Connecting PC to Panasonic TH-37PW5 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 02-06-2012, 08:09 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
phorts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is not a high-tech gaming rig, and hence not a high-tech question, but i didnt know where else to post this. Thanks for any insight you can provide.


I got a 36" Panasonic TH-37PW5 Plasma from a yard sale for $20 and want to hook up my PC to it. The TV only has Component and VGA inputs. When i hook up my PC it only displays up to 1072x600. The video card is an integrated Intel 82865G.

Obviously this res is not very satisfactory.

What do i need to do to get a higher res with this TV? Is that the max it can display? Is the video card limiting and do i need a new one?

Or, is it a Windows setting? (Slider is set to max and refresh rate is 61hz (only option).

Or, is it a TV Setting?

Thanks again for any advice and insight you can provide!


PS - looking mostly to use this as a PC monitor, watching some video, no gaming really. Just want crisp(er) text and web pages to fit on the screen! lol.
phorts is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 02-06-2012, 08:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
WiseGuy2k7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 533
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I put the model no. in a google search and from my findings its a limitation of the panel. Max resolution is suppose to be 852x480, which is a very weird resolution. Most likely this is the reason it was only $20, as it cannot not display true hd. Here is a link for you to check out on the specs.http://www.dooyoo.co.uk/plasma-tv/pa...37pw5/details/

PSN:The_Wise_Guy
XBL:DirtySanWiseGuy
Steam:The_Wise_Guy
BF4 PC:The_Wise_Guy

WiseGuy2k7 is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 02-06-2012, 08:30 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
phorts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah that's what i was thinking, but found it strange the PC allowed it to go to 1072x600.

I have a Pioneer PDP-5080HD which is a 720p Panel (max res 1365x768) and seem to remember getting higher res when connecting to a PC. My memory could serve me wrong, however.

Thanks for the quick reply WiseGuy, Anyone with a difinitive answer on this one?
phorts is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 02-06-2012, 09:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mhufnagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,045
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by WiseGuy2k7 View Post

I put the model no. in a google search and from my findings its a limitation of the panel. Max resolution is suppose to be 852x480, which is a very weird resolution. Most likely this is the reason it was only $20, as it cannot not display true hd. Here is a link for you to check out on the specs.http://www.dooyoo.co.uk/plasma-tv/pa...37pw5/details/


I remember seeing Panasonic and Phillips EDTV Plasma's around the time I bought my first HDTV (Jan 2006). They were 42" models and selling for around $1000. With a 852x480 (480p) resolution, this is a EDTV. I never saw a 36" version, this is probably an older model. I bet it would work really nice with last-gen gaming systems, or a Wii, that can only go up to 480p. I sure wouldn't use it with a pc though.
mhufnagel is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 02-06-2012, 09:17 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
phorts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok fair enough. Wii screen it is! (guy told me he paid $8000 for it... i figured that was laughable). But, a nice $20 purchase all the while.

Thanks guys!
phorts is offline  
Reply HTPC Gaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off