The Steam Thread - Page 25 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 77Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #721 of 2300 Old 10-30-2011, 07:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ferrisg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suburbs of Minneapolis
Posts: 2,522
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by N8DOGG View Post

The only thing I didn't like about DS1 was the mouse control was all weird. It was fine on the gamepad but I'd rather use my KB/M.

Fun games!

It didn't even work properly with a controller. The dead zone was all messed up for both sticks. I still don't understand why it didn't control exactly the same as the console version. At least 2 had much better controls.
ferrisg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #722 of 2300 Old 10-30-2011, 08:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pcweber111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: In a van, down by the river.
Posts: 3,567
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 264
I never had any issues with it. What controller did you use?
pcweber111 is offline  
post #723 of 2300 Old 10-30-2011, 08:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ferrisg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suburbs of Minneapolis
Posts: 2,522
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pcweber111 View Post

I never had any issues with it. What controller did you use?

Xbox 360 controller. It's a fairly well-discussed issue. Search for "dead space xpadder" to find the workarounds for it (using xpadder to map the sticks to kbm controls clears up the issue, which is that the sticks have huge dead zones). Having played through it twice on the 360 before buying it on PC it was pretty obvious to me that something was off with the controls. All this is after turning off Vsync, which is also royally screwed up in DS1.
ferrisg is offline  
post #724 of 2300 Old 10-30-2011, 09:55 PM - Thread Starter
 
darklordjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Well, I decided to grab the FEAR pack. I then clicked Install Games. "No! You only have 5GB, dumbass." Ah crap!

I guess that's what a Steam folder that's already 350GB will do to you...
darklordjames is offline  
post #725 of 2300 Old 10-31-2011, 08:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pjb16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Katy, TX
Posts: 1,331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by darklordjames View Post

Well, I decided to grab the FEAR pack. I then clicked Install Games. "No! You only have 5GB, dumbass." Ah crap!

I guess that's what a Steam folder that's already 350GB will do to you...

I use a program called "steam mover" (I think that's the name) to keep my SSD relatively clean and store my installed games that I'm not actively playing on a 1 TB HDD.

PSN - Mr_Frisch
XBL - Mr Frisch
Steam - Sneaky Pete
pjb16 is offline  
post #726 of 2300 Old 10-31-2011, 09:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RemoWilliams84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 1,972
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 254
Quote:
Originally Posted by pjb16 View Post

I use a program called "steam mover" (I think that's the name) to keep my SSD relatively clean and store my installed games that I'm not actively playing on a 1 TB HDD.

+1. Steam mover is great. I just moved my whole steam library to my HDD before BF3.

Xbox Gamertag/PSN ID: RemoWilliams84

"I started out with nothing, and I still got most of it." -Seasick Steve

RemoWilliams84 is offline  
post #727 of 2300 Old 10-31-2011, 09:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MSmith83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 57
For moving Steam games to be read off of another drive, an easy DIY option (if you don't like extra programs) is a simple "mklink /J [old directory] [new directory]" command in Windows' command prompt after manually moving the relevant folder(s).
MSmith83 is offline  
post #728 of 2300 Old 10-31-2011, 12:43 PM - Thread Starter
 
darklordjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 93
That's all well and good guys, but I run a pair of 1TB drives in RAID 1. I don't need more space or to move my Steam stuff around, I just need to clean out some junk from my downloads and videos libraries.
darklordjames is offline  
post #729 of 2300 Old 10-31-2011, 12:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RemoWilliams84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 1,972
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 254
Quote:
Originally Posted by MSmith83 View Post

For moving Steam games to be read off of another drive, an easy DIY option (if you don't like extra programs) is a simple "mklink /J [old directory] [new directory]" command in Windows' command prompt after manually moving the relevant folder(s).

That's exactly what steam mover does, just gives you a nice graphical interface that lists all of your steam games and you can do many games at once.

