The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim - Official Trailer - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 223 Old 12-30-2011, 03:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HeadRusch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 9,842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveFi View Post

Heh. My 2600 runs stable with factory mobo default oc settings at 4.8 w/ $30 212 Hyper Cooler+. I've gotten it stable over 5.0GHz but I didn't want to push it...

I'm so glad for you.

If you can get it stable at 5.0 why don't you run it at 5. the jump from 4.6 to 4.8 will result in...1-2 fps on average...a move to 5ghz might mean 4-5, that might be enough to be noticeable. Just pray it doesn't lock up in skyrim...cuz thats when I'm reading everyones save files (like all of them) tend to get hosed.

Xbox Live / PS3 / Steam: HeadRusch1
Keeping the world safe from the evil antics of Bernie Tanaka and Mel Fujitsu since 1986

HeadRusch is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 223 Old 12-30-2011, 05:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HeadRusch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 9,842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Here's a dumb one..is this a known issue? If you alt-tab out of the game, do you need to Alt-Tab TWICE to get back into it? EG: You Alt-tab out of the game, to check an email or perhaps look at some nice pr0n, then you alt-tab back until you get the SKYRIM black screen and let go. You get a black screen with a border around it. So then you alt-tab again, go through the screens you have open until you get BACK to Skyrim again and THEN it will let you back into the game?

That "just me" or is that everyone....

And question 2: This whole running with AA turned off but turing it on in the console, for us Nvidia users can we turn on FXAA in the console, I've never tried. I'm running right now at 2xaa with FXAA turned on and I have no aliasing issues....although with 8xAF I am seeing blurring on the cobblestone streets. No, i'm not using any texture mods yet.

Thanks in advance for your warm loving replies.

Xbox Live / PS3 / Steam: HeadRusch1
Keeping the world safe from the evil antics of Bernie Tanaka and Mel Fujitsu since 1986

HeadRusch is offline  
post #183 of 223 Old 12-30-2011, 06:17 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeadRusch View Post

I'm so glad for you.

If you can get it stable at 5.0 why don't you run it at 5. the jump from 4.6 to 4.8 will result in...1-2 fps on average...a move to 5ghz might mean 4-5, that might be enough to be noticeable. Just pray it doesn't lock up in skyrim...cuz thats when I'm reading everyones save files (like all of them) tend to get hosed.

Nah. Don't want to run it at 5 because it gets substantially hotter at that speed. I don't even o/c my unlocked 6950s.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #184 of 223 Old 12-30-2011, 07:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HeadRusch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 9,842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveFi View Post

Nah. Don't want to run it at 5 because it gets substantially hotter at that speed. I don't even o/c my unlocked 6950s.

As does mine.

Mine does this: at 4.6 its stable (and I leave speedstepping turned on so right now the fan is nearly silent and its running at, oh, 3.2 or whatever its supposed to be at stock)...but I have to pump more volts through it and the temps get higher at 4.6. Its stable and fine at that speed, temps are reasonable.

To get me to 5 I have to pump significantly more volts into it and it gets hotter. I chose a marginal add-on cooling system, not some Vornado-esque or water cooled monster....when the fan spools up its loud enough that I become "aware of it" at 4.6...I rarely hear my 580's fans spin up however, its really only the CPU fan.

I could get it to 5, but its not worth it. Am I worried about frying it? No, I could always just buy another one, my main gripe is that the performance gain to go from 4.6 to 5 just wouldn't be worth it for all the tweaking and crap I'd need to do to get it stable when the games or Handbrake kicks in.

Xbox Live / PS3 / Steam: HeadRusch1
Keeping the world safe from the evil antics of Bernie Tanaka and Mel Fujitsu since 1986

HeadRusch is offline  
post #185 of 223 Old 12-30-2011, 10:30 PM
Senior Member
 
lpnaz480's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: az
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeadRusch View Post

Here's a dumb one..is this a known issue? If you alt-tab out of the game, do you need to Alt-Tab TWICE to get back into it? EG: You Alt-tab out of the game, to check an email or perhaps look at some nice pr0n, then you alt-tab back until you get the SKYRIM black screen and let go. You get a black screen with a border around it. So then you alt-tab again, go through the screens you have open until you get BACK to Skyrim again and THEN it will let you back into the game?

