The Steam Thread - Page 74 - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Gaming & Content Streaming > Home Theater Gaming > HTPC Gaming > The Steam Thread

HTPC Gaming

lurkor's Avatar lurkor
04:42 AM Liked: 21
post #2191 of 2431
07-05-2014 | Posts: 381
Joined: Jun 2010
Fully Integrated Security Technotronic Officer aka Fisto. (some Fallout geek humor there)
Arutha_conDoin's Avatar Arutha_conDoin
11:16 PM Liked: 201
post #2192 of 2431
07-08-2014 | Posts: 2,286
Joined: Mar 2006
Had a weird steam or Wolfenstein issue today. I made my son his own Steam account last night and told him he could start playing any game in my steam library under his own profile. He loaded up Wolfenstein The New Order and started that. When I got home, I logged him out and decided I would login into my account and play the same game. I went to load from the previous chapter and it took me back to a previous step. My son said that was where he left off. After exiting back to the main screen it then showed we had both timelines open. So the only thing I can think of is some how his new game overwrote mine possibly. I know I saved the young guy and he said he saved the Older guy. yet when I look at the timeline for the younger guy it only shows one chapter, and on the older guy is shows chapter 3. I know I got as far as getting on the train with Anya and then that was about it. Has anyone else have this problem? I was hoping with two Steam profiles it would have made two saved game folders, but that does not look like that is the case.
bd2003's Avatar bd2003
05:04 AM Liked: 1468
post #2193 of 2431
07-09-2014 | Posts: 10,857
Joined: Jun 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arutha_conDoin View Post
Had a weird steam or Wolfenstein issue today. I made my son his own Steam account last night and told him he could start playing any game in my steam library under his own profile. He loaded up Wolfenstein The New Order and started that. When I got home, I logged him out and decided I would login into my account and play the same game. I went to load from the previous chapter and it took me back to a previous step. My son said that was where he left off. After exiting back to the main screen it then showed we had both timelines open. So the only thing I can think of is some how his new game overwrote mine possibly. I know I saved the young guy and he said he saved the Older guy. yet when I look at the timeline for the younger guy it only shows one chapter, and on the older guy is shows chapter 3. I know I got as far as getting on the train with Anya and then that was about it. Has anyone else have this problem? I was hoping with two Steam profiles it would have made two saved game folders, but that does not look like that is the case.

The saved game is usually per windows account.
Arutha_conDoin's Avatar Arutha_conDoin
06:23 AM Liked: 201
post #2194 of 2431
07-09-2014 | Posts: 2,286
Joined: Mar 2006
I thought it might have used the Steam Cloud for the Saved games. Metro Last night did not have that issue. Which surprised me when Wolfenstein did.
bd2003's Avatar bd2003
07:21 AM Liked: 1468
post #2195 of 2431
07-09-2014 | Posts: 10,857
Joined: Jun 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arutha_conDoin View Post
I thought it might have used the Steam Cloud for the Saved games. Metro Last night did not have that issue. Which surprised me when Wolfenstein did.

