Time to build a new PC! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 67 Old 05-09-2012, 01:14 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
JuiceRocket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Manhattan Beach, California
Posts: 4,717
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 32
My old PC simply can't support new games, and I'm really interested in playing a few more recent releases on a decent rig (Oblivion, IL2: Cliffs of Dover).

Back in the day I knew about computer hardware (built my last 3 rigs), but that was years ago. I now have no idea what's good/bad and ugly.

I'd love a suggestion of a PC rig/components that's decent (doesn't have to be great) and comes in under $1000. I don't need a case (I have an old ASUS Vento - don't laugh please), and I don't need a monitor, mouse, or keyboard. Just need the guts - mobo, CPU, ram, vid card, audio card, HD...I'm sure I'm missing something.

If this isn't the place to ask this sort of question, I totally understand.

Thanks all!

-JR
JuiceRocket is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 67 Old 05-09-2012, 09:36 PM
 
darklordjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 93
What are you outputting to? Is this going out to a normal 1080p monitor/TV? Three monitors?
darklordjames is offline  
post #3 of 67 Old 05-10-2012, 10:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
krimson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 2,113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Well, without more info to go on, here is a rough idea of how you could budget your build. I recommend going for Intel chipset/processor (significantly better performance in gaming benchmarks), and GPU is really up to you but I think Nvidia has a slight edge in performance/price.

Intel i7 (Sandy or Ivy bridge) - $300
Mobo (?) - $100
4x4GB Ram - $80
120gb SSD - $100
2TB Storage HDD - $100
GPU - $250
PSU - $50
--
$980

Audio cards are kind of a thing of the past, I would skip it. Particularly if you have HDMI audio on your A/V receiver, then you will just be sending an HDMI signal from your GPU->Receiver and it will take care of both video and audio.

Shift money in the budget as you see fit. Could drop to i5 or drop the SSD to increase your GPU budget.

Didn't list specifics as it's usually better to shop sales and make smart buys rather then being fixated on certain brands. If you've built rigs in the past you should be adept at researching parts you find on sale to see whether it is hot or not.

PSN / Steam - KrimsonStudios
krimson is online now  
post #4 of 67 Old 05-10-2012, 12:15 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
JuiceRocket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Manhattan Beach, California
Posts: 4,717
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Thanks for the feedback, sorry about the non-specifics for monitors. I didn't know enough to even be aware that I should share what I'll be using as a monitor! I'll be outputting to an HP ZR30w. I'll start to do some digging around for hardware, and begin to research video cards. Glad to hear that a decent gaming/HTPC can be built out for under $1000.

Thanks!

-JR
JuiceRocket is offline  
post #5 of 67 Old 05-10-2012, 12:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MSmith83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Assuming you have the power supply covered, below are some other parts to think about:

For the resolution of 2560x1600, you might want to consider a beefy GPU if you plan to play new games as well. The GTX 670 will leave you at under $1,000 along with the above parts.
MSmith83 is offline  
post #6 of 67 Old 05-10-2012, 01:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
krimson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 2,113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Yeah for 2560x1600 you're going to need to put more of the budget into the GPU. That is twice the pixels you are pushing compared to 1080p which is going to have a big effect on performance.

PSN / Steam - KrimsonStudios
krimson is online now  
post #7 of 67 Old 05-10-2012, 05:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
N8DOGG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,923
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 267 Post(s)
Liked: 342
You are going to need a minimum 670 or AMD counterpart to play games at 2560x1600 with any amount good of FPS. IMO I'd go with a 680 or same performance AMD card. If you have to save up a bit more then do it. if you skimp, you WILL wish you didn't.

Blasting brown notes for 10 years and counting!

N8DOGG is offline  
post #8 of 67 Old 05-10-2012, 10:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MSmith83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 68
One thing to keep in mind is that the 670 does perform very closely to the 680. In fact, it does very well at 2560x1600. The price difference pays for at least 25% of another 670 in the future for SLI if that ever becomes desired. Just a thought.

I forgot to mention that the only real benefit in getting an Intel 3570K CPU over the 2500K is PCI-Express 3.0 support.
MSmith83 is offline  
post #9 of 67 Old 05-14-2012, 11:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JukeBox360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 6,654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by MSmith83 View Post

One thing to keep in mind is that the 670 does perform very closely to the 680. In fact, it does very well at 2560x1600. The price difference pays for at least 25% of another 670 in the future for SLI if that ever becomes desired. Just a thought.

I forgot to mention that the only real benefit in getting an Intel 3570K CPU over the 2500K is PCI-Express 3.0 support.