That "just me" or is that everyone....

I has an issue doing alt tab and going back into it. Never tried doing it twice. Ended up closing it rebooting the game.

Love sports, movies, and games. Slowly some day I'll add a projector and screen. Until then, I'll build up my library.
lpnaz480 is offline  
post #186 of 223 Old 12-31-2011, 01:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HeadRusch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 9,842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 41
And now here's one more for all of you: The bandit situation...you're a level 35 character and you have Ebony Armor and some Legendary blades. And a companion. And you stumble upon some bandits. And you attack. And a guy with an Iron Sword cuts you down in 3 strikes.

Or, from their bandit fortress a bandit chick in furs comes out. And she slams you with 4 fireballs while her Iron_Sword slinging cronie is cutting you in two. And you die after 3 hits.

Now.....as much as I love a game that levels up to keep things challenging, its also flat out retarded. So....since the game will remember what level you are at when open it up, if you were to scour the lands of skyrim running around like a lunatic and avoiding fights, could you conceivably set the bandit level at (whatever level you are at). Or does that not work.

Furthermore, what if you were to go into the console and drop your overall level down from 35 to 15 or so....would that work.....in leaving you with a powerful character but one that simply has a low level, which the game would then interpret to throw easier enemies at you.

I don't mind a challenge and having to think, but it totally defeats the concept of being a badass when you are having to cheat your way through encounters with bad guys who are wearing fur armor yet take 7-8 swipes with a deadly blade to go down...its just straight up bullsheet.

Xbox Live / PS3 / Steam: HeadRusch1
Keeping the world safe from the evil antics of Bernie Tanaka and Mel Fujitsu since 1986

HeadRusch is offline  
post #187 of 223 Old 12-31-2011, 07:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
sync's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 827
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
IGN picked Skyrim as best PC game of the year.

It was also a runner up for best PC graphics. I don't have Skyrim yet, but what I've read posted here gives me the impression Skyrim does not come close to being a nominee for best PC graphics.
sync is offline  
post #188 of 223 Old 12-31-2011, 08:28 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by sync View Post

IGN picked Skyrim as best PC game of the year.

It was also a runner up for best PC graphics. I don't have Skyrim yet, but what I've read posted here gives me the impression Skyrim does not come close to being a nominee for best PC graphics.

Probably not with the standard graphics, but if you add the HD graphics packs and such it definitely looks impressive.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #189 of 223 Old 12-31-2011, 09:42 AM
Senior Member
 
lpnaz480's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: az
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveFi View Post

Probably not with the standard graphics, but if you add the HD graphics packs and such it definitely looks impressive.

+1

The mods are nearly as addicting as the game. I had a holy crap moment after adding sunglare, enhanced sky, and better snowflakes. It was sunset and the stars were appearing, the sun breaking through the mountains and a snow storm rolling in.

Love sports, movies, and games. Slowly some day I'll add a projector and screen. Until then, I'll build up my library.
lpnaz480 is offline  
post #190 of 223 Old 12-31-2011, 10:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HeadRusch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 9,842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 41
The environment in SkyRim makes it impressive (eg: the environments and weather). Its great coming out into fog or mist, or being in a blizzard/snowstorm and how everything gets soft, its pretty cool what they do with post processing....

And of course they did the scale well. Mountains that are tall are REALLY tall. You feel "small" in the world of Skyrim, as you should. I didn't always feel that way in FALLOUT.....You see a huge, sinister looking mountain in the distance with a layer of clouds and mist slowly swirling around it. And, if you put in the time, you can walk there and see whats hiding above those clouds.....

And you are walking and you see something in the distance..oh look, two mages are battling it out...but then you see something sticking out of the rocks in the faaaar distance. should you check it out, or keep going? Hmmm. Thats the beauty of it.

The graphics mods for these bethsoft games really do transform them to "It looks just like the fancy screenshot on the back of the box!" territory.

I just wish Skyrim were actually..well...bigger. Like the dots on the map would require you to have a horse..and you might not be able to make the entire journey without letting the horse rest, that kinda thing. But then of course you'd either have a huge world with LOTS of "nothing to see here" countryside, or the dev's would have to add in a few hundred more dungeons to crawl.

