My triple monitor gaming setup (with pics!!) - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 48 Old 09-20-2010, 02:14 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
tomfoolery_79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 701
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys just wanted to throw up my pictures from my build. I started from the ground up...new case, mobo, monitors, desk, etc.


specs:
i7-930
6GB-1600 Corsair Dominator RAM
Gigabyte X58A-UD5 mobo
64GB Patriot SSD
1TB Seagate Barricuda storage drive
x3 Dell U2410 monitors
Corsair H70 CPU cooler
Silverstone FT02
G15 logitech keyboard
G7 logitech mouse

First the finished product...








Next, more pics of the building...









This was the old setup


STEAM: Augcliffe
PSN: Augcliffe
tomfoolery_79 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 48 Old 09-20-2010, 03:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
257Tony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Syracuse
Posts: 2,012
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Sweet setup! Do you love your Silverstone case? My brother has one and really likes it. Have you tried any games on that setup with your 460's yet? Let us know how it runs!
257Tony is offline  
post #3 of 48 Old 09-20-2010, 03:19 PM
Bass Enabler
 
Scott Simonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 14,320
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 863 Post(s)
Liked: 1033
SSssssssssiiiiiiccckkkk!!! Just how I pictured it too!

You're gonna have lots of fun with that. Now ... get your ass on to Steam for some Borderlands.

My Dual 18" LLT subs 120dB down to 10hz

 

Plan9Reloaded Co-host

Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast (may contain NSFW language)

https://soundcloud.com/plan9reloaded/sets/podcast - direct pod link

http://plan9reloaded.com/site/ - main website

Scott Simonian is online now  
post #4 of 48 Old 09-20-2010, 04:03 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
tomfoolery_79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 701
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks guys...I do love the case. I had some problems with stripped screws and trying to get the mobo in because of it. Other than that this case is excellent for air cooling.

I haven't had a chance to do much game testing, but will likely tonight. Will try and upload youtube vids when I can. I'll link those here.

STEAM: Augcliffe
PSN: Augcliffe
tomfoolery_79 is offline  
post #5 of 48 Old 09-20-2010, 08:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pcweber111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: In a van, down by the river.
Posts: 3,568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 265
Nice build, well done, always fun to see people unveil their new rigs.
pcweber111 is offline  
post #6 of 48 Old 09-20-2010, 09:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
KoRn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nice and clean. Well done. How do you like that Logitech keyboard? Thinking about getting that one myself.
KoRn is offline  
post #7 of 48 Old 09-20-2010, 10:02 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
tomfoolery_79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 701
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So far so good Korn, but ask me in a few weeks. I've only used it briefly

STEAM: Augcliffe
PSN: Augcliffe
tomfoolery_79 is offline  
post #8 of 48 Old 09-20-2010, 10:04 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Bezels!!!

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #9 of 48 Old 09-20-2010, 10:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
hdtv47lg70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: louisville ky
Posts: 517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
beautiful... GREAT MONITORS!!!
hdtv47lg70 is offline  
post #10 of 48 Old 09-21-2010, 06:14 AM
Senior Member
 
GKMad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 456
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Was that one pic of a game that was only on the middle monitor? Can you take a few more pics of games running across all 3 monitors?
GKMad is offline  
post #11 of 48 Old 09-21-2010, 06:40 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
tomfoolery_79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 701
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GKMad View Post

Was that one pic of a game that was only on the middle monitor? Can you take a few more pics of games running across all 3 monitors?

Getting this all up and running hasn't been exactly smooth. TF2 works flawlessly. Borderlands is the other one I've tried and so far it haven't worked. I haven't tried other games as I just got this up and running on Sunday. Actually, here is DA:O too





You can see how Borderlands is screwed up by looking at the lettering on the left. Not sure if there is a fix or not.


STEAM: Augcliffe
PSN: Augcliffe
tomfoolery_79 is offline  
post #12 of 48 Old 09-21-2010, 06:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Dashboard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 2,008
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 75
I'm jealous


nice setup,enjoy it!!!!!!
Dashboard is offline  
post #13 of 48 Old 09-21-2010, 06:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MSmith83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Clean and tidy. I like it!!!
MSmith83 is offline  
post #14 of 48 Old 09-21-2010, 10:37 AM
Bass Enabler
 
Scott Simonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 14,320
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 863 Post(s)
Liked: 1033
Quote:
Originally Posted by MSmith83 View Post

Clean and tidy. I like it!!!

Sure is and THANK YOU for that clip. Perfectly explains the red text describing the sniper rifle I was using last night in Borderlands.