There is no reason to spend more to try and get 3.0 support. It isn't needed. Just another marketing gimmick. You won't get ANY performance using a 7970 or 680 ( even in SLI/CF ) when using pci 3.0 vs 2.0
JukeBox360 is offline  
post #10 of 67 Old 05-26-2012, 06:57 AM
Newbie
 
SuperDaveAPK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Apopka
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You guys are forgetting the Microsoft tax

Since he hasn't built a PC in a few years, he'll need Win 7 Pro 64 bit
SuperDaveAPK is offline  
post #11 of 67 Old 05-26-2012, 07:00 AM
 
darklordjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Yes, building a high quality OS that the majority of the world sees fit to use is a "tax". Don't they know that this is the interwebs? All software should be free!

Don't forget about the Steam tax either, where Valve will want you to do this thing called "paying" for the games that they offer.
darklordjames is offline  
post #12 of 67 Old 05-26-2012, 01:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
G-Bull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by darklordjames View Post

Yes, building a high quality OS that the majority of the world sees fit to use is a "tax". Don't they know that this is the interwebs? All software should be free!

Don't forget about the Steam tax either, where Valve will want you to do this thing called "paying" for the games that they offer.

Dave does have a point though, the OS is a cost that isn't always considered in their baseline budget when people spec a new build.
G-Bull is offline  
post #13 of 67 Old 05-26-2012, 01:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JukeBox360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 6,654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
OS is never in my budget
JukeBox360 is offline  
post #14 of 67 Old 05-26-2012, 05:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: guarding my retirement igloo...with a McMillan TAC-50 long range sniper rifle
Posts: 4,991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JukeBox360 View Post

OS is never in my budget

Me neither since I have MS TechNet sub so I got many copies of the MS OSs of every flavour.

You do not stop playing because you get old...
You get old because you stop playing.
Tinker is offline  
post #15 of 67 Old 05-26-2012, 06:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JukeBox360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 6,654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
My college gives em out free just for going to school. Same with office.
JukeBox360 is offline  
post #16 of 67 Old 05-27-2012, 07:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PENDRAG0ON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 558
I wonder, if I wanted to build a PC that could max out Battlefield 3 at 720p what GPU/CPU combo would work best and how much money would I save by shooting for a lower base resolution?

I am really considering a gaming PC at this point, and if E3 disapoints, then it will probably push me over the edge.

PSN - Pendragoongp
NNID - Pendragoon
Include your AVS username in the friend request.
PENDRAG0ON is offline  
post #17 of 67 Old 05-27-2012, 07:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JukeBox360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 6,654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
on 720? A 560TI would do you just fine. You can get them pretty cheap to.
JukeBox360 is offline  
post #18 of 67 Old 05-27-2012, 08:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PENDRAG0ON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 558
Quote:
Originally Posted by JukeBox360 View Post

on 720? A 560TI would do you just fine. You can get them pretty cheap to.

I would probably order it prebuilt from ibuypower.

PSN - Pendragoongp
NNID - Pendragoon
Include your AVS username in the friend request.
PENDRAG0ON is offline  
post #19 of 67 Old 05-27-2012, 08:51 PM
Member
 
echen1024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would build Intel Core i5 2500k and nVidia GTX 560TI
echen1024 is offline  
post #20 of 67 Old 05-27-2012, 10:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JukeBox360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 6,654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by PENDRAG0ON View Post


I would probably order it prebuilt from ibuypower.

I imagine that might run you a little more then you building one. Purely depends on your budget.
JukeBox360 is offline  
post #21 of 67 Old 05-27-2012, 10:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PENDRAG0ON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 558
Quote:
Originally Posted by JukeBox360 View Post


I imagine that might run you a little more then you building one. Purely depends on your budget.

I know, I just don't have the patience to order all the parts seperate then debug any problems. I will probably wait for the 660 to come out and go with an ivy bridge cpu. It all falls on if the Wii U impresses at E3...

PSN - Pendragoongp
NNID - Pendragoon
Include your AVS username in the friend request.
PENDRAG0ON is offline  
post #22 of 67 Old 05-28-2012, 04:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
G-Bull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by PENDRAG0ON View Post


I know, I just don't have the patience to order all the parts seperate then debug any problems. I will probably wait for the 660 to come out and go with an ivy bridge cpu. It all falls on if the Wii U impresses at E3...

To each his own I guess. The actual assembly phase is my favorite part of getting a new PC (in parts). Then the rest is the same software install and customization that you'd have to do with a prebuilt anyway. But without having to uninstall bloatware. I've never had to deal with the bugs you speak of.
G-Bull is offline  
post #23 of 67 Old 05-28-2012, 11:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JukeBox360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 6,654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by PENDRAG0ON View Post


I know, I just don't have the patience to order all the parts seperate then debug any problems. I will probably wait for the 660 to come out and go with an ivy bridge cpu. It all falls on if the Wii U impresses at E3...