Maybe steam cloud is overwriting the profile?
Marafice Eye's Avatar Marafice Eye
09:17 PM Liked: 234
post #2196 of 2431
07-09-2014 | Posts: 944
Joined: Jul 2012
It has been achieved... 1,002 games on Steam... The 4 digit barrier has been broken
Arutha_conDoin's Avatar Arutha_conDoin
10:16 PM Liked: 201
post #2197 of 2431
07-09-2014 | Posts: 2,286
Joined: Mar 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marafice Eye View Post
It has been achieved... 1,002 games on Steam... The 4 digit barrier has been broken
I will publicly admit your my hero, but when my wife is around I will say you are a villain to me congrats on the 4 digit barrier.
blastermaster's Avatar blastermaster
11:45 PM Liked: 140
post #2198 of 2431
07-09-2014 | Posts: 1,040
Joined: May 2005
I figured this would probably be the best place to post this since it directly relates to steam. So...I have my OS on an SSD drive, then my Steam games on a 1TB hybrid SSD drive. In the last few days, I have found that I can play a steam game for about 15-20 min, then it will crash. When I go to "Computer" on Windows 8, my hybrid drive has disappeared which has obviously caused the crash. I will restart the computer and the drive appears again. WTF? Ideas? Help?
Arutha_conDoin's Avatar Arutha_conDoin
11:49 PM Liked: 201
post #2199 of 2431
07-09-2014 | Posts: 2,286
Joined: Mar 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by blastermaster View Post
I figured this would probably be the best place to post this since it directly relates to steam. So...I have my OS on an SSD drive, then my Steam games on a 1TB hybrid SSD drive. In the last few days, I have found that I can play a steam game for about 15-20 min, then it will crash. When I go to "Computer" on Windows 8, my hybrid drive has disappeared which has obviously caused the crash. I will restart the computer and the drive appears again. WTF? Ideas? Help?
Go to the Control Panel and then Power option>Change Plan Settings>Advanced Settings> Hard Disks> and turn off Hard drives is set to Never. THat should help.
Marafice Eye's Avatar Marafice Eye
11:51 PM Liked: 234
post #2200 of 2431
07-09-2014 | Posts: 944
Joined: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by blastermaster View Post
I figured this would probably be the best place to post this since it directly relates to steam. So...I have my OS on an SSD drive, then my Steam games on a 1TB hybrid SSD drive. In the last few days, I have found that I can play a steam game for about 15-20 min, then it will crash. When I go to "Computer" on Windows 8, my hybrid drive has disappeared which has obviously caused the crash. I will restart the computer and the drive appears again. WTF? Ideas? Help?
Could be a number of things. bad power or data cable, bad sata port on the mother board, a power setting in windows that turns off the drive. Check those first. Otherwise it could be a failing drive, though that should be the last thing to worry about.
blastermaster's Avatar blastermaster
07:40 AM Liked: 140
post #2201 of 2431
07-10-2014 | Posts: 1,040
Joined: May 2005
Thanks guys. I'll try those things. It's a pretty new drive, so I doubt that its dying.
Arutha_conDoin's Avatar Arutha_conDoin
07:09 PM Liked: 201
post #2202 of 2431
07-10-2014 | Posts: 2,286
Joined: Mar 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by blastermaster View Post
Thanks guys. I'll try those things. It's a pretty new drive, so I doubt that its dying.
let us know what you find.
Lord_Zath's Avatar Lord_Zath
07:56 AM Liked: 75
post #2203 of 2431
07-13-2014 | Posts: 5,300
Joined: Jul 2008
Hey do any of you guys communicate w/each other via mics? If so, what program do you use? I'm so out of touch - last time I used a mic program it was Roger Wilco!
Scott Simonian's Avatar Scott Simonian
08:15 AM Liked: 1039
post #2204 of 2431
07-13-2014 | Posts: 14,326
Joined: Oct 2001
TeamSpeak or Steam voice chat.
Yrd's Avatar Yrd
12:45 PM Liked: 192
post #2205 of 2431
07-13-2014 | Posts: 3,008
Joined: Mar 2008
Teamspeak or ventrilo, been a while since I compared the two, but I think it was ventrilo that had crappy normalization, or none at all.


You would constantly have to adjust every person's level so you weren't saying "WTF did you just say? Speak up." or "Why are you so loud, please, my eardrums beg you." I hated ventrilo when I had to use it.
Lord_Zath's Avatar Lord_Zath
01:11 PM Liked: 75
post #2206 of 2431
07-13-2014 | Posts: 5,300
Joined: Jul 2008
thanks for the replies.

I didn't realize Steam had a voice chat function. Will look into it.
moob's Avatar moob
04:33 PM Liked: 48
post #2207 of 2431
07-13-2014 | Posts: 1,597
Joined: Jan 2008
We use Steam voice chat as well.

