Shopping for video cards - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 07-05-2012, 06:18 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
HeadRusch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 9,877
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 49
yes its time to upgrade the GTX 580...I want MOAR FRAMES.

2 670's = 800 bucks.
2 680's = 1000 bucks
1 690 = more than 1000 bucks.


1) Does the 690 behave like an uber powerful single card, or does it still behave like a SLI board requiring an SLI profile to work properly...eg: Will a game like GTA4 perform as crappily on a 690 as it would on a pair of 680's.....

2) Does a single 670 overclocked really come close to a single 680?? Its the games that don't support SLI profiles that bother me (see: GTA4). If I'm spending $400, spending $520 or so really isn't a huge jump for me....but I'm not sure if the frames really support the bump, and yes I'd probably buy two and run them SLI on my motherboard.

Thoughts?

I'm driving 1080p

And please no talk of "overkill".

Xbox Live / PS3 / Steam: HeadRusch1
Keeping the world safe from the evil antics of Bernie Tanaka and Mel Fujitsu since 1986

HeadRusch is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 07-05-2012, 07:31 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
HeadRusch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 9,877
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 49
This thread is moot.

I bought two Asus 670's. 580 going to ebay smile.gif

Was going to get two 680's but figured by the time two 670's get beaten down at 1080p, I'd be looking at next gen tech anyways.

Xbox Live / PS3 / Steam: HeadRusch1
Keeping the world safe from the evil antics of Bernie Tanaka and Mel Fujitsu since 1986

HeadRusch is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 07-05-2012, 09:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
257Tony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Syracuse
Posts: 2,012
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Totally overkill....smh

biggrin.gif
257Tony is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 07-05-2012, 09:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MSmith83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Overkill to the max. Enjoy your overkill 32xAA. Overkill, overkill, overkill, overkill, overkill... biggrin.gif

The ASUS DirectCU II GTX 670s are among the very best in the combination of overclockability, price and quietness.
MSmith83 is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 07-06-2012, 06:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Dashboard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 2,007
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Me jelly biggrin.gif

Enjoy man!
Dashboard is online now  
post #6 of 10 Old 07-06-2012, 08:41 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
HeadRusch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 9,877
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Overkill? Pfeh, hardly.......1 670 is roughly equivalent to my single 580 because it overclocked like CRAZY (my 580 runs at 940mhz stable on air).....I am wet with anticipation biggrin.gif

I AM FINALLY GOING TO GET TO PLAY CRYSIS WITH MAX SETTINGS AT A SUSTAINED 60FPS!! IT ONLY TOOK 4 CHANGES OF VIDEO CARDS TO DO IT!!!! FXAA for the bonus....no having to choose between which AA technology I want to use...

((This must be how people who kept waiting for the Red Sox to win the World Series must have felt for 80 years or whatever... biggrin.gif))

BUT sadly GTA4 is still going to peg at like 50fps most of the time.......hard to get much faster than 4.8Ghz on my cpu.....


I was going to get the 690.......but when you buy into freakishly unique hardware like that, sometimes things go wrong that never get fixed...because so few people own them, those boards (sli on a single pcb) have their own unique quirks.......then I was going to get the two 680's....but I realized after reading review after review after review that you would really have to be kind of stupid to buy two 680's and NOT get two 670's instead....the frames on all games are over 100 and by the time the frames on games are in the 60's, having a 670 or 680 wont matter..you'll need....Super Teflon Nvidia Uber Core Card Omega or whatever........I'm not so sure that GK110 is going to be the gamers dream we are hoping for. The more I read, the more I see "Aimed at a different market" in the same way QUADRO's and FIREWHATEVERs were.......but hey, what do I know.

I just realized now I can set up a spare functional monitor...maybe a nice 19" off to the side just for facebook and stuff whilest gaming...

Either way....fun times ahead. Overkill? No such animal smile.gif

Xbox Live / PS3 / Steam: HeadRusch1
Keeping the world safe from the evil antics of Bernie Tanaka and Mel Fujitsu since 1986

HeadRusch is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 07-06-2012, 10:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MSmith83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeadRusch View Post

BUT sadly GTA4 is still going to peg at like 50fps most of the time.......hard to get much faster than 4.8Ghz on my cpu.....

Hey, 50fps is still very good. The frame-rate will likely never dip below 40fps, and if it does lowering the view distance a tiny bit can help a lot. If the GTA IV gameplay experience matters a lot to you, then putting the game on an SSD can really help reduce stuttering. The frame-rate will be roughly the same in a benchmark, but the actual experience will be noticeably smoother.

Oh, and it is all overkill. biggrin.gif
MSmith83 is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 07-06-2012, 10:45 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
HeadRusch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 9,877
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Its not overkill its....barely adequate...or something... smile.gif

Seriously I won't mind the sound of my 580 spooling up to 80% fan range.....

On benchmarks I always get 60+......in real world gameplay its all over the place, lowest is about upper 30's with everything pegged to the max....NO mods. (no ENB series, nothing that would hit the framerate even more than it is already). I'd love to run that game at 60 sustained but hey, whatever its not the be all end all...I loved those games on a ps2 at 20fps..

I might move it to my gaming SSD, see what that does for me...but my hard drives are reasonably quick, WD Black's.....not SSD quick but we'll see what happens, I'll probably do a junction and a dual install.

4.8Ghz + dual 670's, I hope I'm good for awhile......

Xbox Live / PS3 / Steam: HeadRusch1
Keeping the world safe from the evil antics of Bernie Tanaka and Mel Fujitsu since 1986

HeadRusch is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 07-08-2012, 11:01 AM
Member
 
DerekUGA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
If you aren't I would question the software because that is a lot of horsepower.
DerekUGA is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 07-09-2012, 10:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lespurgeon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 2,462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 42
OK, one man's overkill is another's just good enough. Congratulations, but I'm thinking a single 670 would bring me up to date from my old HD3870.
lespurgeon is offline  
Reply HTPC Gaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off