Xbox Gamertag/PSN ID: RemoWilliams84

"I started out with nothing, and I still got most of it." -Seasick Steve

RemoWilliams84 is offline  
post #730 of 2300 Old 10-31-2011, 08:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pcweber111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: In a van, down by the river.
Posts: 3,567
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 264
I have a spare Intel 40V that will have Skyrim on it. I'm wondering how much difference it's going to make. I had a few issues with the loading of outdoor scenes in Oblivion and I hope I don't run into that with this game.
pcweber111 is offline  
post #731 of 2300 Old 11-01-2011, 02:13 PM - Thread Starter
 
darklordjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 93
http://www.humblebundle.com/

Humble Bundle is running again, with Steam keys. Pay $4.50 or more and get three games, including the interesting Binding Of Issac, plus whatever other 2-5 games they add over the next two weeks. Plus you can have all that money go to Child's Play.

You are a bad person if you don't take advantage of this great way to help out kids attached to chemo machines stuck in the hospital.
darklordjames is offline  
post #732 of 2300 Old 11-01-2011, 08:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jhoff80's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4,036
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 154
I've heard really good things about Bastion, which is the midweek deal at $7.50.

Anyone have any thoughts on if that's worth it?

XBL/Steam: JHoff80
jhoff80 is online now  
post #733 of 2300 Old 11-01-2011, 08:40 PM - Thread Starter
 
darklordjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 93
It was well worth my $15. Buy it.
darklordjames is offline  
post #734 of 2300 Old 11-02-2011, 06:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Dashboard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 1,911
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Bastion always interested me, I want to pick it up but my backlog is worst now... and I bought BF3 last night...
Dashboard is offline  
post #735 of 2300 Old 11-02-2011, 12:58 PM - Thread Starter
 
darklordjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Bastion is far more important and deserving of your time than BF3.
darklordjames is offline  
post #736 of 2300 Old 11-02-2011, 01:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dashboard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 1,911
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by darklordjames View Post

Bastion is far more important and deserving of your time than BF3.

It will probably go back on sale for Christmas so I'll pick it up then when I'll have a little more time. I'd also need to buy a 360 controller to play it since I heard the game is nicer with a controller than kb/m combo.

Don't judge me for the BF3, my brother made me buy it
Dashboard is offline  
post #737 of 2300 Old 11-03-2011, 08:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jhoff80's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4,036
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by darklordjames View Post

It was well worth my $15. Buy it.

I played a few levels, and thanks for the good advice.

XBL/Steam: JHoff80
jhoff80 is online now  
post #738 of 2300 Old 11-03-2011, 09:57 PM - Thread Starter
 
darklordjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 93
The art and narration in Bastion are worth the price of admission alone. The fact that there is also a pretty damn fun game there is a bonus. Expect to want to run through it a second time as soon as you finish it. You pick up on a lot more story queues the second time around. Plus a second run really only takes like 90 minutes. It's like Portal in that regard. 3-4 hours the first time, 1.5 hours the second.

Glad you like it!
darklordjames is offline  
post #739 of 2300 Old 11-07-2011, 05:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
tomfoolery_79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 701
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhoff80 View Post

I've heard really good things about Bastion, which is the midweek deal at $7.50.

Anyone have any thoughts on if that's worth it?

I could not get this game to load...and by game I mean the demo. I tried it on two different PC's. One has Window 7 64 bit...the other Windows Vista 32 bit.

Just loaded to a black screen that never went away. Sad.

STEAM: Augcliffe
PSN: Augcliffe
tomfoolery_79 is offline  
post #740 of 2300 Old 11-07-2011, 11:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mpalmieri1203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Pleasant Valley, NY
Posts: 2,642
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Bastion is one of the very best games I've played this year. It's about 8 hours long. I can't wait to see another game from these guys. The soundtrack was also excellent.

mpalmieri1203 is offline  
post #741 of 2300 Old 11-07-2011, 03:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jhoff80's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4,036
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomfoolery_79 View Post

I could not get this game to load...and by game I mean the demo. I tried it on two different PC's. One has Window 7 64 bit...the other Windows Vista 32 bit.

Just loaded to a black screen that never went away. Sad.

Works perfectly for me on Win7 x64. It does have the problem that I've seen with quite a few Steam games now though where every single load it reinstalls the same thing over again (DirectX 9.0c in this case).

XBL/Steam: JHoff80
jhoff80 is online now  
post #742 of 2300 Old 11-07-2011, 05:31 PM - Thread Starter
 
darklordjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 93
That's exactly it, 9.0c is not the same thing from copy to copy, each containing different DLLs. Each install scans your installed DLLs, updates any old ones, and adds any missing ones. Even if you installed "9.0c" before, it may be missing libraries from this particular copy.

