Waiting for a new Vid card? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 41 Old 01-25-2012, 04:39 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
MikeRich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: East Bay, Northern Cali.
Posts: 524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I'm running an older Nvidia GTX 275 with a Core i7-920.
Anyone waiting to see what Kepler is going to do? I'm on the fence and would hate to buy ATI 7xxx and see Nvidia destroy it.

XBL: BigMikeRich
PSN: BigMikeRich
MikeRich is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 41 Old 01-25-2012, 04:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: guarding my retirement igloo...with a McMillan TAC-50 long range sniper rifle
Posts: 4,990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Waiting so I can replace my tri 5870 cards.

You do not stop playing because you get old...
You get old because you stop playing.
Tinker is offline  
post #3 of 41 Old 01-25-2012, 05:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
N8DOGG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,579
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 238
I'll be getting 2 of the best Kepler on day 1

Blasting brown notes for 10 years and counting!

N8DOGG is offline  
post #4 of 41 Old 01-25-2012, 10:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MSmith83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,540
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Early reports from insiders indicate that Nvidia's Kepler will significantly outperform AMD's offerings in each price point.

Apparently, a representative for Nvidia even smack talked AMD. With this, Nvidia better deliver.
MSmith83 is offline  
post #5 of 41 Old 01-26-2012, 06:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
WiseGuy2k7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 533
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Will you still need to run SLI for triple monitors with NVIDIA Kepler? If I could run it like AMD on a single gpu, I would definitly jump ship again.

PSN:The_Wise_Guy
XBL:DirtySanWiseGuy
Steam:The_Wise_Guy
BF4 PC:The_Wise_Guy

WiseGuy2k7 is offline  
post #6 of 41 Old 01-26-2012, 06:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JukeBox360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 6,653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Sounds like its going to cost a pretty penny either way.
JukeBox360 is offline  
post #7 of 41 Old 01-26-2012, 07:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
WiseGuy2k7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 533
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Imagine they will have some mid range cards, which is what I am after. I found out triple monitors can be ran off a single card. I was goin to pickup a radeon hd 6950 to remedy my BF3 eyefinity woes, but now waiting may be a better option.

PSN:The_Wise_Guy
XBL:DirtySanWiseGuy
Steam:The_Wise_Guy
BF4 PC:The_Wise_Guy

WiseGuy2k7 is offline  
post #8 of 41 Old 01-26-2012, 07:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JukeBox360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 6,653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by WiseGuy2k7 View Post

Imagine they will have some mid range cards, which is what I am after. I found out triple monitors can be ran off a single card. I was goin to pickup a radeon hd 6950 to remedy my BF3 eyefinity woes, but now waiting may be a better option.

That's the card I'm running now. I love it. Gets the job done. I want two of em. Two bad my mother board doesn't have another PCI-E slot
JukeBox360 is offline  
post #9 of 41 Old 01-26-2012, 09:48 AM
Bass Enabler
 
Scott Simonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 13,137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 612
Quote:
Originally Posted by WiseGuy2k7 View Post

Will you still need to run SLI for triple monitors with NVIDIA Kepler? If I could run it like AMD on a single gpu, I would definitly jump ship again.

nVidia is losing out on the customers that really, really want triple monitor but don't want (or need) dual video cards. They really need to stop forcing these people to have to buy an extra card. I certainly don't want more than one video card but I also don't want multimonitor. Not until the use of them broadens and the support matures.

That being said, I'd stick with one of these: http://www.matrox.com/graphics/en/products/gxm/th2go/

My Dual 18" LLT subs 120dB down to 10hz

 

Plan9Reloaded Co-host

Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast (may contain NSFW language)

https://soundcloud.com/plan9reloaded/sets/podcast - direct pod link

http://plan9reloaded.com/site/ - main website

Scott Simonian is online now  
post #10 of 41 Old 01-26-2012, 09:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Tinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: guarding my retirement igloo...with a McMillan TAC-50 long range sniper rifle
Posts: 4,990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Simonian View Post

nVidia is losing out on the customers that really, really want triple monitor but don't want (or need) dual video cards. They really need to stop forcing these people to have to buy an extra card. I certainly don't want more than one video card but I also don't want multimonitor. Not until the use of them broadens and the support matures.

That being said, I'd stick with one of these: http://www.matrox.com/graphics/en/products/gxm/th2go/

You can do on the cheap using SoftTh. Just one maim vid card and second weaker card of any make is all that is required.

