Help me troubleshoot my PC - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 22 Old 09-18-2012, 09:02 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Was installing a new SSD the other day and now my machine refuses to power on, the motherboard isn't even getting any power (I know this because my G1 Sniper has an illuminated power switch on it).

I'm at a total loss. Any suggestions?

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 Old 09-19-2012, 05:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rich3fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: In the land of Perry
Posts: 1,048
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Don't hate me for making this suggestion DaveFi. smile.gif

Be sure your motherboard 24 pin connector is completely seated and latched. Mine wasn't the first time I tried to power on my new build, but after rechecking all connections, I heard a click when I pushed on the big one.

Keep calm and drive a Camaro
rich3fan is online now  
post #3 of 22 Old 09-19-2012, 07:16 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by rich3fan View Post

Don't hate me for making this suggestion DaveFi. smile.gif
Be sure your motherboard 24 pin connector is completely seated and latched. Mine wasn't the first time I tried to power on my new build, but after rechecking all connections, I heard a click when I pushed on the big one.
First thing I tried. I disconnected the SSD too. I have a Antec 1200W PSU so I doubt that would be the problem (never know though).

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #4 of 22 Old 09-19-2012, 09:58 AM
Bass Enabler
 
Scott Simonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 14,056
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 692 Post(s)
Liked: 906
Has the power switch on the power supply been switched back to the 'On' position since installing your SSD? biggrin.gif

My Dual 18" LLT subs 120dB down to 10hz

 

Plan9Reloaded Co-host

Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast (may contain NSFW language)

https://soundcloud.com/plan9reloaded/sets/podcast - direct pod link

http://plan9reloaded.com/site/ - main website

Scott Simonian is online now  
post #5 of 22 Old 09-19-2012, 11:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MSmith83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,645
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Nothing happens at all when pressing the power button? Make sure the case's front panel power connector is plugged in properly to the motherboard's power header and wasn't knocked loose (then again, your post seems to indicate that your motherboard has an onboard power button that you've tried).

But first make sure it isn't what Scott said. I've actually seen a couple of people mention making that mistake and go days without figuring it out. biggrin.gif

Edit: I forgot to mention that beyond that there could be a short somewhere on the motherboard, but this is unlikely if all you did was simply add an SSD. If you remain at a complete loss and want to test the power supply itself with some fans and/or drives directly attached, then try the paper clip method.
MSmith83 is offline  
post #6 of 22 Old 09-19-2012, 12:55 PM
Newbie
 
bkbeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Try removing the power switch or swapping it with the reset switch.
I have had push button switches go bad on me before.
It could be that simple.
bkbeal is offline  
post #7 of 22 Old 09-19-2012, 02:20 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Yeah. I did pretty much everything and am at a loss. I'm almost ready to throw in the towel and bring it into a mom and pop store and let them troubleshoot it and see what they come up with.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #8 of 22 Old 09-19-2012, 02:32 PM
Yrd
AVS Special Member
 
Yrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Elkton, MD
Posts: 2,980
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Well, here's what I would suggest. Unplug all non-essential items first and then try booting it up. What exactly did you have to do to install this SSD? Possible while you were in there you might have zapped another piece of hardware. Also I've had 1 RAM stick go bad before and that prevented my machine from powering on.

What did you have to unplug, or rearrange to get it in?

For my machine I had to move around hard drives to get space for the new one. Make sure everything is plugged in properly. Also check for screws that might have fallen. You get a screw touching metal in the wrong place it will create a short.

XBL Gamertag- Yrd
PSN - Yerd

Steam - Yrd

Yrd is offline  
post #9 of 22 Old 09-19-2012, 11:01 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Yay! I got it working. Don't ask me what was wrong, but I just turned the thing on today and it worked.redface.gif

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #10 of 22 Old 09-20-2012, 06:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rich3fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: In the land of Perry
Posts: 1,048
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I wonder what's going to happen tomorrow :evilgrin: wink.gif

Keep calm and drive a Camaro
rich3fan is online now  
post #11 of 22 Old 09-20-2012, 06:52 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 26
One thing I notice is that SSD is really quite faster even than the Momentus that I had. Only thing I regret now is getting such a small one (90G). But for $50 for a Sanforce it's hard to complain. Good enough for Win7, and I'll put all my apps on the Momentus.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #12 of 22 Old 09-20-2012, 08:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rich3fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: In the land of Perry
Posts: 1,048
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I made a mistake even buying 120 gig SSD. After the OS install, the fact that 120 gig only turned out to be 111 gig, and 2 game installs, I have about 33 gigs left. So yeah, another Corsair SF is in my future.

Keep calm and drive a Camaro
rich3fan is online now  
post #13 of 22 Old 09-20-2012, 09:12 AM
Bass Enabler
 
Scott Simonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 14,056
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 692 Post(s)
Liked: 906
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveFi View Post

One thing I notice is that SSD is really quite faster even than the Momentus that I had. Only thing I regret now is getting such a small one (90G). But for $50 for a Sanforce it's hard to complain. Good enough for Win7, and I'll put all my apps on the Momentus.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rich3fan View Post

I made a mistake even buying 120 gig SSD. After the OS install, the fact that 120 gig only turned out to be 111 gig, and 2 game installs, I have about 33 gigs left. So yeah, another Corsair SF is in my future.

