Looking to upgrade my HTPC to use as a gaming PC also. - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 32 Old 03-30-2013, 07:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
macks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by durack View Post

Went through a rather bizarre upgrade with my HTPC. smile.gif

Had A8-3850 based rig which worked great for HTPC duties (read: watching streamed video and rips), unusable for any decent gaming at 1080p (slide show).
Wife's computer has GeForce 560 (with ivy bridge i3 cpu, do not remember which one exactly), my current PC has GeForce 660ti.
Got GeForce Titan for my desktop PC, plan was to put a new 7870 into the HTPC, give wife the 660 ti (overkill for Sims but why not) and ebay the 560.
7870 absolutely refused to work properly with the AMD APU (heh) - HDMI audio dropouts which I could not fix no matter what.

As a result, put the 7870 into wife's PC (working great) and put GeForce 660 ti into the HTPC with the AMD APU which also works great. Obviously underpowered for the card but I'm kinda tired of electronic Lego for now.
Found it quite ironic that AMD APU will absolutely not work properly with the Radeon.

There should have been an option in the bios along the lines of "Init display first" if you set this to pci-express you shouldn't have had any problems. I'd be interested to hear if you did this?
macks is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 32 Old 03-30-2013, 07:58 AM
Senior Member
 
durack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Providence, RI
Posts: 361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by macks View Post

There should have been an option in the bios along the lines of "Init display first" if you set this to pci-express you shouldn't have had any problems. I'd be interested to hear if you did this?

I looked back when I was tinkering with it and didn't really find anything similar, for this particular motherboard bios options are pretty barren except for a ton of overclocking related options.
In any case, the visual part worked great - it is just the sound that was messed up.

I googled around and someone says that you should reintall Realtek HD audio drivers and it actually worked - until I rebooted. Why Realtek audio drivers should affect HDMI sound - no clue. It is probably some kind of driver conflict.
durack is offline  
Reply HTPC Gaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off