PC GAMES thread - whatcha playin'? [NO SPOILERS UNLESS TAGGED] - Page 43 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 232Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #1261 of 1291 Old 06-06-2016, 05:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Arutha_conDoin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 3,100
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 498 Post(s)
Liked: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by barrelbelly View Post
You'll be giving that finger to FaceBook now. They just bought Blizzard Games. No doubt to pair with Carmack (ID games) and the Oculus Rift team. Those guys are serious.
Not sure how I feel about that. Then again Blizzard did have the rainbow level in Diablo 3!

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk

Xbox Live: DaBeavers
PSN- Arutha_conDoin
Steam- An0mander
"Too much knowledge never makes for simple decisions."
-Ghanima Atreides
Arutha_conDoin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1262 of 1291 Old 06-09-2016, 07:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
player002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5,184
Mentioned: 168 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3213 Post(s)
Liked: 2267
Playing Mirrors Edge Catalyst
W3Rman likes this.

65HU8700- SEK 3500U/60F8500/51D6900/46B650/Onkyo TX-NR616
Xbox one/PS4/PC R9 290/Wii U
player002 is offline  
post #1263 of 1291 Old 06-09-2016, 08:38 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 7,968
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 528 Post(s)
Liked: 3051
Quote:
Originally Posted by player002 View Post
Playing Mirrors Edge Catalyst
I'm playing this on Xbox One. Hows the loading/restart times on PC?

I'm having fun with it, but the loading screen to retry a botched run is fairly frustrating at times - the length depends on how far from point A the player is. Oh, and reloading after a fall can be agonizing at times - talk about a death penalty!

"My advice: don't spend money on therapy. Spend it in a record store." – Wim Wenders
DaverJ is online now  
post #1264 of 1291 Old 06-09-2016, 09:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
player002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5,184
Mentioned: 168 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3213 Post(s)
Liked: 2267
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaverJ View Post
I'm playing this on Xbox One. Hows the loading/restart times on PC?

I'm having fun with it, but the loading screen to retry a botched run is fairly frustrating at times - the length depends on how far from point A the player is. Oh, and reloading after a fall can be agonizing at times - talk about a death penalty!
Very fast had few reloads in the video check it out.

65HU8700- SEK 3500U/60F8500/51D6900/46B650/Onkyo TX-NR616
Xbox one/PS4/PC R9 290/Wii U
player002 is offline  
post #1265 of 1291 Old 06-11-2016, 12:37 PM
Senior Member
 
W3Rman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Been having fun with the Hard Reset redux!

Here is a 5min clip of taking down some tuff machines on Insane mode


#1 Calibration Disk / Best Support: Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk
#1 Calibration Software / Best Support: LightSpace CMS - Calibration Comparison
W3Rman is online now  
post #1266 of 1291 Old 06-12-2016, 04:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Robbiey60's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Posts: 1,382
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 424 Post(s)
Liked: 517
Just started dirt rally. Been a while since I have played a dirt game, I loved the original. So far so good apart from the occasional stutter. Anyone else have this issue? Running an i5 4440 and gtx970 with 8g ram.
Robbiey60 is offline  
post #1267 of 1291 Old 06-12-2016, 08:04 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaGamePimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: WA State
Posts: 16,183
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 327 Post(s)
Liked: 359
Ah Yeah....


MP -


SP -


October 28th !!!

HT = JVC RS40 / Lumagen Radiance / Vivitek 1186 /@133"/ Samsung 50" Plasma / Denon x5200 7.3.4 Atmos / B&K 5000 II amp / Boston VR2/VR12/CR67 speakers / Rythmik 12" subs x2 / CV 15" sub / Sony BDP s1000ES / Yamaha DV-S5860 / Toshiba HD-A3 / PureAV PF31
Media Room = Vizio 4K 70" lcd/Denon x4100/Audiosource Amp 100/Klipsch speakers/Velodyne subs/Sony BDP s780/PS4/X1/WiiU/PS3/360/Wii/Game PC/Multi-Arcade My HT SLIDESHOW
DaGamePimp is offline  
post #1268 of 1291 Old 07-04-2016, 11:56 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 7,968
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 528 Post(s)
Liked: 3051
Been playing the Witcher 3 pretty much non-stop over the last couple days. Almost caught up to where I stopped playing it on PS4. And based on where I am in the story, starting to remember why I quit.