Yep, definitely was grinding gears last night with BL and the tri-monitor setup. Bunch of Steam/Gamespy BS getting in the way too for a truely frustrating evening. I think you were about ready to put your fist through your new monitor.

BTW, you posted some great pictures but would it be cool to list out all the components of your build?

Anyway, good luck, Jake. Hopefully we'll see you on Steam later.

My Dual 18" LLT subs 120dB down to 10hz

 

Plan9Reloaded Co-host

Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast (may contain NSFW language)

https://soundcloud.com/plan9reloaded/sets/podcast - direct pod link

http://plan9reloaded.com/site/ - main website

Scott Simonian is online now  
post #15 of 48 Old 09-21-2010, 03:15 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
tomfoolery_79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 701
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Simonian View Post

Sure is and THANK YOU for that clip. Perfectly explains the red text describing the sniper rifle I was using last night in Borderlands.

Yep, definitely was grinding gears last night with BL and the tri-monitor setup. Bunch of Steam/Gamespy BS getting in the way too for a truely frustrating evening. I think you were about ready to put your fist through your new monitor.

BTW, you posted some great pictures but would it be cool to list out all the components of your build?

Anyway, good luck, Jake. Hopefully we'll see you on Steam later.

Updated with specs.

STEAM: Augcliffe
PSN: Augcliffe
tomfoolery_79 is offline  
post #16 of 48 Old 09-22-2010, 02:03 AM
 
darklordjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Keep us posted on how three monitors ends up working out for you. Come tax time, I'm leaning heavily toward tossing 3 24" monitors plus a pair of GTX 450/460s at my system.
darklordjames is offline  
post #17 of 48 Old 09-22-2010, 03:42 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
tomfoolery_79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 701
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by darklordjames View Post

Keep us posted on how three monitors ends up working out for you. Come tax time, I'm leaning heavily toward tossing 3 24" monitors plus a pair of GTX 450/460s at my system.

I've developed some thoughts and opinions, but let me give it some more time. I can tell you right now that Just Cause 2 and Bad Company 2 so far look AMAZING in tri-monitor mode.

STEAM: Augcliffe
PSN: Augcliffe
tomfoolery_79 is offline  
post #18 of 48 Old 09-25-2010, 06:22 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
tomfoolery_79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 701
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Update for anyone who cares:

Point of clarification...this is Nvidia Surround, NOT 3D surround.

I had to add a sound card because, I like a lot of people, just assumed that onboard sound would do 5.1 surround through SPDIF. Anywho, so now I have a Auzentech Bravura sound card.

I wanted to comment and say that Nvidia surround is NOT exactly plug and play. It is not ready for main stream. There is simply too much tweaking and annoyances it seems. Of course, it's possibly just me. With that said, once you get it set up it's awesome!!!! It takes some getting used to, but it is awesome!!

I purposely waited to play Just Cause 2 for this setup and it feels like Just Cause 2 was MADE for triple screen gaming. IT IS ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL. It doesn't hurt that JC2 is one of the best games I've played since Crysis either.

My intent is still to take some video and through it up on Youtube. I'll post links when I do that.

STEAM: Augcliffe
PSN: Augcliffe
tomfoolery_79 is offline  
post #19 of 48 Old 09-25-2010, 08:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WJonathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,766
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomfoolery_79 View Post

I purposely waited to play Just Cause 2 for this setup and it feels like Just Cause 2 was MADE for triple screen gaming. IT IS ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL.

I'd like to see a few pics of that when you get a chance.
WJonathan is offline  
post #20 of 48 Old 09-25-2010, 04:41 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
tomfoolery_79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 701
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WJonathan View Post

I'd like to see a few pics of that when you get a chance.

This was recorded with my iPhone so obviously it doesn't look great. Also anytime there are bright colors on the screen the video washes out. You get the idea though. Take my word for it though, it's beautiful.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DdKZ2RzCbjw

