Looking to upgrade my HTPC to use as a gaming PC also. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 32 Old 02-13-2013, 07:34 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I am looking to upgrade my HTPC to be used for gaming as well. I have had a xbox 360 since it launched and I am really starting to look into pc gaming. It will be used with my Mitsubishi HC4000 projector outputting 1080p. I have never used a PC to game before so I guess what I am wondering is how will my setup I am looking to build how it will stack up and what settings it should work with.

Parts I will be using from my current HTPC will be
Case: NZXT Source 220
SSD: 120gb Crucial M4 boot drive
Hard Drives: Three 3tb Hard Drives
CPU Cooler - NZXT Respire T40
Samsung Blu-Ray Drive

New Parts
Motherboard: GIGABYTE GA-970A-D3 AM3+ (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128521)
CPU: AMD FX-8320 (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819113285)
Ram: G.SKILL Sniper Series 8GB DDR3 1866 (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231460)
Power Supply: Antec NEO ECO 620C (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817371031)
Video Card: HIS IceQ H787Q2G2M Radeon HD 7870 (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814161404)

Any feedback is appreciated Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 32 Old 02-13-2013, 10:08 PM

Liked: 93
I have an FX-8350 and love it. I chose it though as it gave me a smooth upgrade path from my Phenom II X4 without having to swap out RAM, motherboard and CPU all at the same time. If you are buying all three parts at once, then go Intel. The i5 3570 is a great value at $200-215. If you insist on sticking with the FX-83xx, then spend the extra $20 and get the FX-8350. Shifting to Intel will also cost you another $20 in motherboard price as well.