It's a great game - fantastic. Might be one of my favorites..? But it does go on... and on... and on. Could be an example of too much of a good thing?

But I've found when the main story lags, there's so many side quests, treasure hunts, and contracts to give the feeling of accomplishment. So any game fatigue I'm feeling is probably on me. And I'm afraid to stop halfway through because I might not pick it back up, like I did on console. Perhaps I'll keep playing and respec to continue down a different skill tree - go take care of some of those contracts.

Anyway, so worth playing on PC with a nice GPU.
W3Rman likes this.

"My advice: don't spend money on therapy. Spend it in a record store." – Wim Wenders
DaverJ is online now  
post #1269 of 1291 Old 07-04-2016, 03:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Marafice Eye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Southern Sun, by the galley.
Posts: 1,424
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 385
Got dragged back into WoW by a friend of mine before the new expansion hits next month. Having to get used to playing all over again

Marafice Eye <--- All gamertags listed there - Twitch TV Channel YouTube Channel
__________________________________________________ _
Marafice Eye is offline  
post #1270 of 1291 Old 07-04-2016, 03:25 PM
Bass Enabler
 
Scott Simonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 19,991
Mentioned: 127 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4610 Post(s)
Liked: 3537
Good lord, they are still making expansions for that thing?
Scott Simonian is online now  
post #1271 of 1291 Old 07-04-2016, 05:01 PM
Senior Member
 
JoeNc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: nc
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 41
I'm up to level 32 on the witcher 3 and since level 25 I've just been
doing the main quest !


Great game, but ready to finish...
DaverJ likes this.
JoeNc is offline  
post #1272 of 1291 Old 07-04-2016, 07:53 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaGamePimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: WA State
Posts: 16,183
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 327 Post(s)
Liked: 359
I took a gamble due to the sale and just started Witcher 3 last night, it's presentation and story are excellent but feeling a bit too rpg'ish for me (too much to keep track of) and the control needs work (it's not tight enough).


I'm playing at 4k/60 and it looks amazing most of the time, some of the creatures could use a few more poly's but over-all it's a very impressive game.


Only at level 4 so far but will keep playing, it feels like a massive game and I can see myself being easily lost so I'll try to stay on the main story (for the experience) and worry about the side stuff later.


- Jason
DaverJ likes this.

HT = JVC RS40 / Lumagen Radiance / Vivitek 1186 /@133"/ Samsung 50" Plasma / Denon x5200 7.3.4 Atmos / B&K 5000 II amp / Boston VR2/VR12/CR67 speakers / Rythmik 12" subs x2 / CV 15" sub / Sony BDP s1000ES / Yamaha DV-S5860 / Toshiba HD-A3 / PureAV PF31
Media Room = Vizio 4K 70" lcd/Denon x4100/Audiosource Amp 100/Klipsch speakers/Velodyne subs/Sony BDP s780/PS4/X1/WiiU/PS3/360/Wii/Game PC/Multi-Arcade My HT SLIDESHOW
DaGamePimp is offline  
post #1273 of 1291 Old 07-04-2016, 09:42 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 7,968
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 528 Post(s)
Liked: 3051
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaGamePimp View Post
Only at level 4 so far but will keep playing, it feels like a massive game and I can see myself being easily lost so I'll try to stay on the main story (for the experience) and worry about the side stuff later.
As mentioned before, if the main story starts to wear on you, the side/contract/treasure missions are equally as good. And a good way to level up and gain decent l00t.
DaGamePimp likes this.

"My advice: don't spend money on therapy. Spend it in a record store." – Wim Wenders
DaverJ is online now  
post #1274 of 1291 Old 07-11-2016, 03:47 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaGamePimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: WA State
Posts: 16,183
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 327 Post(s)
Liked: 359
Finished Witcher 3 as a level 28 (~50 hours without doing every side quest) and the control bothered me throughout but not enough to stop me from grabbing the expansion pass and download all additional dlc.
Hopefully they can deliver this experience but refine the control mechanics for the next game.
- Jason
DaverJ likes this.

