for others that end up with this problem though, took awhile to figure it all out.
ProSpud is offline  
post #9 of 26 Old 02-07-2009, 09:08 AM
Member
 
mab319's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: MS
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
well the next question has to be.....

how do you like the game????

"MYTH: Three Americans every year die from rabies.
FACT: Four Americans every year die from rabies."
mab319 is offline  
post #10 of 26 Old 02-07-2009, 10:17 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ProSpud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The game is ok. I always contend that Burnout 3 was the greatest Burnout ever made out of all the Burnouts. This one doesn't come close to it, but it offers a few new things that the old Burnouts never had (free roaming around the city, a choice of what races or events you want to do to obtain a new license, and the PC version lets you restart the events in the middle of them which I heard the console versions did not have). So...it's not a terrible game, but it does leave much to be desired, esp on the multiplayer side. Party mode (aka the Party Pack) is a joke in my opinion and isn't fun at all. But hey...it's for PC, and that's a start. Personally I wish they'd just release Burnout 3 for the PC. But maybe they will either patch or expand Paradise to include a better party mode in the future (bring back stunt crashes in party mode like in 3!!). I haven't tried the online mode yet, but what's the point. I got the game to play with my friends that come over, not to play online.

So, great single player experience, but poor multiplayer experience (excluding online play of course which I might try next week).
ProSpud is offline  
post #11 of 26 Old 02-07-2009, 11:09 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ProSpud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well the more I deal with this game, the more I dislike it. I've learned that you can't add custom music to the game for the PC version. You can for the 360 and the PS3 versions...but the PC version, nope. I swear, every EA published game that has come out lately for PC just has all sorts of shortcomings (Spore, Command and Conquer 3, and now this). In their defense, Mirror's Edge which they also published isn't too bad, but I haven't gotten a lot of play time with it. Man I hope Blizzard comes through on Diablo 3 - seems to be about the only game left I have hope for...
ProSpud is offline  
post #12 of 26 Old 02-09-2009, 07:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
StreetPreacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Frozen North
Posts: 1,768
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveFi View Post

IMO: Any racing game that doesn't come pre-configed for a wheel or a 360 controller at this point isn't worth buying.

I'm not sure which specific pad the OP was having trouble with, but I use the 360 wireless receiver and a wireless 360 gamepad, and all the controls for Burnout Paradise were automatically configured when I first launched the game. I didn't even need to enter the contols setup menu to configure anything, the pad just worked exactly as it did with the console version.
StreetPreacher is offline  
post #13 of 26 Old 02-09-2009, 07:22 AM
Newbie
 
paulikasp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DL'ed it for PC, connected it to my logitech wireless controler no probs with it.
paulikasp is offline  
post #14 of 26 Old 02-09-2009, 03:44 PM
Senior Member
 
ShagnWagn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 474
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have found that you MUST have the controller turned on BEFORE you launch the game for it to see and detect the controller. I also had issues similar to your for playing Dead Space. There was simply no configuration screen to change the settings for the xbox controller. Not to mention changing scroll speed independent of movement and aiming modes..! All of these recent PC ports are very discouraging. I may try to borrow Burnout Paradise from my friend to see if it's worth buying. Doesn't sound like it from your feedback.
ShagnWagn is offline  
post #15 of 26 Old 02-09-2009, 05:14 PM
Member
 
FatMom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShagnWagn View Post

I have found that you MUST have the controller turned on BEFORE you launch the game for it to see and detect the controller. I also had issues similar to your for playing Dead Space. There was simply no configuration screen to change the settings for the xbox controller. Not to mention changing scroll speed independent of movement and aiming modes..! All of these recent PC ports are very discouraging. I may try to borrow Burnout Paradise from my friend to see if it's worth buying. Doesn't sound like it from your feedback.

I'm using an xbox controller, and turned it on after starting playing the game, the controller worked fine, no configuration needed and even the menu changed with proper pad keys.
FatMom is offline  
post #16 of 26 Old 02-09-2009, 10:01 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ProSpud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Logitech PS3 controller. This one doesn't have configs when starting the game, so had to input them myself. It was a pain to do until I learned you could combine buttons to one control. A lot of others are having the same issue, but it isn't really an issue per say, really just an annoyance.

