Battlefield 3 - Page 5 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #121 of 407 Old 10-28-2011, 03:29 PM
Newbie
 
nitewolfgtr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys, finally got some time to download BF3. Is there a AVS Platoon for BF3?

Also, my Origin ID is Nitewolfgtr. Send me an invite!

XBL: Nitewolfgtr
BF3 PC: Nitewolfgtr
Steam: Nitewolfgtr

BF3 Platoon: AVS-BF3
nitewolfgtr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #122 of 407 Old 10-28-2011, 04:10 PM
Newbie
 
nitewolfgtr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I noticed BF3 PC version didn't have an AVS platoon so I created on.

Join platoon: AVS-BF3

XBL: Nitewolfgtr
BF3 PC: Nitewolfgtr
Steam: Nitewolfgtr

BF3 Platoon: AVS-BF3
nitewolfgtr is offline  
post #123 of 407 Old 10-29-2011, 05:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
WiseGuy2k7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 533
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by nitewolfgtr View Post

I noticed BF3 PC version didn't have an AVS platoon so I created on.

Join platoon: AVS-BF3

I applied for it. Hopefully I get in

PSN:The_Wise_Guy
XBL:DirtySanWiseGuy
Steam:The_Wise_Guy
BF4 PC:The_Wise_Guy

WiseGuy2k7 is offline  
post #124 of 407 Old 10-30-2011, 12:40 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaGamePimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: WA State
Posts: 15,496
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 153
Finished SP last night and it was pretty much a waste of about 6 hours (I did not rush through it either), plus another poor ending (like Rage only not as bad).

I'll chalk it up to another distraction while waiting for Uncharted 3.

Jason
DaGamePimp is online now  
post #125 of 407 Old 10-30-2011, 10:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Evangelo2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: LI, NY
Posts: 1,999
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
So when are we gonna get the avs out for a game?
Evangelo2 is offline  
post #126 of 407 Old 10-30-2011, 12:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
N8DOGG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,611
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaGamePimp View Post

Finished SP last night and it was pretty much a waste of about 6 hours (I did not rush through it either), plus another poor ending (like Rage only not as bad).

I'll chalk it up to another distraction while waiting for Uncharted 3.

Jason

I'm also waiting for uncharted 3! Uncharted 2 was one of my favorite games I've ever played. I've seen the reviews of 3 and though they say it's a lot like 2, I'm not sure how thats a bad thing lol

Blasting brown notes for 10 years and counting!

N8DOGG is online now  
post #127 of 407 Old 10-30-2011, 08:15 PM
Senior Member
 
Trogdor2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Hi, I just got Battlefield 3 for PC, and I am having problems with the game loading up and freezing. I have to load it up a few times in order to actually play a level. When I reach the part when a guy points a gun at your head, the game loads and freezes.

My tech specs are a ASUS HD 5450 (1 GB version), with 3 GB RAM, and an AMD dual core 64 x2 5200 (2.6 GHz), and I initially played with 1280x540 with everything on low, but opted for 640x480. It's a low profile desktop with 32-bit vista OS.

I really want help. It's been 2 years since I payed $60 for a game and I don't want it to be a lemon.

Origin: Trogdor2010.
Trogdor2010 is offline  
post #128 of 407 Old 10-30-2011, 10:03 PM
Senior Member
 
stuup1dmofo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trogdor2010 View Post

Hi, I just got Battlefield 3 for PC, and I am having problems with the game loading up and freezing. I have to load it up a few times in order to actually play a level. When I reach the part when a guy points a gun at your head, the game loads and freezes.

My tech specs are a ASUS HD 5450 (1 GB version), with 3 GB RAM, and an AMD dual core 64 x2 5200 (2.6 GHz), and I initially played with 1280x540 with everything on low, but opted for 640x480. It's a low profile desktop with 32-bit vista OS.

I really want help. It's been 2 years since I payed $60 for a game and I don't want it to be a lemon.