Same. I just built my first computer with an SSD last week. Originally wasn't going to have the SSD but I'm glad I did. It's a 128gig. Although I could really use a larger one now that I have a couple games on it. biggrin.gif

My Dual 18" LLT subs 120dB down to 10hz

 

Plan9Reloaded Co-host

Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast (may contain NSFW language)

https://soundcloud.com/plan9reloaded/sets/podcast - direct pod link

http://plan9reloaded.com/site/ - main website

Scott Simonian is online now  
post #14 of 22 Old 09-20-2012, 09:36 AM
Yrd
AVS Special Member
 
Yrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Elkton, MD
Posts: 2,980
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Yeah, the first time you switch from HD to SSD, it's an eye opener. I bought one OCZ sata3 120g that would not let me keep a stable windows 7 install. It would just restart randomly after being on a day or more. I sent it back to them and they tried to trouble shoot it, but could never recreate my issue. So, I have an intel sata2 120g as my windows SSD and the OCZ is used for games.

I've been tempted to get a bigger one lately because they are now even cheaper than when I bought those 2. I want to put my steam folder on an SSD.

My steam folder is over 220g right now so I need a pretty good size SSD.

XBL Gamertag- Yrd
PSN - Yerd

Steam - Yrd

Yrd is offline  
post #15 of 22 Old 09-20-2012, 10:14 AM
Bass Enabler
 
Scott Simonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 14,056
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 692 Post(s)
Liked: 906
Yeah. I have Steam installed on the 128gig SSD right now and have a 3TB drive there just for games, pretty much. I use Steam mover (or Steam's new built-in ability) to install games on the hard drive and I'll tell you it's totally worth it if you can manage it. Steam boots up so fast now that it is on SSD and games on the SSD load real quick. It's awesome. smile.gif The space gets used up real quick these days with how huge games are getting so a 2nd or a larger SSD is in my future, for sure.

My Dual 18" LLT subs 120dB down to 10hz

 

Plan9Reloaded Co-host

Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast (may contain NSFW language)

https://soundcloud.com/plan9reloaded/sets/podcast - direct pod link

http://plan9reloaded.com/site/ - main website

Scott Simonian is online now  
post #16 of 22 Old 09-20-2012, 10:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
N8DOGG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,786
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 318
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Simonian View Post

Yeah. I have Steam installed on the 128gig SSD right now and have a 3TB drive there just for games, pretty much. I use Steam mover (or Steam's new built-in ability) to install games on the hard drive and I'll tell you it's totally worth it if you can manage it. Steam boots up so fast now that it is on SSD and games on the SSD load real quick. It's awesome. smile.gif The space gets used up real quick these days with how huge games are getting so a 2nd or a larger SSD is in my future, for sure.

Aren't you glad we hounded you until you bought one?

Blasting brown notes for 10 years and counting!

N8DOGG is online now  
post #17 of 22 Old 09-20-2012, 11:12 AM
Bass Enabler
 
Scott Simonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 14,056
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 692 Post(s)
Liked: 906
Absolutely! smile.gif

However I think it was the special price ($80) for the 128 drive that was that last lil push over the edge. Definitely worth it though, thanks. Now I'm on the hunt for a good price on something larger. 256gig minimum but if I see the right price on a 512..... biggrin.gif

My Dual 18" LLT subs 120dB down to 10hz

 

Plan9Reloaded Co-host

Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast (may contain NSFW language)

https://soundcloud.com/plan9reloaded/sets/podcast - direct pod link

http://plan9reloaded.com/site/ - main website

Scott Simonian is online now  
post #18 of 22 Old 09-20-2012, 12:26 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Aaaaaand after all that the SSD is corrupted. Getting SMART errors left and right. Back it goes!

Only thing is I need to cut the UPC off for the rebate within 30days. Will Newegg honor it if I don't get it back in time?

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #19 of 22 Old 09-20-2012, 01:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MSmith83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,645
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Dave, you just have all the luck when it comes to PCs.
MSmith83 is offline  
post #20 of 22 Old 09-20-2012, 01:50 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 26
At least I have Shoprunner so I have free returns at Newegg. If I don't get it back within a month they owe me $30 for the rebate though.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #21 of 22 Old 09-20-2012, 02:50 PM
Bass Enabler
 
Scott Simonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 14,056
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 692 Post(s)
Liked: 906
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveFi View Post

Aaaaaand after all that the SSD is corrupted. Getting SMART errors left and right. Back it goes!
Only thing is I need to cut the UPC off for the rebate within 30days. Will Newegg honor it if I don't get it back in time?

Awww, man that sucks. What kind of SSD was it?

My Dual 18" LLT subs 120dB down to 10hz

 

Plan9Reloaded Co-host

Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast (may contain NSFW language)

https://soundcloud.com/plan9reloaded/sets/podcast - direct pod link

http://plan9reloaded.com/site/ - main website

Scott Simonian is online now  
post #22 of 22 Old 09-20-2012, 07:34 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Simonian View Post

Awww, man that sucks. What kind of SSD was it?
Kingston SSDNow V+200 90G. Probably just a fluke, hear they are generally quite good, that's why I picked one up.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
Reply HTPC Gaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off