We used to use Battlelog's voice chat, but a few months ago EA removed it for whatever stupid reason. It had more configuration options than Steam, which is pretty bare bones. I still have no idea why EA removed that feature. They should have at least included the same functionality into Origin if they were going to remove it.
Arutha_conDoin's Avatar Arutha_conDoin
09:04 PM Liked: 201
post #2208 of 2431
07-13-2014 | Posts: 2,286
Joined: Mar 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord_Zath View Post
Hey do any of you guys communicate w/each other via mics? If so, what program do you use? I'm so out of touch - last time I used a mic program it was Roger Wilco!
Teamspeak user here. My friend has a public server setup that we use.
Arutha_conDoin's Avatar Arutha_conDoin
09:05 PM Liked: 201
post #2209 of 2431
07-13-2014 | Posts: 2,286
Joined: Mar 2006
Launched Steam today and had a Bioshock Infinite booster pack in my inventory. Any idea how we get booster packs? I have not played this game in some time...
Lord_Zath's Avatar Lord_Zath
09:41 PM Liked: 75
post #2210 of 2431
07-13-2014 | Posts: 5,300
Joined: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arutha_conDoin View Post
Launched Steam today and had a Bioshock Infinite booster pack in my inventory. Any idea how we get booster packs? I have not played this game in some time...
Booster pack eligibility is based on 1. having all card drops from a game, and 2. being an active user - logging in once a day or something like that.
Arutha_conDoin's Avatar Arutha_conDoin
11:23 PM Liked: 201
post #2211 of 2431
07-13-2014 | Posts: 2,286
Joined: Mar 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord_Zath View Post
Booster pack eligibility is based on 1. having all card drops from a game, and 2. being an active user - logging in once a day or something like that.
Thanks. I'll take it.
Marafice Eye's Avatar Marafice Eye
05:00 AM Liked: 234
post #2212 of 2431
07-14-2014 | Posts: 944
Joined: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arutha_conDoin View Post
Teamspeak user here. My friend has a public server setup that we use.
Same here, I host a 512 slot server from my house that me and my friends use
barrelbelly's Avatar barrelbelly
01:08 PM Liked: 236
post #2213 of 2431
07-14-2014 | Posts: 1,740
Joined: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marafice Eye View Post
Same here, I host a 512 slot server from my house that me and my friends use
Great video capture on Twitch eye. Slo-Mo captures were insane!
Marafice Eye's Avatar Marafice Eye
01:16 PM Liked: 234
post #2214 of 2431
07-14-2014 | Posts: 944
Joined: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by barrelbelly View Post
Great video capture on Twitch eye. Slo-Mo captures were insane!
Well that's the game itself, and one of the main reasons I love the Sniper Elite series. Gonna be playing again soon, was busy this past weekend with the pre-release tournaments for the Magic the Gathering 2015 Core set. And now that Scott's got himself running SLI, it'll be much more fun for him
bd2003's Avatar bd2003
02:42 PM Liked: 1468
post #2215 of 2431
07-14-2014 | Posts: 10,857
Joined: Jun 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marafice Eye View Post
Well that's the game itself, and one of the main reasons I love the Sniper Elite series. Gonna be playing again soon, was busy this past weekend with the pre-release tournaments for the Magic the Gathering 2015 Core set. And now that Scott's got himself running SLI, it'll be much more fun for him

Heh, I wonder what my old MTG cards are worth nowadays? I must have a few hundred or so stashed away since like 1995. Mostly 3rd-4th edition and expansions from that era. Can you even still use those?
Marafice Eye's Avatar Marafice Eye
02:50 PM Liked: 234
post #2216 of 2431
07-14-2014 | Posts: 944
Joined: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by bd2003 View Post
Heh, I wonder what my old MTG cards are worth nowadays? I must have a few hundred or so stashed away since like 1995. Mostly 3rd-4th edition and expansions from that era. Can you even still use those?
In casual play sure, and in Legacy events excepting any banned or restricted cards. Some 3rd edition (aka Revised) are worth quite a bit depending on condition. I originally started playing in '95 shortly after 4th Ed came out. Played until 2001, collected probably 1000 or more cards, then stopped playing. All my old cards are buried in a box somewhere at my mini-storage unit lol. Started playing again in March, it's a ton of fun again.

