Help! Messed up System Colors (especially noticeable in darker shades). - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 09-26-2012, 12:13 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Mik James's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 868
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 37
I have an hd6950. I've recently started noticing innacurate shades in darker areas of games and movies, almost as if the entire pc is running 8 bit colors (i've already checked to make sure this isn't the case).

I think it started when i unlocked the desktop color portion of the amd control panel to see if i could lower red saturation. I played around with gamma a bit while i was there but i reverted it to defaults.
Nothing else was adjusted and everything is set to default.
It is most noticeable in dark games and dark scenes of movies where dark areas look washed out and don't have gradation detail as they should.

I've tried reinstalling videocard drivers after uninstalling them with no luck.

I am using a hitachi 51uwx20b crt rear projection over an hdmi connection from the videocard to a dvi converter into the tv.

Any help is greatly appreciated.
Mik James is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 09-26-2012, 08:59 PM
Yrd
AVS Special Member
 
Yrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Elkton, MD
Posts: 2,998
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 190
If you're using the ATI catalyst drivers. Check a couple places in the drivers. I've never messed with the color options before so I've never run into this issue. But there are a couple places that have color adjustments. There's color in the desktop management, video, and my flat panel tabs. Also check for presets, maybe one was setup and it's being used.

XBL Gamertag- Yrd
PSN - Yerd

Steam - Yrd

Yrd is online now  
post #3 of 4 Old 09-26-2012, 09:26 PM
 
darklordjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Do you have anything else HDMI/DVI to hook up to the display? I wouldn't be surprised if the issue was in the CRT's video DACs instead of on the video card side. Also, of the display offers VGA in, that is likely a better input option. DVI/HDMI inputs on analog displays were almost universally bad.
darklordjames is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 09-28-2012, 11:14 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Mik James's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 868
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Turns out it was a driver issue, fixed after rolling back.
No vga on this tv and im not even sure if the dvi is analog or digital.
Mik James is offline  
Reply HTPC Gaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off