Using a 360 gamepad to activate a program - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 9 Old 08-20-2012, 11:48 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
In anticipation for Steam Big Picture, I was wanting to ask if I can use my gamepad (like a 360 controller) to activate a program, similarly to using your remote with a HTPC, or even using it to boot up your computer and start up menu, and go directly to Steam Big Picture by pressing the Xbox button once, and I can shut it down directly with the gamepad too (which can be done with Big Picture); basically make it plug and play. Are there any programs that can create a button command to start up a program?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 08-23-2012, 01:25 PM

Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Ah, your in luck. You will find exactly what you want here: xpadder.com. I have been using it for 2 years now with an xbox controller in replacement of a regular remote for movies and emulators. You will have to buy the windows xbox controller kit though but its worth it.
post #3 of 9 Old 08-23-2012, 01:33 PM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Xpadder is a chunky mess that requires far too much fiddling to get working.
post #4 of 9 Old 08-23-2012, 03:11 PM

Liked: 11
I was in a similar situation and this program was perfect

http://nirklars.wordpress.com/xboxmouse/

It makes the xbox contoller like a mouse, It's perfect, I just put the shortcut into the startup folder and it starts with windows. There's a lot of great hotkeys too.

post #5 of 9 Old 08-23-2012, 04:38 PM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 164
It's really too bad that the Guide button doesn't do anything useful (in fact, now that I think about it, I haven't seen it do anything lately. I know it used to give a popup about battery status or something like that, but that hasn't done anything for me for a while). As far as I know you can't even map it in something like Xpadder.