Battlefield Bad Company 2 game play - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 399 Old 03-04-2010, 08:37 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Tinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: guarding my retirement igloo...with a McMillan TAC-50 long range sniper rifle
Posts: 4,990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dim. View Post

Autoupdate. Included into first patch.

do you have to earn them or do they just appear. I am on STEAM, I just earned the M1911 pistol. But the others are not there (yet?).

You do not stop playing because you get old...
You get old because you stop playing.
Tinker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 399 Old 03-04-2010, 08:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Stryker412's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ocean County, NJ
Posts: 4,517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I just put in the code I was given and the next time I logged in they were there to select when I spawned.
Stryker412 is offline  
post #183 of 399 Old 03-04-2010, 09:58 AM
Member
 
dim.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tinker View Post

do you have to earn them or do they just appear. I am on STEAM, I just earned the M1911 pistol. But the others are not there (yet?).

Are you talking about "firsf day DLC" or Special Edition unlocks?
DLC autoupdated on the first run (but you need to run game as admin). For unlocks you need to enter code.
dim. is offline  
post #184 of 399 Old 03-04-2010, 11:22 AM
Member
 
White Noise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
For the limited edition upgrades click on the multiplayer tab and select redeem code.
My Gamestop DVD has two codes to redeem. One is located on a card in the box which gives me all the limited edition weapons/perks and my gamestop receipt had a code on it as well and that gives instant access to the aks74u assault rifle.



I should add that this is by far the best fps game to come out since BF2 and the original mohaa. This is a fantastic game with beautiful visuals, sound and gameplay. Just awesome.

IGN: Amish Marauder
White Noise is offline  
post #185 of 399 Old 03-04-2010, 07:14 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Tinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: guarding my retirement igloo...with a McMillan TAC-50 long range sniper rifle
Posts: 4,990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
stupid me, I was using STEAM's DLC thing. Yes when I redeem code in MP I got the bonus items.

Same BS the 50cal still needs two shots to kill unless headshot.

You do not stop playing because you get old...
You get old because you stop playing.
Tinker is offline  
post #186 of 399 Old 03-05-2010, 03:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Stryker412's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ocean County, NJ
Posts: 4,517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Tinker, sounds like you need to play hardcore mode.
Stryker412 is offline  
post #187 of 399 Old 03-05-2010, 07:52 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Tinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: guarding my retirement igloo...with a McMillan TAC-50 long range sniper rifle
Posts: 4,990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stryker412 View Post

Tinker, sounds like you need to play hardcore mode.

Any diff's with harcore ? Most of the svers with good pings and hardcore are full. I can not find yours. How do you connect with friends in the game. Whats the name of your server?

In SP one shot with any camper gun kills...

You do not stop playing because you get old...
You get old because you stop playing.
Tinker is offline  
post #188 of 399 Old 03-05-2010, 07:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Stryker412's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ocean County, NJ
Posts: 4,517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:


There is no hud in this mode, and bullet damage is increased, so people die/kill quicker. Snipers are also all 1 shot kill.

Our server is called: Shattered Planet Rush 24/7

However, from the sounds of your complaints of the game you probably won't like our server. We do not run hardcore mode and FF is off, basically the same way everything was setup in the beta.
Stryker412 is offline  
post #189 of 399 Old 03-05-2010, 08:55 AM
Member
 
dim.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stryker412 View Post

Our server is called: Shattered Planet Rush 24/7

It is not on server list. I checked yesterday. And I cannot manually connect as there no console.
dim. is offline  
post #190 of 399 Old 03-05-2010, 12:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Stryker412's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ocean County, NJ
Posts: 4,517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by dim. View Post

It is not on server list. I checked yesterday. And I cannot manually connect as there no console.

It is on the list but it's a pain to see it some times because the list is broken. If you click the server browser let it try to load data for like 10 seconds then hit cancel all the servers should show up. Just sort by alpha and it should be there.

Stryker412 is offline  
post #191 of 399 Old 03-05-2010, 01:29 PM
Member
 
dim.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stryker412 View Post

It is on the list but it's a pain to see it some times because the list is broken.

I'll check it out. Not sure about your rules however. I'll medic while attacking, mostly recon while defending (with exception - if map has many tanks&HAV I'll ply engineer).
dim. is offline  
post #192 of 399 Old 03-05-2010, 01:35 PM
Member
 
dim.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tinker View Post

Same BS the 50cal still needs two shots to kill unless headshot.

