How to get DTS/Dolby Digital output from games? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 03-03-2012, 02:37 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
turkletont's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Radeon HD 5800 card and I'm using the HDMI port, it outputs DTS and Dolby Digital. If I watch a movie with DTS it will show up on my receiver.

If I play a game (such as Battlefield 3) it always shows up as "PCM Multi" .. I've been trying to get DD/DTS enabled while gaming but I can't figure it out. Is there a setting I need to change or something? The only setting I've found was changing the speaker configuration in the control panel from headphones to 5.1.. that changed it from 2.0 to 5.1 but it didn't enable DTS/DD

Thanks
turkletont is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 03-03-2012, 02:49 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
turkletont's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't know that much about audio, if I'm getting "PCM Multi 5.1" on my receiver is that basically the same thing as DD/DTS?
turkletont is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 03-03-2012, 06:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MSmith83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by turkletont View Post

I don't know that much about audio, if I'm getting "PCM Multi 5.1" on my receiver is that basically the same thing as DD/DTS?

Yes, you are already getting proper surround sound with your games. Game audio is rendered in real-time, so with HDMI you can get the final multichannel mix as uncompressed PCM rather than relying on an extra lossy DD or DTS encoding step.

DVDs, on the other hand, are not real-time sources and come with audio tracks already encoded in DD or DTS that can be bit-streamed directly.

In other words, you are good to go.
MSmith83 is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 03-06-2012, 02:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
newfmp3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NFLD, Canada
Posts: 4,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 139
you are fine, just make sure your sound device is configured for 5.1, 7.1 if you have it and not 2.0
newfmp3 is online now  
Reply HTPC Gaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off