Opinions on AMD FX-8150 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 05-02-2012, 02:49 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
rvbfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey all,

I currently have a Phenom II x4 965 (3.1GHz) and got to thinking: I do a LOT of gaming and HD video rendering, and Premiere can't handle GPU Acceleration with ATI cards. This means that it puts all of the load on the CPU. With that said...

I was looking at the FX-8150. It's an 8-Core 3.6GHz model. The awesome crowd on this subforum helped me build my PC over two years ago, and I value your input. If there is a better deal or better option (I have an AM3 CPU socket), then please do let me know.

Thanks
-RJ
rvbfreak is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 05-03-2012, 11:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mhufnagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,037
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Why not replace your AMD gpu with a NVidia gpu? Then you can have the gpu acceleration you lack. What AMD video card do you have now and how much does a comparable NVidia card cost compared to the FX-8150?
mhufnagel is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 05-03-2012, 01:21 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
rvbfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mhufnagel View Post

Why not replace your AMD gpu with a NVidia gpu? Then you can have the gpu acceleration you lack. What AMD video card do you have now and how much does a comparable NVidia card cost compared to the FX-8150?

I just got my 6970 not too long ago because my 560Ti was giving me a crazy amount of driver issues (kept crashing even after Windows clean install).

I'd rather not replace my GPU if I can avoid it. I was toying with the idea of getting a 285 since I could find one for relatively cheap and it's compatable, but I've heard the two brands don't play nice with each other.
rvbfreak is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 05-04-2012, 07:49 AM
Member
 
woster402's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I have an 8150 and I like it. It reduced my rendering time in handbrake tremendously. If I had to do it over, I would go for the 8120. Its cheaper and you would be able to overclock this chip to the same speed as the 8150 very easily. Newegg has them on sale for $160 right now with code EMCNENF24.

XBOX Live: MaHawkma
PSN: woster
Steam: MaHawkma

woster402 is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 05-16-2012, 04:41 PM
Senior Member
 
Afroteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rvbfreak View Post

Hey all,

I was looking at the FX-8150. It's an 8-Core 3.6GHz model. The awesome crowd on this subforum helped me build my PC over two years ago, and I value your input. If there is a better deal or better option (I have an AM3 CPU socket), then please do let me know.

Thanks
-RJ

Doesn't the FX series require an AM3+ socket? You may need a new board.
Afroteddy is offline  
Reply HTPC Gaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off