I had no issues with it detecting the controller though. That was just fine. Just configuring the buttons as it had no default config for the controller.

Another issue - has anyone been able to get custom music for the PC version?? Just wondering as it doesn't seem to have the funtionality for it...
ProSpud is offline  
post #17 of 26 Old 02-10-2009, 06:09 AM
Member
 
deltronik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by FatMom View Post

I'm using an xbox controller, and turned it on after starting playing the game, the controller worked fine, no configuration needed and even the menu changed with proper pad keys.

same here, I always turn mine on after starting the game. config works great with no changes.

Although, I'm not really liking this one as much as burnout 1 and 2.
deltronik is offline  
post #18 of 26 Old 02-10-2009, 09:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
StreetPreacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Frozen North
Posts: 1,768
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ProSpud View Post

Another issue - has anyone been able to get custom music for the PC version?? Just wondering as it doesn't seem to have the funtionality for it...

I haven't gone through all of the in-game setup menus, but can't you just turn off or lower the volume for the music and then play your own mp3's in the background with WMP?
StreetPreacher is offline  
post #19 of 26 Old 02-10-2009, 12:40 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ProSpud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by StreetPreacher View Post

I haven't gone through all of the in-game setup menus, but can't you just turn off or lower the volume for the music and then play your own mp3's in the background with WMP?

Yep but that's not what I'm asking. I'd like it to be in game if possible.
ProSpud is offline  
post #20 of 26 Old 02-19-2009, 08:36 AM
Newbie
 
wheelstb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How do you even get to the options menu to configure the controller? I don't see any options on the main menu and on the in game menu when I press esc the only thing I see is statistics on my accomplishments and a shortcut to the burnout store or something like that.

I cannot use my left hand very well so now the configuration I have is basically useless. I really need some help.
wheelstb is offline  
post #21 of 26 Old 02-19-2009, 08:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
StreetPreacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Frozen North
Posts: 1,768
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After hitting ESC to pause the game, I think the default keys are F1 & F2 to cylcle through the different menus (statistics, downloaded content, options, etc.).

This threw me for a loop the first time I looked for the audio/control options as well.
StreetPreacher is offline  
post #22 of 26 Old 02-19-2009, 12:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Troubleshooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Southern Cowhampshire
Posts: 1,670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I really do find the menus to be a pain. Took me a long time just to figure out how to quit the darn thing. F1 and F2 really aren't all that obvious even when it shows them at the top of the list, it doesn't actually say what they do. I think GRID is better, though obviously quite different.

-Trouble
Troubleshooter is offline  
post #23 of 26 Old 06-22-2010, 09:04 AM
Newbie
 
out-phaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't mean to necro a post or anything, but I stumbled across this while trying to find out how easy it was to get a 360 controller to work in Burnout Paradise.

ProSpud: I don't know what your problem is, but I haven't had any trouble with any controller I've plugged into my PC.

I didn't have to configure a damned thing.

From my MadCatz PS3 controller and my Logitech PS3 controller, to my Microsoft Corded AND Wireless XBox 360 controllers and a few other controllers I have laying around (even a couple super old ones from the mid-90's)

Did you make sure to plug in the controller before starting the game, and make sure that it's on?

I'm just putting this here in case anyone else runs across this post when googling about this game.

The game comes fully supporting almost every controller on the market.
out-phaze is offline  
post #24 of 26 Old 06-24-2010, 05:10 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ProSpud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It works...you just have to configure each button manually. And it's a real pain to do that.
ProSpud is offline  
post #25 of 26 Old 06-29-2010, 07:57 PM
Member
 
hollams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I use a program called xpadder that maps the keyboard and mouse to many different gamepads and it works great. I'm able to map older games that don't support gamepads and the analog stick maps to mouse movements with no lag so you might try that. Diablo 2 is now playable with a controller. I also use my controller as a wireless mouse to work in windows and firefox.

Shon
hollams is offline  
post #26 of 26 Old 09-06-2011, 11:43 AM
Newbie
 
VB_RMF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have been Burnout Paradise for a long time I did not find anything better. I really like the open concept.

In fact there are some 3rd party game controller that will allow you to exercise and play the game. Just google "Cyber ExerCycle".

Unfortunately it is available only for the PC version.

Victor,
VB_RMF is offline  
Reply HTPC Gaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off