HT = JVC RS40 / Lumagen Radiance / Vivitek 1186 /@133"/ Samsung 50" Plasma / Denon x5200 7.3.4 Atmos / B&K 5000 II amp / Boston VR2/VR12/CR67 speakers / Rythmik 12" subs x2 / CV 15" sub / Sony BDP s1000ES / Yamaha DV-S5860 / Toshiba HD-A3 / PureAV PF31
Media Room = Vizio 4K 70" lcd/Denon x4100/Audiosource Amp 100/Klipsch speakers/Velodyne subs/Sony BDP s780/PS4/X1/WiiU/PS3/360/Wii/Game PC/Multi-Arcade My HT SLIDESHOW
DaGamePimp is offline  
post #1275 of 1291 Old 07-11-2016, 09:06 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 7,968
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 528 Post(s)
Liked: 3051
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaGamePimp View Post
Finished Witcher 3 as a level 28 (~50 hours without doing every side quest) and the control bothered me throughout but not enough to stop me from grabbing the expansion pass and download all additional dlc.
Damn Jason, around 50 hours in game in 5 days! Talk about committing.

What skill tree build did you use? Also, did you ever respec? I'm thinking about paying the 1000 coins to do it to reclaim a couple wasted points to put into combat, but my character is doing well so far so I haven't done it yet. I want to unlock whirlwind.
DaGamePimp likes this.

"My advice: don't spend money on therapy. Spend it in a record store." – Wim Wenders
DaverJ is online now  
post #1276 of 1291 Old 07-11-2016, 09:45 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaGamePimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: WA State
Posts: 16,183
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 327 Post(s)
Liked: 359
Hehe, well I got it on the 3rd and finished on the 11th so about 8 days but yeah I was determined once the story hooked me (my wife kept asking me to play it as well even though I usually only play when family is asleep, she is really into the story and insisted I buy the expansion pass). My sleep (lack of) has certainly suffered from this game.

* I mainly focused on the red section with a few others here and there, I think I have six reds with five of them max at 5 and one at 4 (+ attack power mutagens).
I just hit a level 32 and my vitality is over 6000 (no idea if that's decent).

- Jason

HT = JVC RS40 / Lumagen Radiance / Vivitek 1186 /@133"/ Samsung 50" Plasma / Denon x5200 7.3.4 Atmos / B&K 5000 II amp / Boston VR2/VR12/CR67 speakers / Rythmik 12" subs x2 / CV 15" sub / Sony BDP s1000ES / Yamaha DV-S5860 / Toshiba HD-A3 / PureAV PF31
Media Room = Vizio 4K 70" lcd/Denon x4100/Audiosource Amp 100/Klipsch speakers/Velodyne subs/Sony BDP s780/PS4/X1/WiiU/PS3/360/Wii/Game PC/Multi-Arcade My HT SLIDESHOW

Last edited by DaGamePimp; 07-11-2016 at 09:50 AM.
DaGamePimp is offline  
post #1277 of 1291 Old 07-11-2016, 11:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
barrelbelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,192
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 261 Post(s)
Liked: 351
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaGamePimp View Post
Hehe, well I got it on the 3rd and finished on the 11th so about 8 days but yeah I was determined once the story hooked me (my wife kept asking me to play it as well even though I usually only play when family is asleep, she is really into the story and insisted I buy the expansion pass). My sleep (lack of) has certainly suffered from this game. - Jason
Wow I am both super impressed and jealous about how much your wife enjoys your gaming! Mine just slams the door to the game room...locks it from the outside...and activates the water bucket suspended above the door...to open as I force my late night exit!
stevew24963 likes this.
barrelbelly is offline  
post #1278 of 1291 Old 07-11-2016, 11:18 AM
Yrd
AVS Special Member
 
Yrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Elkton, MD
Posts: 3,649
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 524 Post(s)
Liked: 384
I think I read somewhere that was the last Witcher game they were doing.


Oh, I blasted through the main story of rise of the tomb raider, over the past few days.

I'll see if my laptop can handle it while I mop up those collectibles and the zombie dlc.
Yrd is offline  
post #1279 of 1291 Old 07-11-2016, 01:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Dubai, UAE
Posts: 2,955
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 919 Post(s)
Liked: 214
DOOM's Vulkan patch is out.
Kain is offline  
post #1280 of 1291 Old 07-11-2016, 08:17 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 7,968
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 528 Post(s)
Liked: 3051
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kain View Post
DOOM's Vulkan patch is out.
Still crashes to desktop.