You do not stop playing because you get old...
You get old because you stop playing.
Tinker is offline  
post #11 of 41 Old 01-26-2012, 10:09 AM
Bass Enabler
 
Scott Simonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 13,137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 612
Oh yeah? That's good to know. Thanks.

My Dual 18" LLT subs 120dB down to 10hz

 

Plan9Reloaded Co-host

Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast (may contain NSFW language)

https://soundcloud.com/plan9reloaded/sets/podcast - direct pod link

http://plan9reloaded.com/site/ - main website

Scott Simonian is online now  
post #12 of 41 Old 01-26-2012, 10:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JukeBox360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 6,653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Simonian View Post


nVidia is losing out on the customers that really, really want triple monitor but don't want (or need) dual video cards. They really need to stop forcing these people to have to buy an extra card. I certainly don't want more than one video card but I also don't want multimonitor. Not until the use of them broadens and the support matures.

That being said, I'd stick with one of these: http://www.matrox.com/graphics/en/products/gxm/th2go/

That's the only reason I didn't buy em.
JukeBox360 is offline  
post #13 of 41 Old 01-26-2012, 10:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JukeBox360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 6,653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
I do know nVidia is coming out with a card that does support 3 displays.
JukeBox360 is offline  
post #14 of 41 Old 01-26-2012, 12:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
WiseGuy2k7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 533
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Simonian View Post

Oh yeah? That's good to know. Thanks.

Scott this was the solution I was using SoftTH until I found out it only supports upto DX9. Worked great for ARMA2 and RACE07... but alas I needed my BF games to run eyefinity so I upgraded to a 5850.

PSN:The_Wise_Guy
XBL:DirtySanWiseGuy
Steam:The_Wise_Guy
BF4 PC:The_Wise_Guy

WiseGuy2k7 is offline  
post #15 of 41 Old 01-26-2012, 01:57 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
MikeRich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: East Bay, Northern Cali.
Posts: 524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
While researching vid cards I stumbled on this site: http://pcpartpicker.com/ anyone use it before?

Seems like a cool way to price out a system if you know exactly what parts you want.

XBL: BigMikeRich
PSN: BigMikeRich
MikeRich is offline  
post #16 of 41 Old 01-26-2012, 02:17 PM
Bass Enabler
 
Scott Simonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 13,137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 612
Quote:
Originally Posted by WiseGuy2k7 View Post

Scott this was the solution I was using SoftTH until I found out it only supports upto DX9. Worked great for ARMA2 and RACE07... but alas I needed my BF games to run eyefinity so I upgraded to a 5850.

Yeah. Dan told me about that. Kind of sucks that it only works with DX9 or lower. Guess it's time for new videocard! Yay!

My Dual 18" LLT subs 120dB down to 10hz

 

Plan9Reloaded Co-host

Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast (may contain NSFW language)

https://soundcloud.com/plan9reloaded/sets/podcast - direct pod link

http://plan9reloaded.com/site/ - main website

Scott Simonian is online now  
post #17 of 41 Old 01-26-2012, 08:28 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
I'm waiting for generation-Next myself. My 3 unlocked 6950s should hold me over until then... That is of course unless ATI stops supporting them sooner than later (which they seem not to support Crossfire anyways).

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #18 of 41 Old 01-26-2012, 09:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JukeBox360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 6,653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveFi View Post

I'm waiting for generation-Next myself. My 3 unlocked 6950s should hold me over until then... That is of course unless ATI stops supporting them sooner than later (which they seem not to support Crossfire anyways).

3!?!?!?!? Wow. Bet it can run anything you put to it with ease.
JukeBox360 is offline  
post #19 of 41 Old 01-27-2012, 07:48 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by JukeBox360 View Post

3!?!?!?!? Wow. Bet it can run anything you put to it with ease.

Depends on what you mean. Two 7950s should be much faster. Crossfire support is kind of lacking.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #20 of 41 Old 01-27-2012, 10:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JukeBox360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 6,653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveFi View Post

Depends on what you mean. Two 7950s should be much faster. Crossfire support is kind of lacking.

I don't know to wait it or just go out and by the GTX 590. That things a beast.

That or buy the GTX 570 just because it much cheaper and can still run BF3 on ultra just fine. Decisions decisions.
JukeBox360 is offline  
post #21 of 41 Old 01-27-2012, 01:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HeadRusch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 9,840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Waiting for 680.....will buy when reviews come out and sell 580

And the circle of life continues......

