Can a receiver cause an increase in an HDTV's response time? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!

Forum Jump: 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 06-16-2012, 08:17 PM - Thread Starter
brandon_k_w's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just curious if there is a way to fix my dilemma. I've noticed a lower response time on my computer monitor than my HDTV. This is very noticeable (and annoying) when playing my competitive fps gaming. I have my GTX560 hooked up through HDMI to my Sony STR-4600ES receiver which is then hooked up to my Sony KDL-46NX810 LED TV. My TV is set to game mode where it has disabled all the 120hz and Cinema modes, but I still notice a high response time.

Can a receiver affect a TV's response time also?
brandon_k_w is online now  
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 3 Old 06-17-2012, 01:30 PM
AVS Addicted Member
Selden Ball's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 11,019
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2623 Post(s)
Liked: 1257
You need to make sure that the video leaving the computer is at the native resolution and framerate of the TV (1920x1080 at 60Hz) and that the receiver is set to not change the video resolution. Otherwise the TV has no choice but to spend some time converting the video to its native resolution and framerate.


Marantz SR7009 avr + MM9000 amp --> Atmos 7.1.4
Fronts=NHT 2.9+AC2, FH+TM=DefTech PM1000, LCR+TM amped
Selden Ball is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 06-17-2012, 09:12 PM
AVS Special Member
pcweber111's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: In a van, down by the river.
Posts: 3,593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 267
As per the manual set the video direct to On so the signal is just sent straight to the output jack and not through the internal video processor.
pcweber111 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Reply HTPC Gaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page

Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off