What should I buy for movies and 3D gaming - AVS Forum
View Poll Results: Which one should I get given that I'll mostly be watching movies and 3D gaming
Projector 1 50.00%
LG passive 3D 0 0%
Samsung LCD active 3D 0 0%
Plasma (so automatically active afaik) 1 50.00%
Voters: 2. You may not vote on this poll

Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 18 Old 05-11-2013, 01:06 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi guys !
First of all, I apologize for reusing the same op I used elsewhere. But I want as many points of view as possible so...
Here's the thing. I've been using 3Dvision since 4 years now, and I must say that I'm quite pleased with the result on recent video games. I moved to Canada last year, and didn't bring my stuff. I bought a laptop with a SLi of GTX680m though, and as I watch quite a lot of show and movies, I decided to buy a bigger display than my 17" laptop screen (I already have 3d vision, but the emitter in built in the computer, so I don't know if some of the hacks to use 3dvision on TVs or projs will work).
I'm willing to spend up to around 1500$ for a 3D 1080p >=50" display, but I have no idea what to buy (hdtv or projector ?). What I know though is that I definitely WILL see the 720p, so I really wanna avoid 720p tvs/proj.
I heard that passive 3Dtv are better than active ones for stuff like movies, and that they might also be better for gaming due to the fact that we can't play at 1080p 60fps/eye on active sets (afaik it is limited to 30fps/eye at 1080p) and that - even if it's relative I suppose - most people don't seem to notice the interlacing on LG TVs. Am I right ?