Nothing is broken. Nothing is wrong. The DX distribution system is acting as intended.
darklordjames is offline  
post #743 of 2300 Old 11-08-2011, 05:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jhoff80's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4,036
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by darklordjames View Post

That's exactly it, 9.0c is not the same thing from copy to copy, each containing different DLLs. Each install scans your installed DLLs, updates any old ones, and adds any missing ones. Even if you installed "9.0c" before, it may be missing libraries from this particular copy.

Nothing is broken. Nothing is wrong. The DX distribution system is acting as intended.

I understand that, but every time I run Bastion, it installs the same DX9.0c, not just the first time I run Bastion.

The same happens for other games often as well with the XNA Framework and a couple other things.

XBL/Steam: JHoff80
jhoff80 is online now  
post #744 of 2300 Old 11-08-2011, 07:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ferrisg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suburbs of Minneapolis
Posts: 2,522
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhoff80 View Post

I understand that, but every time I run Bastion, it installs the same DX9.0c, not just the first time I run Bastion.

The same happens for other games often as well with the XNA Framework and a couple other things.

That's unusual behavior. I get the standard installing components the first time I run almost any Steam game, but have never seen it happen a second time. Maybe you have a permissions issue. Have you tried running Steam as an administrator and letting the install occur? Or maybe try clearing out Steam (delete everything except steam.exe and the SteamApps folder, then relaunch Steam).
ferrisg is offline  
post #745 of 2300 Old 11-08-2011, 09:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jhoff80's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4,036
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by ferrisg View Post

That's unusual behavior. I get the standard installing components the first time I run almost any Steam game, but have never seen it happen a second time. Maybe you have a permissions issue. Have you tried running Steam as an administrator and letting the install occur? Or maybe try clearing out Steam (delete everything except steam.exe and the SteamApps folder, then relaunch Steam).

Yeah I might have to give that a try when I get a chance, because it used to work correctly for me and only install the required packages once.

XBL/Steam: JHoff80
jhoff80 is online now  
post #746 of 2300 Old 11-08-2011, 11:36 AM - Thread Starter
 
darklordjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Ah, then yes, that is broken behavior. Ferris probably already has your answer.
darklordjames is offline  
post #747 of 2300 Old 11-08-2011, 12:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
tomfoolery_79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 701
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There official forums support thread have a FAQ discussing my problem that basically says "we know there is a problem, we are working on it".

STEAM: Augcliffe
PSN: Augcliffe
tomfoolery_79 is offline  
post #748 of 2300 Old 11-09-2011, 07:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
WiseGuy2k7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 533
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
ARMA series is 50% off this week. I picked up Arma 2: Private Military DLC as I have all the rest.

PSN:The_Wise_Guy
XBL:DirtySanWiseGuy
Steam:The_Wise_Guy
BF4 PC:The_Wise_Guy

WiseGuy2k7 is offline  
post #749 of 2300 Old 11-09-2011, 07:53 AM
Member
 
CubicleDrone's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does anyone think it suspect that the Steam forums are still down? I understand that it was hacked but shouldn't it be back up now? It makes me wonder if Valve is purposely keeping it down to reduce/eliminate negative posts about MW3. Plenty of other forums are debating MW3, but Valve doesn't want that debate on their systems ruining its sales. Just a thought.
CubicleDrone is offline  
post #750 of 2300 Old 11-09-2011, 09:29 AM
Bass Enabler
 
Scott Simonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 13,578
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 347 Post(s)
Liked: 754
Quote:
Originally Posted by WiseGuy2k7 View Post

ARMA series is 50% off this week. I picked up Arma 2: Private Military DLC as I have all the rest.

Cool! Let me know when you have that installed so we can play around in the Armory.

Also, Rage is on sale 33% off or $40. Still dunno about that one though...

My Dual 18" LLT subs 120dB down to 10hz

 

Plan9Reloaded Co-host

Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast (may contain NSFW language)

https://soundcloud.com/plan9reloaded/sets/podcast - direct pod link

http://plan9reloaded.com/site/ - main website

Scott Simonian is offline  
Reply HTPC Gaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off