Xbox Live / PS3 / Steam: HeadRusch1
Keeping the world safe from the evil antics of Bernie Tanaka and Mel Fujitsu since 1986

HeadRusch is offline  
post #191 of 223 Old 12-31-2011, 12:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
tory40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Stalker: Shadow of Chernobyl was the same way for me. With mods: top 5, without mods: horribly goofy.
tory40 is offline  
post #192 of 223 Old 12-31-2011, 02:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MSmith83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeadRusch View Post

The environment in SkyRim makes it impressive (eg: the environments and weather). Its great coming out into fog or mist, or being in a blizzard/snowstorm and how everything gets soft, its pretty cool what they do with post processing....

And of course they did the scale well. Mountains that are tall are REALLY tall. You feel "small" in the world of Skyrim, as you should. I didn't always feel that way in FALLOUT.....You see a huge, sinister looking mountain in the distance with a layer of clouds and mist slowly swirling around it. And, if you put in the time, you can walk there and see whats hiding above those clouds.....

And you are walking and you see something in the distance..oh look, two mages are battling it out...but then you see something sticking out of the rocks in the faaaar distance. should you check it out, or keep going? Hmmm. Thats the beauty of it.

Agreed. The game has impressive art design.

With what Bethesda has accomplished here, you don't need razor sharp textures that display the most minute of detail to impress. But, it is certainly feasible to accomplish that with closed-in games like Metro 2033.
MSmith83 is offline  
post #193 of 223 Old 01-01-2012, 08:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pcweber111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: In a van, down by the river.
Posts: 3,559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 262
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeadRusch View Post

Skyrim is my first of this type of game. I liked Fallout 3, a lot, so I figured I'd give this game a shot. I play by usually doing Sword in one hand, and magic in the other...sometimes a shield and always a bow first for distance. The only time I don't like it is when I am surrounded by enemies.

I spend most of the game walking backwards.

You know, enemy is approaching so you're throwing magic at them walking backwards, hoping their health goes down before your magic runs out....if you have to trade blows that is fine too, then I quick equip a shield and then it feels more normal...block blow, swing sword, block blow.....but none of it is what I would call spectacular.


Honestly, what I do is try to get as many enemies to follow me up a mountain/cliff/high wall/ etc. and then I shout them all off. Works pretty well too. It's almost like a game within a game. I don't get any reward for it other than to laugh and how hysterical it is that I can even do that.
pcweber111 is offline  
post #194 of 223 Old 01-01-2012, 08:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
257Tony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Syracuse
Posts: 2,012
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Off the wall question for you guys. How much RAM usage are you seeing during your Skyrim gaming? I have the latest updates which I think was supposed to add the 4GB aware back into the .exe by default, but am only seeing a total of 2.5 GB being used. my PC uses about 1.3 or so at idle, so that's just over 1 GB to run the game.
257Tony is offline  
post #195 of 223 Old 01-01-2012, 08:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HeadRusch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 9,842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Are any of you guys running the nvidia beta drivers that are supposed to give a nice speed improvement to Skyrim? I can't install them...soon as I do my screen gets corrupted and stays that way, like its trying to send some kind of default signal to my monitor that it doesn't support. I'm stuck on the 280xxx whatever drivers.....and I've turned on Ambient Occlusion via that 3rd party tool, but setting it to QUALITY robs me of TONS of frames. Setting it to performance seems to have a much lighter impact, and it does appear to make things prettier...shadows are deeper where they should be.

(and I did figure out how to open the console and manually lower my level....this means you won't be a huge ebony-armored badass and get your butt one-shotted by a chick in a fur bikini throwing point-blank fireballs when you enter a new bandit camp) :P

Cheating? Yeah. But I really hate walking into a new area and having to down 3-4 potions and choose weapons to kill 1 (out of 3 or 4) guys, then pausing the game, equipping new armor, downing another potion, etc)....it just totally sucks me out of the moment.