STEAM: Augcliffe
PSN: Augcliffe
tomfoolery_79 is offline  
post #21 of 48 Old 09-26-2010, 01:10 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Is two 460s enough to drive 3-displays? It's only slightly more beefy than a single 295. You certainly couldn't do 3-way 3D because you'd have to do 120Hz on each display. I would think two 480s would have made a better choice for more demanding games.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #22 of 48 Old 09-26-2010, 01:33 AM
 
darklordjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Two 480's also would have cost 2.5x as much. Not everybody has piles of money to throw away on video cards. As long as tomfoolery is happy with only 90% of the image quality that those 480's would have given him, then a pair of 460s will run those three 1080p monitors just fine for a good two years until he has to start dropping to "medium" in games. Hell, they even would have been fine for 3D.
darklordjames is offline  
post #23 of 48 Old 09-26-2010, 05:54 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
tomfoolery_79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 701
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
At a res of 6022 x 1200 I'm getting avg of 30 FPS with most things on high. I do have to drop the anti-aliasing to 4x and a couple things to medium. So it's certainly not maxed out graphically. I could probably max it all out if I was just doing 1920 x 1200. As you may or may not know Just Cause 2 is a VERY taxing game. With that said, I'm a little upset my build can't max out everything currently out there. If I would have known how beautiful JC2 is, I just may have pissed my wife off more and gotten some 480's. She already doesn't comprehend 3 screen glory.
The reason I went with the 460's is because of lower energy (saved on higher PSU), lower cost and 2 of them was roughly 15% better performance than a single 480. On "lesser" games like TF2 I'm getting 100 FPS 6022 x 1200 with it COMPLETELY maxed out. Although it looks like I had money to burn on this set up, I bargain hunted everything. The only thing I really paid at MSRP was in fact the video cards. These are the EVGA 460 1GB superclocked versions with lifetime warranty. Newegg had them for $250 each.

(*sorry for any spelling and grammar, I'm heading out the door*)

STEAM: Augcliffe
PSN: Augcliffe
tomfoolery_79 is offline  
post #24 of 48 Old 09-26-2010, 07:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MSmith83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 68
That looks great. A three-display setup seems to make one of the most fun games even more fun.

Speaking of which, I really need to get back to playing Just Cause 2. I played many, many hours of this game in the first couple of months after release, yet I'm only at somewhere around 60% completion.
MSmith83 is offline  
post #25 of 48 Old 09-27-2010, 07:48 AM
Senior Member
 
drew91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Very nice.

Glad to hear that the 460s are enough. I just ordered my 2nd one as I piece together a similar setup. Turning down some of the eye candy for some extra immersion seems like a fair trade to me.

PSN: Drew919

Origin ID: Drew919
drew91 is offline  
post #26 of 48 Old 09-27-2010, 07:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
257Tony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Syracuse
Posts: 2,012
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by MSmith83 View Post

That looks great. A three-display setup seems to make one of the most fun games even more fun.

Speaking of which, I really need to get back to playing Just Cause 2. I played many, many hours of this game in the first couple of months after release, yet I'm only at somewhere around 60% completion.

I'm right around 95% and having a tough time staying dedicated to get to 100%. I'm now at the point where I have completed every city/village, found all the gang stuff (drug drops, black boxes, etc) and am now having to find the random stuff that's not on the map.
257Tony is offline  
post #27 of 48 Old 09-28-2010, 05:47 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
tomfoolery_79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 701
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 257Tony View Post

I'm right around 95% and having a tough time staying dedicated to get to 100%. I'm now at the point where I have completed every city/village, found all the gang stuff (drug drops, black boxes, etc) and am now having to find the random stuff that's not on the map.

Isn't there a fan site or online resource that has every little thing discovered?

STEAM: Augcliffe
PSN: Augcliffe
tomfoolery_79 is offline  
post #28 of 48 Old 10-01-2010, 07:12 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
tomfoolery_79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 701
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can confirm that Dirt 2 and Psychonauts work and looks very good!! I can also confirm now in hindsight that pushing pixels on 3 monitors I should have probably done 470's or 480's in SLI... That is expensive like mentioned earlier, but for many games to run at 6022x1200 I have to turn some settings to medium and turn AA to 2X or 4X. Most modern games I'm getting around 30fps, even then it drops to low 20's often. It's not consistent as maps and environments change.

I've also noticed that I can't record with Fraps movies because the extra demand on the system is enough to crash the game...that's pretty disappointing too.

STEAM: Augcliffe
PSN: Augcliffe
tomfoolery_79 is offline  
post #29 of 48 Old 10-01-2010, 11:23 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Are you overclocking them? The 460 has a lot of headroom.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #30 of 48 Old 10-02-2010, 05:54 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
tomfoolery_79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 701
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveFi View Post

Are you overclocking them? The 460 has a lot of headroom.

They come factory overclocked:
# Core Clock: 763MHz
# Shader Clock: 1526MHz
# Stream Processors: 336 Processor Cores

Is there a way to "safely" unlock more cores or overclock even further? I'm always a bit hesitant to OC stuff.

STEAM: Augcliffe
PSN: Augcliffe
tomfoolery_79 is offline  
Reply HTPC Gaming



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off