570 GTX passthrough HD audio tracks to my receiver? or will it downsample? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 02-03-2012, 03:59 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
jamieuk147's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 730
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Hi I am just wondering that when playing a blueray movie on my HTPC with a 570 GTX installed, if it would passthrough the HD audio tracks to my AV receiver fo it to decode? or am I going to have to buy a expensive sound card do this?

Thanks
jamieuk147 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 02-03-2012, 06:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Threefiddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Lexington, SC
Posts: 1,025
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 247 Post(s)
Liked: 121
570 classified here. dts and dolby have no issues, and sounds great.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
** FOR SALE-Price reduced**Sony HW50ES + extra bulb + 5 pairs 3d glasses + Chief Mount **Click me**
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Threefiddie is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 02-03-2012, 07:54 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 35
If you want to bitstream DTS-HD MA/True HD you'll need to buy a separate HDMI soundcard. The 570 does not bitstream (correct me if I'm wrong).

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
 
post #4 of 6 Old 02-03-2012, 01:42 PM
Senior Member
 
taskman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I feel your pain, I was pulling my hair out trying to get a straight answer on any of the Nvidia line up. I recently purchased the GTX 550 Ti and one of my requirements was lossless. If you go to the product page, you won't learn much but I did find this on the GTX 570: http://www.geforce.com/Active/en_US/...df/GTX-570.pdf

Go down to audio and you will see 24bit. There is also this link on my card: http://www.nvidia.com/object/product...-550ti-us.html and if you click features, you will find bitstreaming list towards the end.
taskman is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 02-03-2012, 03:25 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by taskman View Post

I feel your pain, I was pulling my hair out trying to get a straight answer on any of the Nvidia line up. I recently purchased the GTX 550 Ti and one of my requirements was lossless. If you go to the product page, you won't learn much but I did find this on the GTX 570: http://www.geforce.com/Active/en_US/...df/GTX-570.pdf

Go down to audio and you will see 24bit. There is also this link on my card: http://www.nvidia.com/object/product...-550ti-us.html and if you click features, you will find bitstreaming list towards the end.

What are you guys trying to say? No. The 570 definitely does not bitstream anything over DD+. No DTS-MA, No True-HD.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 02-03-2012, 03:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
desertdome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Elkhorn, NE
Posts: 3,299
Mentioned: 176 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1122 Post(s)
Liked: 1226
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamieuk147 View Post

Hi I am just wondering that when playing a blueray movie on my HTPC with a 570 GTX installed, if it would passthrough the HD audio tracks to my AV receiver fo it to decode? or am I going to have to buy a expensive sound card do this?

Thanks

Another option is to use a media player like JRiver to decode and send as PCM over HDMI.

High Impact AV
- ISF Level II Video Calibrator, THX-HAA Level III Audio Designer/Calibrator
- Colorimetry Research CR-250 Spectroradiometer & CR-100 Colorimeter, Klein K10-A
- Murideo Fresco SIX-G/SIX-A Generator/Analyzer (HDMI 2.x, HDR, UHD)
- ACO Pacific and Earthworks Class 1 microphones
desertdome is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HTPC Gaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off