Seiki SE50UY04 50" 4K display - Page 6 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-05-2014, 06:43 PM
Member
 
hcforde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks from me also, it keeps me from "reinventing the wheel" to get it right.
hcforde is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-05-2014, 07:18 PM
Member
 
EJSLP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by hcforde View Post

Thanks from me also, it keeps me from "reinventing the wheel" to get it right.

LOL!!! i know what you mean,i did not want to go in my settings and then spend 8 hours trying to get it right on my own

EJSLP is offline  
Old 02-05-2014, 07:45 PM
Member
 
Xevious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by cardoski View Post

http://www.monitortests.com/forum/Thread-Custom-Resolution-Utility-CRU
I hope these images help anyone creating a custom resolution.
Once you finish creating your custom resolution make sure to re boot right away. Then set your new res and refresh rate. Also be sure to install either the Nvidia or Amd pixel clock patcher before the CRU utility.


Another thing. After you install and setup your custom res, you may find Youtube and media player videos have a green screen. Just re install your video drivers and it will be all good. At least that worked for me.

Just also thought I would mention I made a custom .inf for windows users (monitor driver) which should have higher Hz modes in it at lower resolution as well:

http://box.houkouonchi.jp/seiki_custom_edid_120_240hz.inf
cardoski likes this.
Xevious is offline  
Old 02-06-2014, 01:12 AM
Member
 
hcforde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Xevious:

For the 55" do I just change this PRODUCTID="SEK SE50UY04/SE39UY04 (Custom High Hz EDID)" TO THIS PRODUCTID="SEK SE66UY04/SE50UY04/SE39UY04 (Custom High Hz EDID)" ?
hcforde is offline  
Old 02-12-2014, 08:57 AM
Newbie
 
n2mp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I couldn't resist selecting the burn mode menu option.  Now the monitor is stuck cycling through various color on the screen.  How do you get out of the burn mode?  I've unplugged the monitor, but when powered back on, is still in the burn mode!

n2mp is offline  
Old 02-12-2014, 10:46 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Simply hold down the power switch for 3 seconds. Press it again to turn on your TV, and it will be back to normal.
tapikos is offline  
Old 02-13-2014, 05:47 PM
Member
 
Xevious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 44
I actually found it simply needed to be turned on/off like regular via the power button to get out of this and yes unplugging or using the remote didnt work.
Xevious is offline  
Old 02-17-2014, 07:35 AM
DDD
Senior Member
 
DDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Melissa, TX
Posts: 328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xevious View Post


Just also thought I would mention I made a custom .inf for windows users (monitor driver) which should have higher Hz modes in it at lower resolution as well:

http://box.houkouonchi.jp/seiki_custom_edid_120_240hz.inf

How do you install this inf? Hyperlink gives you a doc file. I saved it as a .inf file, but on install it says that there is no digital signature.

I appreciate your work Xevious.

DDD is offline  
Old 02-17-2014, 11:54 PM
Member
 
Xevious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by DDD View Post

How do you install this inf? Hyperlink gives you a doc file. I saved it as a .inf file, but on install it says that there is no digital signature.
I appreciate your work Xevious.

Inf files are just text so that is why it was opening in the browser. I added a mime-type for .inf on my web-server so it forces a download prompt instead of you having to right click and 'save as.'

There won't be a digital signature as I am not a hardware manufacture that has contracts with microsoft to digitally sign my drivers =P.

If you looked at it in notepad you can see its a really simple file with the most important part being the EDID override where it has an EDID dump that is in printed hex form.
Xevious is offline  
Old 02-21-2014, 01:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
NizZ8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Renton, WA
Posts: 752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I just picked up one of the 50" off of amazon and they were able to price match the sears.com price of 599$, with prime free shipping.

sears link - http://www.sears.com/seiki-50inch-class-4k-120hz-led-ultra-hdtv/p-05771550000P?prdNo=1&blockNo=1&blockType=G1

More Setup Pix / Pix of Setup
Hardware - Sony XL3: Win7sp1 x64 / Q6700 CPU / 120GB SSD (OS) / 2x2TB TV / 8GB Ram / Radeon HD 7700LP / Ceton ETH6 Tuner

Extenders: 3x Xbox360's, 2x Roku 3's

Software: MediaBrowser / MyChannelLogosXL / RecordedTV HD / Plex

NizZ8 is offline  
Old 06-17-2014, 05:50 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi, I am a new 39" Seiki TV owner from Spain.

I am having a huge problem of input lag (I intend to use it as monitor). I read almost everything I found, and realised I need to start by updating the firmware.

Sadly enough, looks like seiki has launched for spain, or europe for what its worth, another version of the tv: 39uy04EC.

This means I have only one usb, and, it is an input/output usb.

Should be working, but when I try the seiki method of powering off cable cord and that nothing happens. When I try the menu, 0 0 0 0, update USB, it says: No update file found. Tried everything, fat 32, several memory sticks...

Had anyone had the same problem, or any idea? Also some ideas from computer users on how to reduce mouse lag? I knew it would be ankward, but it is totally unbearable.

