The Steam Thread - Page 74 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 81Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2191 of 2319 Old 07-05-2014, 03:42 AM
Senior Member
 
lurkor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Fully Integrated Security Technotronic Officer aka Fisto. (some Fallout geek humor there)
lurkor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2192 of 2319 Old 07-08-2014, 10:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Arutha_conDoin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 2,125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 178
Had a weird steam or Wolfenstein issue today. I made my son his own Steam account last night and told him he could start playing any game in my steam library under his own profile. He loaded up Wolfenstein The New Order and started that. When I got home, I logged him out and decided I would login into my account and play the same game. I went to load from the previous chapter and it took me back to a previous step. My son said that was where he left off. After exiting back to the main screen it then showed we had both timelines open. So the only thing I can think of is some how his new game overwrote mine possibly. I know I saved the young guy and he said he saved the Older guy. yet when I look at the timeline for the younger guy it only shows one chapter, and on the older guy is shows chapter 3. I know I got as far as getting on the train with Anya and then that was about it. Has anyone else have this problem? I was hoping with two Steam profiles it would have made two saved game folders, but that does not look like that is the case.

Xbox Live: DaBeavers
PSN- Arutha_conDoin
Steam- An0mander
"Too much knowledge never makes for simple decisions."
-Ghanima Atreides
Arutha_conDoin is online now  
post #2193 of 2319 Old 07-09-2014, 04:04 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bd2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 10,533
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 284 Post(s)
Liked: 1397
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arutha_conDoin View Post
Had a weird steam or Wolfenstein issue today. I made my son his own Steam account last night and told him he could start playing any game in my steam library under his own profile. He loaded up Wolfenstein The New Order and started that. When I got home, I logged him out and decided I would login into my account and play the same game. I went to load from the previous chapter and it took me back to a previous step. My son said that was where he left off. After exiting back to the main screen it then showed we had both timelines open. So the only thing I can think of is some how his new game overwrote mine possibly. I know I saved the young guy and he said he saved the Older guy. yet when I look at the timeline for the younger guy it only shows one chapter, and on the older guy is shows chapter 3. I know I got as far as getting on the train with Anya and then that was about it. Has anyone else have this problem? I was hoping with two Steam profiles it would have made two saved game folders, but that does not look like that is the case.

The saved game is usually per windows account.

Steam/PSN/Xbox Live: Darius510
bd2003 is online now  
post #2194 of 2319 Old 07-09-2014, 05:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Arutha_conDoin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 2,125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 178
I thought it might have used the Steam Cloud for the Saved games. Metro Last night did not have that issue. Which surprised me when Wolfenstein did.

Xbox Live: DaBeavers
PSN- Arutha_conDoin
Steam- An0mander
"Too much knowledge never makes for simple decisions."
-Ghanima Atreides
Arutha_conDoin is online now  
post #2195 of 2319 Old 07-09-2014, 06:21 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bd2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 10,533
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 284 Post(s)
Liked: 1397
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arutha_conDoin View Post
I thought it might have used the Steam Cloud for the Saved games. Metro Last night did not have that issue. Which surprised me when Wolfenstein did.

Maybe steam cloud is overwriting the profile?

Steam/PSN/Xbox Live: Darius510
bd2003 is online now  
post #2196 of 2319 Old 07-09-2014, 08:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
Marafice Eye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Southern Sun, by the galley.
Posts: 907
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 216
It has been achieved... 1,002 games on Steam... The 4 digit barrier has been broken


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
<--- All gamertags listed there -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

__________________________________________________ _
Plan9Reloaded Co-host
Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- direct pod link

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- main website
Marafice Eye is online now  
post #2197 of 2319 Old 07-09-2014, 09:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Arutha_conDoin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 2,125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 178
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marafice Eye View Post
It has been achieved... 1,002 games on Steam... The 4 digit barrier has been broken
I will publicly admit your my hero, but when my wife is around I will say you are a villain to me congrats on the 4 digit barrier.