Xbox Live / PS3 / Steam: HeadRusch1
Keeping the world safe from the evil antics of Bernie Tanaka and Mel Fujitsu since 1986

HeadRusch is offline  
post #196 of 223 Old 01-01-2012, 08:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pcweber111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: In a van, down by the river.
Posts: 3,559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 262
Yeah it is kinda strange. I have all enchanted ebony armor, an ebony greatsword for up close combat and an enchanted ebony bow with Daedric arrows that are poison tipped and I can still get my ass handed to me by some stupid Forsworn baddie dual wielding blades in like 3 hits. It's pretty frustrating to be honest and there's quests I've not even attempted yet because of it. What I usually do now is just forget trying to play the game like an actual game and I just ebony bow their asses from half a mile away. Works pretty well too. Either that or run around and let them follow me to where a known dragon is and cherry pick them as they're getting sprayed with ice or fire. Of course Dragons aren't really even that hard in this game. Let one wonder with you near some giants and mammoths and it's toast. You get to pick at it while they do the heavy work and you still get the goods. lol
pcweber111 is offline  
post #197 of 223 Old 01-07-2012, 08:13 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Hate to say it but I'm tiring of the game. I could probably play the extraneous quests for another 50+hrs without even touching the main quest. I'm already 90hrs in and I haven't even visited all of the major cities yet!!! Daumn!!!!

I think I'm going to play Arkham City in-between my Skyrim gameplay or I'll go loopy.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #198 of 223 Old 01-07-2012, 08:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HeadRusch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 9,842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 41
The only way to fix the leveling issue is to go into the console and manually reset your overall level to something lower...leave your stats alone and just reset your overall level, then you'll have an advantage going into new areas and you wont have your enchanted-armored-ass getting handed to you in 4 hits by a group of fur-wearing heathens :P

Of course then you do run the risk of making yourself too powerful, but this game's leveling amounts to a "never-ending grind"...which makes leveling up irrelevant unless you just want to go back into areas you've already visited and clean house. After 90 hours in, you WANT to be able to deliver some two hit justice now and then....but the game will never let that happen, you'll always be slogging...even when the characters you face are in robes and skins :P Cheap.

PS: After 90 hours, you must be sick of hearing the same 5 voice actors over and over.......you'd think they could have just had people sign waivers or used the bethsoft staff or something :P

Xbox Live / PS3 / Steam: HeadRusch1
Keeping the world safe from the evil antics of Bernie Tanaka and Mel Fujitsu since 1986

HeadRusch is offline  
post #199 of 223 Old 01-07-2012, 09:11 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
That faux AHNOLD sounding actor is getting on my nerves. Whoever he is, he has a various number of roles throughout the game. It's clear they want him to sound like he's Ahnold the Barbarian, and well, he doesn't. He sounds like a guy doing a fake accent. It's nice they hired one or two really good voice actors, but they should have sprung for more in such a expansive game.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #200 of 223 Old 01-07-2012, 09:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HeadRusch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 9,842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Ok honestly I don't mind that voice.....the one I am sick to death of is the Blacksmiths voice...or the Jarl's voice....wait till you find the character singing SONGS in that voice... ugh. i actually had to slaughter a band of drunks who offered me sweet, delicious Mead on the roadway..cuz they had that voice :P

I'm actually thinking of making a mini game of trying to sneak-kill any person singing those two damned songs over and over....."We drink to our youth, to days come and go...URK!".....

Xbox Live / PS3 / Steam: HeadRusch1
Keeping the world safe from the evil antics of Bernie Tanaka and Mel Fujitsu since 1986

HeadRusch is offline  
post #201 of 223 Old 01-08-2012, 07:51 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
The weird thing about the game is that you can become "bad" without any particular long-term effects outside of a small area. I'm now playing the Thieves Guild arc and outside of Riften I'm all peaches and cream. You wouldn't know I'm an arch-criminal and murder.

Can't wait to do the Assassin's Guild arc...

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #202 of 223 Old 01-08-2012, 09:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HeadRusch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 9,842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveFi View Post

The weird thing about the game is that you can become "bad" without any particular long-term effects outside of a small area. I'm now playing the Thieves Guild arc and outside of Riften I'm all peaches and cream. You wouldn't know I'm an arch-criminal and murder.

Can't wait to do the Assassin's Guild arc...

When I was approached by the same 3 drunken guys on the road I had..."spared"...the first time around, and graciously accepted their Whateveritsnameis Mead, that guys annoying voice got to me. So I killed two of them right out. The 3rd ran away, because he was basically drunk and naked. Eventually I chased after him, Thum'ed him a few times and when he croaked it said "Last Witness Killed" or something like that, so what does the game track who sees you commit what crimes?