Played in 4 tourneys over the weekend, 3-1 in the first, 2-2 in the second, 4-0'd the 3rd tourney and took 1st place, 2-2 the 4th. A good weekend though, card value alone that I acquired easily covered the entry cost.
bd2003's Avatar bd2003
04:00 PM Liked: 1468
post #2217 of 2431
07-14-2014 | Posts: 10,857
Joined: Jun 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marafice Eye View Post
In casual play sure, and in Legacy events excepting any banned or restricted cards. Some 3rd edition (aka Revised) are worth quite a bit depending on condition. I originally started playing in '95 shortly after 4th Ed came out. Played until 2001, collected probably 1000 or more cards, then stopped playing. All my old cards are buried in a box somewhere at my mini-storage unit lol. Started playing again in March, it's a ton of fun again.

Played in 4 tourneys over the weekend, 3-1 in the first, 2-2 in the second, 4-0'd the 3rd tourney and took 1st place, 2-2 the 4th. A good weekend though, card value alone that I acquired easily covered the entry cost.

Ya, I used to have a blast playing MTG back in the day. I always buy the game every year. I'm still kinda amazed they kept it going all these years.
Arutha_conDoin's Avatar Arutha_conDoin
09:38 AM Liked: 201
post #2218 of 2431
07-15-2014 | Posts: 2,286
Joined: Mar 2006
I got Sniper Elite 3 free with my R9 280X. Pretty fun game and the Slo Mo on that is even better then the Second. Looking forward to co oping it with a friend.
barrelbelly's Avatar barrelbelly
02:21 PM Liked: 236
post #2219 of 2431
07-15-2014 | Posts: 1,740
Joined: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arutha_conDoin View Post
I got Sniper Elite 3 free with my R9 280X. Pretty fun game and the Slo Mo on that is even better then the Second. Looking forward to co oping it with a friend.
What's your take on the R9 280X? I'm lusting after that one ...Big Time! Right now I'm running the HD 7870. And it is beasting every game I feed it.
Arutha_conDoin's Avatar Arutha_conDoin
11:12 PM Liked: 201
post #2220 of 2431
07-15-2014 | Posts: 2,286
Joined: Mar 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by barrelbelly View Post
What's your take on the R9 280X? I'm lusting after that one ...Big Time! Right now I'm running the HD 7870. And it is beasting every game I feed it.
Loving my XFX 280X! Sniper 3 I set everything to Ultra and res at 1080 and FPS was 75-100. Even better is the fan is quiet. I Have MSI afterburner setup for autoprofile and I have yet to hear the fan spin up on high. Core clock is factory set at 1080Mhz and it has a dual fan for cooling. Fan speed never goes above 60% when gaming so far and that is with 100% GPU utilization and temps are no higher than 61C. Only issue is I have a random atimakdag driver error with chrome that makes my PC reboot, but with my SSD it only takes 10 seconds for that to come back. It does not occur all that often for me to really trouble shoot either.

So far every game has performed very well at Ultra settings. Only game that I am worried about is Witcher 3 when it comes out, and I may cheat and possibly try and pick up another 280X

@bd2003 has helped me with OCing my i5 3.4Ghz to a stable 4.5ghz which was fun to do. I also didn't realize my memory that installed defaulted to a lower timing setting so I had to go in and change the profile to XMP so I know have 9-9-9-24 out of that. Only bummer part is I forgot to do benchmarks before I started tweaking everything so no idea on how much of a gain I have since the original build. A simple profile change would put everything back the way it was to find out.

Reply HTPC Gaming

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3