I tried the Vulkan render on my GTX - it seems the atmospheric fog is thicker, and nicer. But also saw some stuttering - sticking with the GL renderer for now. Maybe when Nvidia updates drivers I'll try Vulkan again.

But I'm sure it's worthwhile for those with AMD GPUs.

"My advice: don't spend money on therapy. Spend it in a record store." – Wim Wenders
DaverJ is online now  
post #1281 of 1291 Old 07-11-2016, 11:40 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaGamePimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: WA State
Posts: 16,183
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 327 Post(s)
Liked: 359
Quote:
Originally Posted by barrelbelly View Post
Wow I am both super impressed and jealous about how much your wife enjoys your gaming! Mine just slams the door to the game room...locks it from the outside...and activates the water bucket suspended above the door...to open as I force my late night exit!

lol, yeah I know for certain that I am a very lucky man (she's the total package ), many of our AV and Gaming related purchases are due to her (she enjoys it almost as much as I do).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yrd View Post
I think I read somewhere that was the last Witcher game they were doing.



Quote:
Originally Posted by DaverJ View Post
Still crashes to desktop.

I tried the Vulkan render on my GTX - it seems the atmospheric fog is thicker, and nicer. But also saw some stuttering - sticking with the GL renderer for now. Maybe when Nvidia updates drivers I'll try Vulkan again.

But I'm sure it's worthwhile for those with AMD GPUs.

Vulkan is actually slower for me but I think they said it does not currently support SLI (which I thought was claimed to be one of the big features... better multi-gpu).

I have very few ctd's now but I got hit with the dev mode bug even though I never touched the ~ key (use controller) and they corrupted my save (roughly 30 hours of gameplay wasted).

It does appear Vulkan is doing wonders on AMD gpu's, read reports of people gaining 40 fps.

- Jason
barrelbelly and W3Rman like this.

HT = JVC RS40 / Lumagen Radiance / Vivitek 1186 /@133"/ Samsung 50" Plasma / Denon x5200 7.3.4 Atmos / B&K 5000 II amp / Boston VR2/VR12/CR67 speakers / Rythmik 12" subs x2 / CV 15" sub / Sony BDP s1000ES / Yamaha DV-S5860 / Toshiba HD-A3 / PureAV PF31
Media Room = Vizio 4K 70" lcd/Denon x4100/Audiosource Amp 100/Klipsch speakers/Velodyne subs/Sony BDP s780/PS4/X1/WiiU/PS3/360/Wii/Game PC/Multi-Arcade My HT SLIDESHOW
DaGamePimp is offline  
post #1282 of 1291 Old 07-12-2016, 07:19 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 7,968
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 528 Post(s)
Liked: 3051
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaGamePimp View Post
I have very few ctd's now but I got hit with the dev mode bug even though I never touched the ~ key (use controller) and they corrupted my save (roughly 30 hours of gameplay wasted).
Sucks about the dev mode bug! CTD in Doom is rare for me too, but of course I got it about 15 minutes in playing the Vulcan render.

I finally unlocked all Runes, and am currently upgrading them, the gun properties, and the level challenges - about half so far. Some of the upgrades/challenges are super-easy, others not. I can't seem to pull off the corkscrew glory kill. Also grabbing all secret dolls - those are hidden in clever places. I've only found one original Doom level.

Loving Doom on PC, and hoping for single-player DLC or an expansion soon!

"My advice: don't spend money on therapy. Spend it in a record store." – Wim Wenders
DaverJ is online now  
post #1283 of 1291 Old 07-13-2016, 02:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
Kenshiro 26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: In the Singularity of a Black Hole
Posts: 661
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 408
Here's DOOM using the Vulkan API, seems to benefit the AMD card more.


Sidenote: I was finally able to breakthrough NewEgg's ordering page and buy a GTX 1080.
DaverJ and stevew24963 like this.