Origin: Trogdor2010.

Make sure all of your drivers are up to date is the first thing you need to do. If you are overclocking, check it for stability.

Side note, i think it's time to upgrade if you're thinking about playing this game. Your specs barely meet the minimum requirements.
stuup1dmofo is offline  
post #129 of 407 Old 10-30-2011, 11:07 PM
Senior Member
 
PubFiction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Does this game have base? During explosions and such?

Also how is the sound overall for HT?
PubFiction is offline  
post #130 of 407 Old 10-30-2011, 11:40 PM
 
darklordjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 93
The word you are looking for is "bass", and yes. It sets off my couch's transducers which are mapped to LFE quite nicely for personal weapons fire and general explosions.
darklordjames is offline  
post #131 of 407 Old 10-31-2011, 12:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
WiseGuy2k7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 533
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuup1dmofo View Post

Make sure all of your drivers are up to date is the first thing you need to do. If you are overclocking, check it for stability.

Side note, i think it's time to upgrade if you're thinking about playing this game. Your specs barely meet the minimum requirements.

Yeah Radeon 5450 isn't meant for games like BF3 unfortunately. Its more of a home theater pc graphic card for HD video processing and possibly some older 3d games.

PSN:The_Wise_Guy
XBL:DirtySanWiseGuy
Steam:The_Wise_Guy
BF4 PC:The_Wise_Guy

WiseGuy2k7 is offline  
post #132 of 407 Old 10-31-2011, 05:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mhufnagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,025
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuup1dmofo View Post

Make sure all of your drivers are up to date is the first thing you need to do. If you are overclocking, check it for stability.

Side note, i think it's time to upgrade if you're thinking about playing this game. Your specs barely meet the minimum requirements.

Sadly for him, he has a low profile desktop and the best low-profile gpu I've found is a HD6570. And I don't think that would work very well either. He really needs a whole new rig to play this game with decent graphics and frame-rates.
mhufnagel is offline  
post #133 of 407 Old 10-31-2011, 07:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
georgeorwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 1,231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by darklordjames View Post

The word you are looking for is "bass", and yes. It sets off my couch's transducers which are mapped to LFE quite nicely for personal weapons fire and general explosions.

I would agree...BF3 is the best experience I've had so far with the Buttkicker Gamer. Shotgun blasts, explosions, even the rumble while driving the tank....all make for some realistic gameplay.
georgeorwell is offline  
post #134 of 407 Old 10-31-2011, 07:57 AM
Senior Member
 
lpnaz480's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: az
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The sound overall in this game is magical. Just like the other battlefields.

Love sports, movies, and games. Slowly some day I'll add a projector and screen. Until then, I'll build up my library.
lpnaz480 is offline  
post #135 of 407 Old 10-31-2011, 09:52 AM
Senior Member
 
Trogdor2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuup1dmofo View Post

Make sure all of your drivers are up to date is the first thing you need to do. If you are overclocking, check it for stability.

Side note, i think it's time to upgrade if you're thinking about playing this game. Your specs barely meet the minimum requirements.

Quote:
Originally Posted by WiseGuy2k7 View Post

Yeah Radeon 5450 isn't meant for games like BF3 unfortunately. Its more of a home theater pc graphic card for HD video processing and possibly some older 3d games.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mhufnagel View Post

Sadly for him, he has a low profile desktop and the best low-profile gpu I've found is a HD6570. And I don't think that would work very well either. He really needs a whole new rig to play this game with decent graphics and frame-rates.

Yeah I was afraid that was going to be that way. I updated the drivers before I played (although CCC keeps screwing up on me). I do not overclock, but I might consider that. It was weird even when I shown people my tech specs, they were saying it would be good to go for medium at 1280x540 (for a 2.35:1 screen), not even close, it was barely playable at 640x480 on low.

I was able to get the game to load up beyond the first part, and got to play a few minutes at a time, but it keeps crashing on me, especially at select parts of the game. It's not fun dying and having to wait a few minutes just play a minute or two.