Xbox Live: DaBeavers
PSN- Arutha_conDoin
Steam- An0mander
"Too much knowledge never makes for simple decisions."
-Ghanima Atreides
Arutha_conDoin is online now  
post #2198 of 2319 Old 07-09-2014, 10:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blastermaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sunny Okanagan
Posts: 1,004
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 122
I figured this would probably be the best place to post this since it directly relates to steam. So...I have my OS on an SSD drive, then my Steam games on a 1TB hybrid SSD drive. In the last few days, I have found that I can play a steam game for about 15-20 min, then it will crash. When I go to "Computer" on Windows 8, my hybrid drive has disappeared which has obviously caused the crash. I will restart the computer and the drive appears again. WTF? Ideas? Help?

blastermaster is online now  
post #2199 of 2319 Old 07-09-2014, 10:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Arutha_conDoin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 2,125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 178
Quote:
Originally Posted by blastermaster View Post
I figured this would probably be the best place to post this since it directly relates to steam. So...I have my OS on an SSD drive, then my Steam games on a 1TB hybrid SSD drive. In the last few days, I have found that I can play a steam game for about 15-20 min, then it will crash. When I go to "Computer" on Windows 8, my hybrid drive has disappeared which has obviously caused the crash. I will restart the computer and the drive appears again. WTF? Ideas? Help?
Go to the Control Panel and then Power option>Change Plan Settings>Advanced Settings> Hard Disks> and turn off Hard drives is set to Never. THat should help.

Xbox Live: DaBeavers
PSN- Arutha_conDoin
Steam- An0mander
"Too much knowledge never makes for simple decisions."
-Ghanima Atreides
Arutha_conDoin is online now  
post #2200 of 2319 Old 07-09-2014, 10:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
Marafice Eye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Southern Sun, by the galley.
Posts: 907
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 216
Quote:
Originally Posted by blastermaster View Post
I figured this would probably be the best place to post this since it directly relates to steam. So...I have my OS on an SSD drive, then my Steam games on a 1TB hybrid SSD drive. In the last few days, I have found that I can play a steam game for about 15-20 min, then it will crash. When I go to "Computer" on Windows 8, my hybrid drive has disappeared which has obviously caused the crash. I will restart the computer and the drive appears again. WTF? Ideas? Help?
Could be a number of things. bad power or data cable, bad sata port on the mother board, a power setting in windows that turns off the drive. Check those first. Otherwise it could be a failing drive, though that should be the last thing to worry about.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
<--- All gamertags listed there -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

__________________________________________________ _
Plan9Reloaded Co-host
Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- direct pod link

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- main website
Marafice Eye is online now  
post #2201 of 2319 Old 07-10-2014, 06:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blastermaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sunny Okanagan
Posts: 1,004
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Thanks guys. I'll try those things. It's a pretty new drive, so I doubt that its dying.

blastermaster is online now  
post #2202 of 2319 Old 07-10-2014, 06:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Arutha_conDoin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 2,125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 178
Quote:
Originally Posted by blastermaster View Post
Thanks guys. I'll try those things. It's a pretty new drive, so I doubt that its dying.
let us know what you find.

Xbox Live: DaBeavers
PSN- Arutha_conDoin
Steam- An0mander
"Too much knowledge never makes for simple decisions."
-Ghanima Atreides
Arutha_conDoin is online now  
post #2203 of 2319 Old 07-13-2014, 06:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Lord_Zath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5,266
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Hey do any of you guys communicate w/each other via mics? If so, what program do you use? I'm so out of touch - last time I used a mic program it was Roger Wilco!

Zath soaring school:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Battlefield 3 AVS stats:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

Remember Nexus

Lord_Zath is offline  
post #2204 of 2319 Old 07-13-2014, 07:15 AM
Bass Enabler
 
Scott Simonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 13,797
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 504 Post(s)
Liked: 820
TeamSpeak or Steam voice chat.
Arutha_conDoin likes this.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

Plan9Reloaded Co-host

Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast (may contain NSFW language)


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- direct pod link


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- main website

Scott Simonian is online now  
post #2205 of 2319 Old 07-13-2014, 11:45 AM
Yrd
AVS Special Member
 
Yrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Elkton, MD
Posts: 2,961
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 156 Post(s)
Liked: 181
Teamspeak or ventrilo, been a while since I compared the two, but I think it was ventrilo that had crappy normalization, or none at all.


You would constantly have to adjust every person's level so you weren't saying "WTF did you just say? Speak up." or "Why are you so loud, please, my eardrums beg you." I hated ventrilo when I had to use it.

XBL Gamertag- Yrd
PSN - Yerd

Steam - Yrd

Yrd is online now  
post #2206 of 2319 Old 07-13-2014, 12:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Lord_Zath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5,266
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 72
thanks for the replies.

I didn't realize Steam had a voice chat function. Will look into it.

Zath soaring school:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Battlefield 3 AVS stats:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

Remember Nexus

Lord_Zath is offline  
post #2207 of 2319 Old 07-13-2014, 03:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
moob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,583
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 45
We use Steam voice chat as well.