Well as long it's I. Whatever your budget is right? I'm sure it will work out in the end.

I didn't start PC gaming till this year. Idk why I waited so long to try. Funny enough. It gets you better at the console versions of games.

Example. BF3. Been playing a ton of that on PC. Went to play it on console this past weekend. Absolutely destroyed people. I felt like I was playing a bunch of two year olds. They didn't know the tricks and tactics it takes to play a 64Player room. I didn't think it would work like that but it did!
JukeBox360 is offline  
post #24 of 67 Old 05-28-2012, 08:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PENDRAG0ON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 558
I'd prefer to buy a gaming PC prebuilt from Amazon, but almost all of them are amd/intel/nvidia hybrids. (none with a combo I like) and the one Lan Warrior they have is a 550 with a 6 core amd cpu... (at $750)

I could use it as a starting point and upgrade the cpu and gpu a few years down the road...

PSN - Pendragoongp
NNID - Pendragoon
Include your AVS username in the friend request.
PENDRAG0ON is offline  
post #25 of 67 Old 05-28-2012, 08:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
N8DOGG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,923
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 267 Post(s)
Liked: 342
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Bull View Post

To each his own I guess. The actual assembly phase is my favorite part of getting a new PC (in parts). Then the rest is the same software install and customization that you'd have to do with a prebuilt anyway. But without having to uninstall bloatware. I've never had to deal with the bugs you speak of.

I'm with you man. I like to put new parts in at least every six months. Building the rig is the best part. Thats the reason I take on so many builds for my friends store, I just like to build them.

Blasting brown notes for 10 years and counting!

N8DOGG is offline  
post #26 of 67 Old 05-28-2012, 08:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JukeBox360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 6,654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
I'd stay away from AMD. They just aren't what they used to be. If you don't mind buying per built. Check around best buy or Walmart and just throw in a GPU.
JukeBox360 is offline  
post #27 of 67 Old 05-28-2012, 08:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PENDRAG0ON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 558
Quote:
Originally Posted by JukeBox360 View Post

I'd stay away from AMD. They just aren't what they used to be. If you don't mind buying per built. Check around best buy or Walmart and just throw in a GPU.

I know, if it was a 2400 I might have considered it as a starting point. I just don't want a jumbo sized tower, which is probably why I like the Lan Warrior design so much. The mini towers at Walmart are nice, (and dirt cheap) but I don't think I can fit much power in them.

PSN - Pendragoongp
NNID - Pendragoon
Include your AVS username in the friend request.
PENDRAG0ON is offline  
post #28 of 67 Old 05-28-2012, 09:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JukeBox360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 6,654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by PENDRAG0ON View Post


I know, if it was a 2400 I might have considered it as a starting point. I just don't want a jumbo sized tower, which is probably why I like the Lan Warrior design so much. The mini towers at Walmart are nice, (and dirt cheap) but I don't think I can fit much power in them.

Well what kind of gaming is it you plan to do? Before I built the PC I'm on now I had made a used a ore built desktop from Wal Mart. only thing I had to do to it was throw in a decent GPU. (560 ti) this was more then enough to play all games on high settings.
JukeBox360 is offline  
post #29 of 67 Old 05-28-2012, 09:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PENDRAG0ON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 558
Quote:
Originally Posted by JukeBox360 View Post


Well what kind of gaming is it you plan to do? Before I built the PC I'm on now I had made a used a ore built desktop from Wal Mart. only thing I had to do to it was throw in a decent GPU. (560 ti) this was more then enough to play all games on high settings.

I just want to break into PC gaming at an above console level (which is why I want to see what the Wii U can do), Skyrim is slowly getting Rimlag on my PS3 file and I have no desire to play my 360 anymore (slightly better multiplatform games... May as well go PC)

If I can run Skyrim at med settings with a few mods (mainly improved water, because it is ugly stock) at 720p 60fps with 4x AA then that should be a good starting point for breaking into PC gaming.

PSN - Pendragoongp
NNID - Pendragoon
Include your AVS username in the friend request.
PENDRAG0ON is offline  
post #30 of 67 Old 05-28-2012, 11:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JukeBox360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 6,654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by PENDRAG0ON View Post

I just want to break into PC gaming at an above console level (which is why I want to see what the Wii U can do), Skyrim is slowly getting Rimlag on my PS3 file and I have no desire to play my 360 anymore (slightly better multiplatform games... May as well go PC)

If I can run Skyrim at med settings with a few mods (mainly improved water, because it is ugly stock) at 720p 60fps with 4x AA then that should be a good starting point for breaking into PC gaming.

The 560Ti should be able to do exactly that without any issue at all.
JukeBox360 is offline  
Reply HTPC Gaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off