What I hate is when you steal things standing up, outside of the LOS of anyone, and the game immediately places a bounty on your head...that part is weird, like...what can people see through walls now? Do I need more buckets!?

Xbox Live / PS3 / Steam: HeadRusch1
Keeping the world safe from the evil antics of Bernie Tanaka and Mel Fujitsu since 1986

HeadRusch is offline  
post #203 of 223 Old 02-07-2012, 10:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MSmith83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 50
It will be interesting to see what the official high-resolution texture pack released today looks like.

I hope the game also received quad-core CPU optimizations.
MSmith83 is offline  
post #204 of 223 Old 02-07-2012, 10:35 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
joeblow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 12,060
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 188
That's exactly why I'm glad I still haven't purchased this game. It was inevitable that significant improvements would come over time, but it is interesting that it is coming from the developer themselves. I wonder how the high rez pack will compare to the ones from the mod community?

EDIT: Skyrim is only $40 on Steam until Wednesday.

Los Angeles Lakers - 16 NBA Championships!

joeblow is offline  
post #205 of 223 Old 02-08-2012, 09:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MSmith83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 50
The official high-res pack is certainly not a big deal. But, many of the more insignificant textures that were extremely blurry before are now a lot more presentable. This pack does do a good job in making the quality of all textures more even.
MSmith83 is offline  
post #206 of 223 Old 02-08-2012, 10:17 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
joeblow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 12,060
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 188
I saw some pics and agree. Some people are using othergraphic mods on top of it for best results.

Still, I'm glad it came out if only because it gave Behseda an excuse to offer it for $40 instead of $60 on Steam. I had a free copy of Left 4 Dead in my Steam inventory that I won in some past promotion and used it to trade someone for their 33% off Skyrim coupon. My final Skyrim cost yesterday was $26.

Los Angeles Lakers - 16 NBA Championships!

joeblow is offline  
post #207 of 223 Old 02-09-2012, 05:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mboojigga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Little Rock AFB, Arkansas
Posts: 7,926
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeadRusch View Post

Here's a dumb one..is this a known issue? If you alt-tab out of the game, do you need to Alt-Tab TWICE to get back into it? EG: You Alt-tab out of the game, to check an email or perhaps look at some nice pr0n, then you alt-tab back until you get the SKYRIM black screen and let go. You get a black screen with a border around it. So then you alt-tab again, go through the screens you have open until you get BACK to Skyrim again and THEN it will let you back into the game?

That "just me" or is that everyone....

And question 2: This whole running with AA turned off but turing it on in the console, for us Nvidia users can we turn on FXAA in the console, I've never tried. I'm running right now at 2xaa with FXAA turned on and I have no aliasing issues....although with 8xAF I am seeing blurring on the cobblestone streets. No, i'm not using any texture mods yet.

Thanks in advance for your warm loving replies.

I just saw your post about this. Yes mine does as you described but no issues when doing so.

The 5.0 is here
mboojigga is offline  
post #208 of 223 Old 02-09-2012, 05:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pcweber111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: In a van, down by the river.
Posts: 3,559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 262
If I double alt tab it un pauses so I always try to make sure I don't have anything to do while playing. If I have to check email that's what my phone is for. I haven't noticed the game kicking me out to the desktop as much since 1.4, which is good. That was annoying.
pcweber111 is offline  
post #209 of 223 Old 02-10-2012, 05:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mboojigga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Little Rock AFB, Arkansas
Posts: 7,926
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 429
Okay how do I get the latest patch? I went to Bethesda website and it shows no downloads available. I have have the retail version.

The 5.0 is here
mboojigga is offline  
post #210 of 223 Old 02-10-2012, 06:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
WiseGuy2k7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 533
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by mboojigga View Post

Okay how do I get the latest patch? I went to Bethesda website and it shows no downloads available. I have have the retail version.

Skyrim is a steamworks game so take a look on there.

PSN:The_Wise_Guy
XBL:DirtySanWiseGuy
Steam:The_Wise_Guy
BF4 PC:The_Wise_Guy

WiseGuy2k7 is offline  
Reply HTPC Gaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off