We used to use Battlelog's voice chat, but a few months ago EA removed it for whatever stupid reason. It had more configuration options than Steam, which is pretty bare bones. I still have no idea why EA removed that feature. They should have at least included the same functionality into Origin if they were going to remove it.
moob is offline  
post #2208 of 2319 Old 07-13-2014, 08:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Arutha_conDoin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 2,125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 178
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord_Zath View Post
Hey do any of you guys communicate w/each other via mics? If so, what program do you use? I'm so out of touch - last time I used a mic program it was Roger Wilco!
Teamspeak user here. My friend has a public server setup that we use.

Xbox Live: DaBeavers
PSN- Arutha_conDoin
Steam- An0mander
"Too much knowledge never makes for simple decisions."
-Ghanima Atreides
Arutha_conDoin is online now  
post #2209 of 2319 Old 07-13-2014, 08:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Arutha_conDoin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 2,125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 178
Launched Steam today and had a Bioshock Infinite booster pack in my inventory. Any idea how we get booster packs? I have not played this game in some time...

Xbox Live: DaBeavers
PSN- Arutha_conDoin
Steam- An0mander
"Too much knowledge never makes for simple decisions."
-Ghanima Atreides
Arutha_conDoin is online now  
post #2210 of 2319 Old 07-13-2014, 08:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Lord_Zath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5,266
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arutha_conDoin View Post
Launched Steam today and had a Bioshock Infinite booster pack in my inventory. Any idea how we get booster packs? I have not played this game in some time...
Booster pack eligibility is based on 1. having all card drops from a game, and 2. being an active user - logging in once a day or something like that.

Zath soaring school:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Battlefield 3 AVS stats:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

Remember Nexus

Lord_Zath is offline  
post #2211 of 2319 Old 07-13-2014, 10:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Arutha_conDoin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 2,125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 178
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord_Zath View Post
Booster pack eligibility is based on 1. having all card drops from a game, and 2. being an active user - logging in once a day or something like that.
Thanks. I'll take it.

Xbox Live: DaBeavers
PSN- Arutha_conDoin
Steam- An0mander
"Too much knowledge never makes for simple decisions."
-Ghanima Atreides
Arutha_conDoin is online now  
post #2212 of 2319 Old 07-14-2014, 04:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
Marafice Eye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Southern Sun, by the galley.
Posts: 907
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 216
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arutha_conDoin View Post
Teamspeak user here. My friend has a public server setup that we use.
Same here, I host a 512 slot server from my house that me and my friends use
barrelbelly likes this.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
<--- All gamertags listed there -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

__________________________________________________ _
Plan9Reloaded Co-host
Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- direct pod link

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- main website
Marafice Eye is online now  
post #2213 of 2319 Old 07-14-2014, 12:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
barrelbelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,696
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 232
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marafice Eye View Post
Same here, I host a 512 slot server from my house that me and my friends use
Great video capture on Twitch eye. Slo-Mo captures were insane!
barrelbelly is offline  
post #2214 of 2319 Old 07-14-2014, 12:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
Marafice Eye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Southern Sun, by the galley.
Posts: 907
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 216
Quote:
Originally Posted by barrelbelly View Post
Great video capture on Twitch eye. Slo-Mo captures were insane!
Well that's the game itself, and one of the main reasons I love the Sniper Elite series. Gonna be playing again soon, was busy this past weekend with the pre-release tournaments for the Magic the Gathering 2015 Core set. And now that Scott's got himself running SLI, it'll be much more fun for him


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
<--- All gamertags listed there -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

__________________________________________________ _
Plan9Reloaded Co-host
Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- direct pod link

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- main website
Marafice Eye is online now  
post #2215 of 2319 Old 07-14-2014, 01:42 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bd2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 10,533
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 284 Post(s)
Liked: 1397
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marafice Eye View Post
Well that's the game itself, and one of the main reasons I love the Sniper Elite series. Gonna be playing again soon, was busy this past weekend with the pre-release tournaments for the Magic the Gathering 2015 Core set. And now that Scott's got himself running SLI, it'll be much more fun for him

Heh, I wonder what my old MTG cards are worth nowadays? I must have a few hundred or so stashed away since like 1995. Mostly 3rd-4th edition and expansions from that era. Can you even still use those?