If I missed head I am pretty happy with kill assist + spot assist. That is fair.

PS any bolt action gives you 1 shot kill if distance <65m. Love getting double kills from those who road kill on ATV's
dim. is offline  
post #193 of 399 Old 03-05-2010, 02:28 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Tinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: guarding my retirement igloo...with a McMillan TAC-50 long range sniper rifle
Posts: 4,990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
played a few hardcore servers today. One shot one kill with the 50cal and most of the bigger rifles. Got a few kills with the silenced rifle, but it takes 2-3 hits. Good on those real tight maps where the sight line is limited. I log off and now for the last 1/2 hour I can not get to the EA servers to login...

You do not stop playing because you get old...
You get old because you stop playing.
Tinker is offline  
post #194 of 399 Old 03-05-2010, 04:35 PM
Senior Member
 
jherring69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: pei, canada
Posts: 362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If anyone is running the latest Nvidia drivers 196.75 , it is recommended to uninstall them. They are causing GPU fan issues leading to overheating and frying the video card. I don't have any links, but it has been mentioned in a number of forums and Nvidia has pulled the driver from their site.

Jason
jherring69 is offline  
post #195 of 399 Old 03-05-2010, 11:17 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Nvidia 3D Vision- 3 monitor 3D Battlefield

Sweet! Only cost, let's see...$1200 for the 3 monitors and you're all set. Go for it Tinker!!!

As for the drivers I wouldn't worry about it. It's working fine on my GTX 295. I run my fan at a constant 60%.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #196 of 399 Old 03-06-2010, 12:35 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Tinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: guarding my retirement igloo...with a McMillan TAC-50 long range sniper rifle
Posts: 4,990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveFi View Post

Nvidia 3D Vision- 3 monitor 3D Battlefield

Sweet! Only cost, let's see...$1200 for the 3 monitors and you're all set. Go for it Tinker!!!

As for the drivers I wouldn't worry about it. It's working fine on my GTX 295. I run my fan at a constant 60%.

not for me...3D gives me a headache.

You do not stop playing because you get old...
You get old because you stop playing.
Tinker is offline  
post #197 of 399 Old 03-06-2010, 12:38 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Tinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: guarding my retirement igloo...with a McMillan TAC-50 long range sniper rifle
Posts: 4,990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
moved the 5870's over to my main gaming rig using Xfire. In BFBC2 I get some real annoying flashing at times esp the water.

You do not stop playing because you get old...
You get old because you stop playing.
Tinker is offline  
post #198 of 399 Old 03-06-2010, 01:01 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Tinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: guarding my retirement igloo...with a McMillan TAC-50 long range sniper rifle
Posts: 4,990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
BC2 shld have stay in beta longer. Constant drops and reconnect issues with the EA server is a real bummer. Funny is that I never had probms with the beta.

You do not stop playing because you get old...
You get old because you stop playing.
Tinker is offline  
post #199 of 399 Old 03-06-2010, 03:03 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tinker View Post

BC2 shld have stay in beta longer. Constant drops and reconnect issues with the EA server is a real bummer. Funny is that I never had probms with the beta.

Still doing that eh? Yeah, that sucks. At least if I get a brand new Aus version for $27 shipped it won't be such a big deal.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #200 of 399 Old 03-06-2010, 04:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Favelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Posts: 3,786
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stryker412 View Post

It is on the list but it's a pain to see it some times because the list is broken. If you click the server browser let it try to load data for like 10 seconds then hit cancel all the servers should show up. Just sort by alpha and it should be there.


I can't find the server either. Can someone add me to the friend list so I can find it. Playing as Nealon_Greene.

In terms of LFE, size does matter!
Favelle is offline  
post #201 of 399 Old 03-06-2010, 08:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Stryker412's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ocean County, NJ
Posts: 4,517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Favelle View Post

I can't find the server either. Can someone add me to the friend list so I can find it. Playing as Nealon_Greene.

Do you use Steam? If so add me, Stryker412.
Stryker412 is offline  
post #202 of 399 Old 03-07-2010, 06:30 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Tinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: guarding my retirement igloo...with a McMillan TAC-50 long range sniper rifle
Posts: 4,990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
pretty well elim the shimmer probms I had with Xfire 5870, I disables xfire...

Been playing alot the last few days, suffering from a real bad cold.