PSN Username - Kenshiro26
XBOX LIVE Gamertag - Kenshiro 26
Steam Username - Kenshiro_26
Origin ID - Kenshiro26
UPlay ID - Kenshiro26
Kenshiro 26 is online now  
post #1284 of 1291 Old 07-15-2016, 11:55 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenshiro 26 View Post
Here's DOOM using the Vulkan API, seems to benefit the AMD card more.
With my 290X I am getting WAY better frame rates. And not only that I am having no more crashes. With OGL I might have had a crash hourly or so. On top of this I can overclock my card about 10% and remain crash free. Other games I might crash hourly, so I usually don't over clock.
Arutha_conDoin likes this.
hoonose1 is offline  
post #1285 of 1291 Old 07-15-2016, 12:03 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 7,968
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 528 Post(s)
Liked: 3051
Nvidia updated the drivers, so I gave Vulkan another shot. Still extremely stuttery on my GXT 1070. Framerate is good, just stutters like crazy.

Anyone having good luck with Vulkan on an Nvidia card?

"My advice: don't spend money on therapy. Spend it in a record store." – Wim Wenders

Last edited by DaverJ; 07-15-2016 at 12:08 PM.
DaverJ is online now  
post #1286 of 1291 Old 07-15-2016, 05:48 PM
Senior Member
 
JoeNc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: nc
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Hey daverj , have you heard about this the latency problems with a lot
of pascal cards ?
one link
https://forums.geforce.com/default/t...nd-stuttering/


several other sites carrying this news...,
JoeNc is offline  
post #1287 of 1291 Old 07-15-2016, 08:10 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 7,968
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 528 Post(s)
Liked: 3051
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeNc View Post
Hey daverj , have you heard about this the latency problems with a lot
of pascal cards ?
one link
https://forums.geforce.com/default/t...nd-stuttering/


several other sites carrying this news...,
wow, had no idea - thanks for posting!

So far the only stuttering I've seen is with Doom using the Vulkan renderer, but I'll keep an eye on this.

"My advice: don't spend money on therapy. Spend it in a record store." – Wim Wenders
DaverJ is online now  
post #1288 of 1291 Old 07-18-2016, 01:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Arutha_conDoin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 3,100
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 498 Post(s)
Liked: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kain View Post
DOOM's Vulkan patch is out.
I got a nice boost with the Vulkan patch with my 290X. Game is now mostly 100+ FPS at 2560X1080 with setting High to Ultra on everything.

Xbox Live: DaBeavers
PSN- Arutha_conDoin
Steam- An0mander
"Too much knowledge never makes for simple decisions."
-Ghanima Atreides
Arutha_conDoin is offline  
post #1289 of 1291 Old 07-18-2016, 01:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Arutha_conDoin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 3,100
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 498 Post(s)
Liked: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenshiro 26 View Post
Here's DOOM using the Vulkan API, seems to benefit the AMD card more.


Sidenote: I was finally able to breakthrough NewEgg's ordering page and buy a GTX 1080.
Congrats on the 1080. As to Vulkan benefiting AMD cards more I believe that that is true since parts of Vulkan was built off of AMD's Mantle.
" Vulkan is derived from and built upon components of AMD's Mantle API, which was donated by AMD to Khronos with the intent of giving Khronos a foundation on which to begin developing a low-level API that they could standardize across the industry, much like OpenGL.[3][9][13][14][15][16][17]"
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vulkan_(API)

Xbox Live: DaBeavers
PSN- Arutha_conDoin
Steam- An0mander
"Too much knowledge never makes for simple decisions."
-Ghanima Atreides
Arutha_conDoin is offline  
post #1290 of 1291 Unread Today, 02:59 PM
Senior Member
 
W3Rman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Having a great time with the CoD series. Kinda glad that I missed them in the past as playing through them all one after the other is really fun. So, just finished Modern War 2 and now playing Black-Ops. BO campaign is really intense, while I am playing on the Veteran difficulty it has some really hard parts.

I also have Left 4 dead I/II installed but these have not been that satisfying to play. All of the levels are pre-unlocked and randomly accessed. There is no linear story line to these games from what I see. I might just uninstall them if its not possible for me to get into them. Its very disappointing to have a game that has had alot of hype and is close to the type of gameplay that I like only to see that it is intellectually broken.

Soon to get Battlefield 4 reinstalled for some warmup time in prep for BF 1 launch


#1 Calibration Disk / Best Support: Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk
#1 Calibration Software / Best Support: LightSpace CMS - Calibration Comparison
W3Rman is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HTPC Gaming

Tags
Black Mesa , Batman Arkham Origins , Grand Theft Auto V , Elder Scrolls V Skyrim Collectors Edition



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off