Upgrading right now for me is not an option, but what I do like about Origin is that you can sign up in a different account (ala Steam), and play on a different computer. I may try that.
Trogdor2010 is offline  
post #136 of 407 Old 10-31-2011, 11:40 AM
Senior Member
 
binici's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: California
Posts: 436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I suck with the air units... wish there was a sandbox mode as everyone is insisting on. Anyhow, this game is great overall and I am sure they will fix all the little bugs and add more "stuff".
binici is offline  
post #137 of 407 Old 10-31-2011, 02:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nebrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: omaha,NE,USA
Posts: 1,092
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I am so incredibly incredibly bad at this game. I can spot a guy before he spots me, mark him, engage him with my heavy freaking machine gun, I get the little white X showing that I have hit him...4, 5, 6 times. He turns around, he spots me unloading ammo at him with my heavy machine gun...and he shoots at me with whatever little potato gun he has equipped, I hear 2 snaps and I'm dead.

My perpetual home theater build - Omaha Theater #5
nebrunner is online now  
post #138 of 407 Old 10-31-2011, 07:26 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Tinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: guarding my retirement igloo...with a McMillan TAC-50 long range sniper rifle
Posts: 4,990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nebrunner View Post

I am so incredibly incredibly bad at this game. I can spot a guy before he spots me, mark him, engage him with my heavy freaking machine gun, I get the little white X showing that I have hit him...4, 5, 6 times. He turns around, he spots me unloading ammo at him with my heavy machine gun...and he shoots at me with whatever little potato gun he has equipped, I hear 2 snaps and I'm dead.

You shld try hardcore severs.Then it will take less hits to kill, but it's like what they say about tracer rounds, it works both ways...

You do not stop playing because you get old...
You get old because you stop playing.
Tinker is offline  
post #139 of 407 Old 11-01-2011, 05:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Dashboard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 1,884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 49
i will probably take the plunge tonight... my GF has alot of homework to do so I need to occupy myself.

I was worried that my card wouldn't run the game well but I saw some benchmark saying I could get around 40 fps at high, so it will be fine until an upgrade

Do you mind if I add you to my list?
Dashboard is offline  
post #140 of 407 Old 11-01-2011, 10:27 AM
Bass Enabler
 
Scott Simonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 13,197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Liked: 638
Quote:
Originally Posted by nebrunner View Post

I am so incredibly incredibly bad at this game. I can spot a guy before he spots me, mark him, engage him with my heavy freaking machine gun, I get the little white X showing that I have hit him...4, 5, 6 times. He turns around, he spots me unloading ammo at him with my heavy machine gun...and he shoots at me with whatever little potato gun he has equipped, I hear 2 snaps and I'm dead.

I have this problem all the time in BF games. I play mostly medic/support with a large lmg. I am not a sharpshooter but I aint a bad shot either and I shoot in controlled bursts. Even then I have that same thing happen ALL the friggin' time. Damn videogame "balances".

My Dual 18" LLT subs 120dB down to 10hz

 

Plan9Reloaded Co-host

Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast (may contain NSFW language)

https://soundcloud.com/plan9reloaded/sets/podcast - direct pod link

http://plan9reloaded.com/site/ - main website

Scott Simonian is offline  
post #141 of 407 Old 11-01-2011, 11:13 AM
Member
 
dim.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nitewolfgtr View Post

Join platoon: AVS-BF3

In the Platoon official website URL is broken.
dim. is offline  
post #142 of 407 Old 11-01-2011, 11:32 AM
Member
 
dim.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nebrunner View Post

I am so incredibly incredibly bad at this game.

Get foregrip for your fav LMG. Crouch before shooting (if situation allowed). Aim at upper torso - recoil will do rest for you. Adjust your burst that last bullet goes into head.
dim. is offline  
post #143 of 407 Old 11-01-2011, 11:36 AM
Member
 
Biggrich76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Hey guys, if anyone is looking for a server we're trying to get some more regulars, please feel free to check us out.