At level 17 mostly as Recon. Two fave weapons as recon are, one the M95 for that "reach out and touch someone" moments. Just luv shooting thru what the poor SOB thght was cover (towers). Works on helo's. Number two is the SVU. Silenced rifle that does not leave a stacer trail like most of the other rifles. But it can take 2-3 hits to kill even on hardcore. Magnum ammo helps and on some targets (other snipers) one shot sometimes is all that is needed. Here is a secret...does not seem to have much drop off at range. But headshots solves the hit probm in most cases.

Some time I have no connection probms and some times its just a nightmare either trying to connect to the EA sver or getting PKbuster kicked (known probm).

You do not stop playing because you get old...
You get old because you stop playing.
Tinker is offline  
post #203 of 399 Old 03-07-2010, 08:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
N8DOGG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,663
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 270
I just got to playing yesterday (was in mexico last week) and HC is the only way to go. I hate the non-HC modes, to I love not knowing when armor is about to light up ahhh good times. All I need is to get the ping to work in the server list. I'm not having any of the problems that tinker and some other are having.... yet lol but I'm sure something will crop up at some point.

Blasting brown notes for 10 years and counting!

N8DOGG is online now  
post #204 of 399 Old 03-07-2010, 09:33 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Tinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: guarding my retirement igloo...with a McMillan TAC-50 long range sniper rifle
Posts: 4,990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes HC is the only way I pref to play. I just wish that they could increase the players to 64, makes it more of a target rich environment....

Maybe they better use autobalance. I was on a HC server today and one team just donimated every game. We had a lot of high level players with ranks SGT and the other team had mostly rookies. They just got slaughter. Some of us tried to switch but for some reason we couldn't.

You do not stop playing because you get old...
You get old because you stop playing.
Tinker is offline  
post #205 of 399 Old 03-08-2010, 05:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Stryker412's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ocean County, NJ
Posts: 4,517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Favelle View Post

I can't find the server either. Can someone add me to the friend list so I can find it. Playing as Nealon_Greene.


If you still haven't found our server you can add it manually to your favorites. Open your BFBC2 folder under My Documents. Open the Gamesettings.ini file and edit this line:

FavoriteGames=3491710918,26df7e80-c23c-4019-b62e-1c482c901cad,Shattered Planet Rush 24/7 - US;

Once you start up the game it will be in your favorites list.
Stryker412 is offline  
post #206 of 399 Old 03-08-2010, 06:00 AM
Member
 
dim.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stryker412 View Post

If you still haven't found our server you can add it manually to your favorites.

I've seeing it after full server list refresh. It was full two times I checked. Looks like you need second server
dim. is offline  
post #207 of 399 Old 03-08-2010, 06:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Stryker412's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ocean County, NJ
Posts: 4,517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by dim. View Post

I've seeing it after full server list refresh. It was full two times I checked. Looks like you need second server

Perhaps but not just yet. We're still having a real hard time during the daytime (EST) because most of us are at work.
Stryker412 is offline  
post #208 of 399 Old 03-08-2010, 08:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Favelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Posts: 3,786
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stryker412 View Post

Do you use Steam? If so add me, Stryker412.

I am on Steam....yes. Nealon Greene as well there. But my BC2 copy is not from Steam, its retail.

In terms of LFE, size does matter!
Favelle is offline  
post #209 of 399 Old 03-08-2010, 08:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Favelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Posts: 3,786
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tinker View Post

Yes HC is the only way I pref to play. I just wish that they could increase the players to 64, makes it more of a target rich environment....

Maybe they better use autobalance. I was on a HC server today and one team just donimated every game. We had a lot of high level players with ranks SGT and the other team had mostly rookies. They just got slaughter. Some of us tried to switch but for some reason we couldn't.

It has to be coming in a patch. Notice the number of empty slots for squads? Room for 8 possible squads. 8 x 4 = ..........

In terms of LFE, size does matter!
Favelle is offline  
post #210 of 399 Old 03-08-2010, 10:56 AM
Member
 
cixelsydmind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Boston
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok so Ive been having a hell of a time trying to get some teamwork going. Im tired of playing with 3 Recon players. If anyone wants to try and get some nights going so to play as an effective squad let me know. I play under Mindspin9

Gamertag: mindspin9
PS3 id: mindspin9
cixelsydmind is offline  
Reply HTPC Gaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off