GTX 680 FTW Overclock help - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 05-25-2013, 10:02 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Mikeclough24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 27
So i i'm looking for someone to either help me overclock using evga precision X or if i could get a link to a guide for beginners that would be great also.. I've tried googling it and youtube but can't seem to find anything that is very helpful. my specs are -

- i7 3770k
- ASrock z77 extreme4
- Corsair 750W PS
- Corsair H100i cpu cooler
- GTX 680 FTW 4gb
- GSkill sniper 16gb

Mike Clough #24
Mikeclough24 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 05-25-2013, 10:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
N8DOGG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,743
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 305
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U9D03zTItR4

Blasting brown notes for 10 years and counting!

N8DOGG is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 05-25-2013, 10:42 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Mikeclough24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 27
ive seen this and some others on youtube but looking for a little more detail.. im pretty much a beginner.. maybe even just tell me where to put the mem clock offset and gpu clock offset and the power target/temp target... i can toy with it from there keeping an eye one my temp etc..

Mike Clough #24
Mikeclough24 is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 05-26-2013, 08:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
N8DOGG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,743
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 305
We can't really tell you where to put your sliders as every chip is different. Add as much voltage as it will allow and start out at 100mhz over core and mem and test it out. go max power target. Your temps will be fine, nothing can go wrong, your not going to hurt anything if you oc too much, it will crash and you will have to back off your core or mem from your oc. You should be good for 200-250 core and 200-400 mem on your card but they are all different.
That video explains it pretty well. The more you want to OC, the more voltage you will need to give it. It doesn't allow you to give it so much voltage that you'll wreck anything, so no worries, you can't harm your card.

Blasting brown notes for 10 years and counting!

N8DOGG is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 05-26-2013, 09:42 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaGamePimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: WA State
Posts: 15,533
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 163
As far as I am aware that model 680 does not have an unlocked voltage (it can be hard modded or bios unlocked but I don't think it is unlocked in stock form).

Jason

My Twitch Game Stream [PS4/Xone/PC]...
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
DaGamePimp is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 05-26-2013, 10:03 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Mikeclough24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 27
i found this video to really help.. i havent tried upping the voltage but i might try that so i can OC a little more.. right now im running power target max, gpu clock +65, mem clock +475 and bf3 only crashes every hour or so so i will try cranking the voltage a little at a time. what would you guys say the safe temps would be? its been running bf3 around 57ish and the stress test oc scanner around 71-73.

Mike Clough #24
Mikeclough24 is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 05-26-2013, 10:04 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Mikeclough24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Mikeclough24 is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 05-26-2013, 10:06 PM
Senior Member
 
lurkor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I'll state the obvious again as usual. Since no two chips are created equal in the eyes of geek, overclocking is more art than science. A bit like alchemy, but without the toxic fumes (unless you really go hog wild.)

That being said, I was under the impression the FTW cards were among the highest of the factory overclocks, so maybe it may be in your best interest to leave well enough alone in the long run. It's always a compromise with noise usually being the worst case offender.

On the other hand there are those who enjoy tinkering with their systems as much as gaming, but they tend to have a knack for pushing things further than they should. The moral of the story is, just because someone on the net claims they can push 1.21 gigawatts, doesn't mean it's such a good idea.
lurkor is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 05-27-2013, 07:32 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Mikeclough24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Well noise is a complete non-factor to me because the pc behind a wall. I just enjoy learning how it works mostly. I am completely new to the pc world, just got interested about a year ago and just enjoy learning how it all works.

Mike Clough #24
Mikeclough24 is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 05-29-2013, 06:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
N8DOGG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,743
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 305
Your GPU can go into the 90c with no problems. Your temps are actually pretty low. You've got lots of room temp wise....

Blasting brown notes for 10 years and counting!

N8DOGG is offline  
Reply HTPC Gaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off