32 player Rush/Conquest (may be upgrading to 48 players)
  • No killcam
  • No idle/afk timeout
  • No minimap
  • No health regen
  • The server will start with only 1 player so you can test flying, guns, loadouts, etc.
  • Admins drop in regularly and have remote access, so you don't have to worry about cheaters
  • Very low ping (10-15ms) to Virginia area and (30-40ms) East Coast
  • NIce mix of Conquest and Rush maps for variety (I know it says TDM, but we took that out of the rotation for now)

My BF3 name is JoKer_FCF, feel free to add me on Battlelog/Origin

Thanks for checking us out.

XBL: Drunkn Joker
Biggrich76 is offline  
post #144 of 407 Old 11-01-2011, 02:29 PM
Senior Member
 
GKMad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
What's the in-game ~ command to view fraps/framerate/fps ?

Then likewise, is it the same command to toggle it back off?
In tweaking various graphics settings between High and Ultra, I'd like to see exactly what it's doing to framerate.


Found this in an earler page 3 post. Not quite a ~ command, but I'll try it and see.
>> To check FPS, just hit Ctrl+Alt+S simultaneously and hold it.

Found this online:
Hit ` for the menu and type "render.drawfps true". That puts the fpc onscreen. To turn it back off "render.drawfps false"
GKMad is offline  
post #145 of 407 Old 11-01-2011, 05:13 PM
Senior Member
 
jherring69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: pei, canada
Posts: 362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got the game tonight, and will be up and running soon. Feel free to add me to your friends list. Origin id: aka-Sparky69

Jason
jherring69 is offline  
post #146 of 407 Old 11-01-2011, 06:54 PM
Newbie
 
nitewolfgtr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dim. View Post

In the Platoon official website URL is broken.

Thanks. it's fixed now.

XBL: Nitewolfgtr
BF3 PC: Nitewolfgtr
Steam: Nitewolfgtr

BF3 Platoon: AVS-BF3
nitewolfgtr is offline  
post #147 of 407 Old 11-01-2011, 08:36 PM
Senior Member
 
lpnaz480's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: az
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Are y'all having stability issues right now? Three games I've been in all freeze up

Love sports, movies, and games. Slowly some day I'll add a projector and screen. Until then, I'll build up my library.
lpnaz480 is offline  
post #148 of 407 Old 11-01-2011, 10:32 PM
Member
 
UnexplainedBacon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone noticed an incorrect black level in this game? The darkest black I have seen in Battlefield 3 is noticeably brighter than my black desktop background so I am sure that it is specific to the game.

This was the only other reference to this issue that I could find:
http://forums.electronicarts.co.uk/b...field-3-a.html
UnexplainedBacon is offline  
post #149 of 407 Old 11-02-2011, 12:37 AM
Senior Member
 
Trogdor2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I recently updated the drivers to the newer AMD drivers from yesterday. Definitely an improvement, It doesn't crash after every 5 minutes, although it still crashes more around 30 minutes, just not as intermittently. I'm hopeful there will be more updates that'll improve stability.
Trogdor2010 is offline  
post #150 of 407 Old 11-02-2011, 05:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Dashboard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 1,884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Bought the game last night after going to 3 different stores... the first two only had the french version of the games

Finally got around to play the game after an hour of cursing (origins and such). Haven't upgrade my AMD driver yet but the game ran veryl well for the 2 hours I played it, haven't crashed or anything, I only got disconnected from the server from time to time.

I hate launching the game from the browser tho... I'd prefer launching the game, then choosing campaign, coop or mutliplayer...am I alone or


So far, I'm getting my ass kicked half of the time, the other half being around 1 k/d ratio. I know the K/d ratio isn't important but it helps not getting frustrated going for the objectives
Dashboard is offline  
Reply HTPC Gaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off