Thanks in advance
manonpowah is offline  
Old 08-05-2014, 02:06 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I'm on the exact same situation. Have you found any solution?


Quote:
Originally Posted by manonpowah View Post
Hi, I am a new 39" Seiki TV owner from Spain.

I am having a huge problem of input lag (I intend to use it as monitor). I read almost everything I found, and realised I need to start by updating the firmware.

Sadly enough, looks like seiki has launched for spain, or europe for what its worth, another version of the tv: 39uy04EC.

This means I have only one usb, and, it is an input/output usb.

Should be working, but when I try the seiki method of powering off cable cord and that nothing happens. When I try the menu, 0 0 0 0, update USB, it says: No update file found. Tried everything, fat 32, several memory sticks...

Had anyone had the same problem, or any idea? Also some ideas from computer users on how to reduce mouse lag? I knew it would be ankward, but it is totally unbearable.

Thanks in advance
Oriol Jimenez is offline  
Old 08-05-2014, 09:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dahlsim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,997
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oriol Jimenez View Post
I'm on the exact same situation. Have you found any solution?
Do you unzip the file and place the install .img file onto the flash drive?


I haven't done the firmware upgrade on my set yet because I'm not sure the firmware on the website is newer than my set.


I did notice however that their instructions neglected to mention to extract the .zip first so maybe that's an issue?

Family DVD Collection
Insider thread last question? R.I.P.
Nothing will ever be attempted if all possible objections must first be overcome.
Samuel Johnson 1709-1784, British Author
Dahlsim is offline  
Old 09-02-2014, 11:27 AM
Newbie
 
Ray2kay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have been trying to update the firmware for a few days now, no luck. So basically i have four different usbs and tried formatting all of them in Fat, Fat32. For some reason when i navigate to the sw update menu, i get usb searching failure. Its like the file isnt reading, i can see the light on the usb flashing/basically searching... any help would be greatly appreciated...rrrr
Ray2kay is offline  
Old 09-03-2014, 07:36 AM
Member
 
BusinessFace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ray2kay View Post
I have been trying to update the firmware for a few days now, no luck. So basically i have four different usbs and tried formatting all of them in Fat, Fat32. For some reason when i navigate to the sw update menu, i get usb searching failure. Its like the file isnt reading, i can see the light on the usb flashing/basically searching... any help would be greatly appreciated...rrrr
Sorry if is been mentioned before, but when you format to Fat32, do you deselect the "quick format" option?
BusinessFace is offline  
Old 09-03-2014, 08:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Dahlsim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,997
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Fuzzy firmware instructions...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ray2kay View Post
I have been trying to update the firmware for a few days now, no luck. So basically i have four different usbs and tried formatting all of them in Fat, Fat32. For some reason when i navigate to the sw update menu, i get usb searching failure. Its like the file isnt reading, i can see the light on the usb flashing/basically searching... any help would be greatly appreciated...rrrr
Do you extract the .zip contents first?

I haven't updated firmware to what was on the website because my set has a newer date listed (not sure if it's really newer though) but I read somewhere to extract the .zip first which the website instructions didn't mention.

Are you using the firmware posted on the Seiki website or the 'hacked' firmware updated posted in this thread?

Family DVD Collection
Insider thread last question? R.I.P.
Nothing will ever be attempted if all possible objections must first be overcome.
Samuel Johnson 1709-1784, British Author
Dahlsim is offline  
Old 09-03-2014, 08:57 AM
Newbie
 
Ray2kay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have tried to format the drive both ways quick and without it. Also I have tried extracting the file to cpu first and vice versa. Here's a video of the torment I'm putting myself through. I really want to get this hack firmware installed

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=ccaRxqfE4gQ
Ray2kay is offline  
Old 09-06-2014, 09:32 AM
Member
 
BusinessFace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Just like the comment at the youtube page, your menu and the standby LED are different than mine, and since it doesn't like that firmware, I assume its different than most people's. Besides convincing the retailer to swap yours out with an SE50UY04, the only thing I can think of is to scour the internet for someone who has your model and figured it all out. It sucks that this happened to you, man. Hope you get it sorted, cuz 1080p @ 120hz kicks butt.
BusinessFace is offline  
Old 09-06-2014, 09:43 AM
Newbie
 
Ray2kay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
It has been confirmed via Facebook that the firmware update doesn't work with the 50 SE50UY04-1 version.... so buyers beware
Ray2kay is offline  
Old 01-07-2015, 09:49 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Question - I have a MacBook Pro Retina Late 2013 running Yosemite. I have flashed various firmwares (too many to count) and have tried several different settings/cables, etc. and read through just about all of the forums.

Would anyone here know how to get 2560x1440@72Hz working for my Macbook Pro with the Seiki 39" TV?

Current firmware is May 21, 2013
Baseline Ver: 522712

Any help and/or direction would be much appreciated! Thanks!
macphreak is offline  
Old 01-07-2015, 10:09 AM
Newbie
 
Ray2kay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Ray2kay is offline  
 

Tags
Seiki Digital Se50uy04 50 Inch 4k 120hz Led Hdtv
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off