Xbox Live / PS3 / Steam: HeadRusch1
Keeping the world safe from the evil antics of Bernie Tanaka and Mel Fujitsu since 1986

HeadRusch is offline  
post #22 of 41 Old 01-27-2012, 01:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MSmith83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,540
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 48
It is always worth waiting when cards with an architectural change are near.
MSmith83 is offline  
post #23 of 41 Old 01-27-2012, 01:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JukeBox360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 6,653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeadRusch View Post

Waiting for 680.....will buy when reviews come out and sell 580

And the circle of life continues......

I imagine a hefty price tag.
JukeBox360 is offline  
post #24 of 41 Old 01-27-2012, 02:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
N8DOGG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,579
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 238
I'm betting that the new 780's will be in the $599-$649 rage for sure. I'm ok with that, I'm ready for the best of everything! weeeeeeeeeee! I'm expecting that a whole new rig will be in the 2.5K region as I already have SSD's, ram and blu-ray drives.

IVY and Kelper can't get here fast enough!!!

Blasting brown notes for 10 years and counting!

N8DOGG is offline  
post #25 of 41 Old 01-27-2012, 03:19 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
MikeRich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: East Bay, Northern Cali.
Posts: 524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I'm getting ready as well: SSD's, Blu-ray drive, case and Monitor all set to go!

XBL: BigMikeRich
PSN: BigMikeRich
MikeRich is offline  
post #26 of 41 Old 01-27-2012, 03:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JukeBox360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 6,653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by N8DOGG View Post

I'm betting that the new 780's will be in the $599-$649 rage for sure. I'm ok with that, I'm ready for the best of everything! weeeeeeeeeee! I'm expecting that a whole new rig will be in the 2.5K region as I already have SSD's, ram and blu-ray drives.

IVY and Kelper can't get here fast enough!!!

If I were to get a card in that range then I'd have to make sure anything you put on it with ease.
JukeBox360 is offline  
post #27 of 41 Old 01-28-2012, 08:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MSmith83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,540
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 48
I guess the bigger question is how long will it take before the highest-end Kepler GPU will be offered? Based on information from SemiAccurate, it sounds like Nvidia's upcoming mid-range offering (GK104) might perform about as well as an AMD 7970 but for hundreds of dollars less than current pricing.

If that will be the case, then I can see the highest-end Kepler GPU performing about twice as well as the GTX 580.
MSmith83 is offline  
post #28 of 41 Old 01-28-2012, 08:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
WiseGuy2k7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 533
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by MSmith83 View Post

I guess the bigger question is how long will it take before the highest-end Kepler GPU will be offered? Based on information from SemiAccurate, it sounds like Nvidia's upcoming mid-range offering (GK104) might perform about as well as an AMD 7970 but for hundreds of dollars less than current pricing.

If that will be the case, then I can see the highest-end Kepler GPU performing about twice as well as the GTX 580.

Damn if its possible for a mid range nvidia to be that powerful, I will be waiting. My Radeon 5850 will be do me well till then.

PSN:The_Wise_Guy
XBL:DirtySanWiseGuy
Steam:The_Wise_Guy
BF4 PC:The_Wise_Guy

WiseGuy2k7 is offline  
post #29 of 41 Old 01-28-2012, 02:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HeadRusch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 9,840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 41
I'm not sure Nvidia has the ability to deal that kind of death blow....many times before have we been FAILED by specs before production boards ship only to find this gotcha, or that problem. And Nvidia isn't going to sell a $500 board for $300, they know they don't have to, they'll still sell boards.....brand loyalty runs deep.

Xbox Live / PS3 / Steam: HeadRusch1
Keeping the world safe from the evil antics of Bernie Tanaka and Mel Fujitsu since 1986

HeadRusch is offline  
post #30 of 41 Old 01-28-2012, 03:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: guarding my retirement igloo...with a McMillan TAC-50 long range sniper rifle
Posts: 4,990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeadRusch View Post

I'm not sure Nvidia has the ability to deal that kind of death blow....many times before have we been FAILED by specs before production boards ship only to find this gotcha, or that problem. And Nvidia isn't going to sell a $500 board for $300, they know they don't have to, they'll still sell boards.....brand loyalty runs deep.

Na...driver quality runs deep....

You do not stop playing because you get old...
You get old because you stop playing.
Tinker is offline  
Reply HTPC Gaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off