Steam/PSN/Xbox Live: Darius510
bd2003 is online now  
post #2216 of 2319 Old 07-14-2014, 01:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
Marafice Eye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Southern Sun, by the galley.
Posts: 907
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 216
Quote:
Originally Posted by bd2003 View Post
Heh, I wonder what my old MTG cards are worth nowadays? I must have a few hundred or so stashed away since like 1995. Mostly 3rd-4th edition and expansions from that era. Can you even still use those?
In casual play sure, and in Legacy events excepting any banned or restricted cards. Some 3rd edition (aka Revised) are worth quite a bit depending on condition. I originally started playing in '95 shortly after 4th Ed came out. Played until 2001, collected probably 1000 or more cards, then stopped playing. All my old cards are buried in a box somewhere at my mini-storage unit lol. Started playing again in March, it's a ton of fun again.

Played in 4 tourneys over the weekend, 3-1 in the first, 2-2 in the second, 4-0'd the 3rd tourney and took 1st place, 2-2 the 4th. A good weekend though, card value alone that I acquired easily covered the entry cost.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
<--- All gamertags listed there -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

__________________________________________________ _
Plan9Reloaded Co-host
Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- direct pod link

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- main website
Marafice Eye is online now  
post #2217 of 2319 Old 07-14-2014, 03:00 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bd2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 10,533
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 284 Post(s)
Liked: 1397
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marafice Eye View Post
In casual play sure, and in Legacy events excepting any banned or restricted cards. Some 3rd edition (aka Revised) are worth quite a bit depending on condition. I originally started playing in '95 shortly after 4th Ed came out. Played until 2001, collected probably 1000 or more cards, then stopped playing. All my old cards are buried in a box somewhere at my mini-storage unit lol. Started playing again in March, it's a ton of fun again.

Played in 4 tourneys over the weekend, 3-1 in the first, 2-2 in the second, 4-0'd the 3rd tourney and took 1st place, 2-2 the 4th. A good weekend though, card value alone that I acquired easily covered the entry cost.

Ya, I used to have a blast playing MTG back in the day. I always buy the game every year. I'm still kinda amazed they kept it going all these years.

Steam/PSN/Xbox Live: Darius510
bd2003 is online now  
post #2218 of 2319 Old 07-15-2014, 08:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Arutha_conDoin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 2,125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 178
I got Sniper Elite 3 free with my R9 280X. Pretty fun game and the Slo Mo on that is even better then the Second. Looking forward to co oping it with a friend.
barrelbelly likes this.

Xbox Live: DaBeavers
PSN- Arutha_conDoin
Steam- An0mander
"Too much knowledge never makes for simple decisions."
-Ghanima Atreides
Arutha_conDoin is online now  
post #2219 of 2319 Old 07-15-2014, 01:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
barrelbelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,696
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 232
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arutha_conDoin View Post
I got Sniper Elite 3 free with my R9 280X. Pretty fun game and the Slo Mo on that is even better then the Second. Looking forward to co oping it with a friend.
What's your take on the R9 280X? I'm lusting after that one ...Big Time! Right now I'm running the HD 7870. And it is beasting every game I feed it.
barrelbelly is offline  
post #2220 of 2319 Old 07-15-2014, 10:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Arutha_conDoin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 2,125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 178
Quote:
Originally Posted by barrelbelly View Post
What's your take on the R9 280X? I'm lusting after that one ...Big Time! Right now I'm running the HD 7870. And it is beasting every game I feed it.
Loving my XFX 280X! Sniper 3 I set everything to Ultra and res at 1080 and FPS was 75-100. Even better is the fan is quiet. I Have MSI afterburner setup for autoprofile and I have yet to hear the fan spin up on high. Core clock is factory set at 1080Mhz and it has a dual fan for cooling. Fan speed never goes above 60% when gaming so far and that is with 100% GPU utilization and temps are no higher than 61C. Only issue is I have a random atimakdag driver error with chrome that makes my PC reboot, but with my SSD it only takes 10 seconds for that to come back. It does not occur all that often for me to really trouble shoot either.

So far every game has performed very well at Ultra settings. Only game that I am worried about is Witcher 3 when it comes out, and I may cheat and possibly try and pick up another 280X

@bd2003 has helped me with OCing my i5 3.4Ghz to a stable 4.5ghz which was fun to do. I also didn't realize my memory that installed defaulted to a lower timing setting so I had to go in and change the profile to XMP so I know have 9-9-9-24 out of that. Only bummer part is I forgot to do benchmarks before I started tweaking everything so no idea on how much of a gain I have since the original build. A simple profile change would put everything back the way it was to find out.
barrelbelly likes this.

Xbox Live: DaBeavers
PSN- Arutha_conDoin
Steam- An0mander
"Too much knowledge never makes for simple decisions."
-Ghanima Atreides
Arutha_conDoin is online now  
Reply HTPC Gaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off