FIFA 12 won't launch - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-23-2012, 08:35 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
RocShemp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I just installed Fifa 12 on my PC. I'm running Windows 7 Professional 64-bit. The demo runs just fine but the game wont play at all. I hit the play button and get the splash screen at 800x600 resolution (it appears at 1080p in the demo) and then it just returns me to my desktop. I tried updating my drivers and even reinstalled my 360 controllers. But I keep getting the same problems.

Is there a patch for this?
RocShemp is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-23-2012, 08:44 PM
Senior Member
 
grassy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 306
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 20

That same thing happened to me and i deleted the game and reinstalled it and then it worked ok.If you havnt already please give that a try.smile.gif Also if you are playing via orgion make sure you have origion updated.


Fame is a mask that eats into the face.

grassy is offline  
Old 08-23-2012, 08:47 PM
Senior Member
 
grassy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 306
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 20

Try this http://www.unigamesity.com/how-to-fix-fifa-12-crashes-and-freezes-problems/


Fame is a mask that eats into the face.

grassy is offline  
Old 08-23-2012, 08:55 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
RocShemp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I already tried re-installing. Didn't realize Origin would make me download the whole game again so I was none too pleased over another three hour wait. Still the same issues. frown.gif

I saw that site earlier. My controllers aren't generic. They're wireless 360 controllers. I tried unplugging and turning them off to no avail. Same issue persists.
RocShemp is offline  
Old 08-23-2012, 09:32 PM
Senior Member
 
grassy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 306
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 20

Roc, try giving EA a call and see what they come up with.


Fame is a mask that eats into the face.

grassy is offline  
Old 08-24-2012, 05:19 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
RocShemp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Per your advice, I dropped EA a line. For whatever reason they also wanted info on my net connection so I sent them that info as well. I hope they can help since, looking at their forums, it seems my issue is not unheard of. It's really frustrating that I can run Crysis almost completely maxed out and with no issues whatsoever yet I can't run a less resource intensive gave like FIFA 12. mad.gif
RocShemp is offline  
Old 09-25-2012, 02:33 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
RocShemp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Well I'm pissed, after waiting since August for EA to fix the problem, they closed my case and claimed that "unfortunately your system does not meet the minimum requirements to play FIFA 12. Windows 7 systems require over 2gigs of system memory at the very minimum to play this game and your system does not have enough."

I replied the following to them just now:
Quote:
This case was closed despite the issue NOT being resolved. Ever since I purchased and installed FIFA 12 on 08/24/12, I've not been able to play the game once. I'm running Windows 7 Professional 64-bit. The demo runs just fine but the game wont play at all. I hit the play button and get the splash screen at 800x600 resolution (it appears at 1080p in the demo) and then it just returns me to my desktop. I tried updating my drivers and even reinstalled my 360 controllers. But I keep getting the same problems.

The agent, David W., who took it upon himself to close stated that my "system does not meet the minimum requirements to play FIFA 12. Windows 7 systems require over 2gigs of system memory at the very minimum to play this game and your system does not have enough." My system setup is the following:

Microsoft Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Corsair High Perform Vengeance 16GB (4 × 4GB) DDR3 1600MHz RAM
Intel(R) Core(TM) i5 CPU 750 @ 2.67GHz
XFX Radeon HD 6850 Black Edition 1GB DDR5 PCIe
Asus P7H55-M PRO

My system EXCEEDS the requirments stated by the agent. Keep in mind that in this same system I play Crysis, Crysis Warhead, Crysis 2, and Battlefield 3 at max settings (at a resolution of 1920x1080) with zero issues. There is no way that my system can play those games with no issues but simple game like FIFA 12 is suddenly too much. The game is clearly broken. What are you going to do to fix it?

Am I missing something here? Or am I write in assuming that my system should play the damn game just fine?
RocShemp is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off